Kalgoorlie Cup

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup is a listed event held at Kalgoorlie Racecourse.

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup is a Listed event held during September at the Kalgoorlie Racecourse. The Kalgoorlie Cup forms an important part of the minor Western Australia Spring Racing Carnival. More importantly, the Kalgoorlie is a leg in the famous western Cups trifecta.

Raced under open quality handicap conditions, the Kalgoorlie Cup is an intense staying test held over 2300m. With $150,000 prize money available, the Kalgoorlie Cup is by no means a miserly event among listed races.

Horses commonly target the Kalgoorlie Cup as part of a broader campaign that typically includes both the Coolgardie Cup and the Boulder Cup. These three races are regularly attended by the same horses, all with the hope of achieving the Cups trifecta. In 2011, Kincaple won both the Coolgardie Cup and the Kalgoorlie Cup but was unfortunately pushed into second place in the Boulder Cup by Reverend Lovejoy (whose campaign was otherwise substandard).

Besides the Cups trifecta, horses often continue on from the Kalgoorlie Cup to challenge major races during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival. Some of these future targets include the Group 1 Railway Stakes, Group 1 Kingston Town Classic and Group 2 Perth Cup.

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup will be held on September 19th, 2015.

Kalgoorlie Cup 2015
Date: September 19th, 2015
Track: Kalgoorlie Racecourse
Distance: 2300m
Race Type: Open Quality
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $150,000

2015 Kalgoorlie Cup Field

Due to be released on September 16th, the 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup field always features a couple of decent horses. The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup field will be provided below.

2015 Kalgoorlie Cup Nominations

The 2015 Kalgoorlie Cup nominations always promise an exciting race. Check out the 2015 Kalgoorlie Gold Cup nominations below.

Kalgoorlie Cup History

The Kalgoorlie Cup has a long and storied history as one of the premier racing events in the western goldfields. The Kalgoorlie Cup didn’t really have humble beginnings – it was one of the earlier major races held in the region, back when there were three racecourses competing for patrons and racing resources. In those days, Kalgoorlie racing was a days-long endurance event of drinking, gambling and partying. Much like today.

The Kalgoorlie racecourse is recorded as hosting races for the first time in 1896, and the Kalgoorlie Cup is very likely to have been one of the earliest events. For many years the Cups trifecta has been a major target for horses and a major selling point for racing in the region. From 2015 onwards, the Kalgoorlie Cup will shift back a week to a Sunday slot and compete with Belmont Park in Perth for racing attention.

There have been quite a few decent Kalgoorlie Cup winners. Some of the more notable Kalgoorlie Cup winners include Meteor Prince (1959), Seminole Brave (1975), Edge Of Darkness (1990), Lottila Bay (2000) and Kincaple (2011). Kalgoorlie Cup results since 2000 are provided below.

Kalgoorlie Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Kalgoorlie Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st True Gold 2 minutes 20.90 seconds
2nd Friarday
3rd Ram Jam
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Classique Ivory 2 minutes 21.03 seconds
2nd Starlight Lady
3rd Imperial Command
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Lopov 2 minutes 20.52 seconds
2nd Double Barrel
3rd Test The Angels
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Kincaple 2 minutes 21.92 seconds
2nd Battle Emblem
3rd Kasabian
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Sunrange 2 minutes 21.85 seconds
2nd Telexden
3rd Guyno
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Gondorff 2 minutes 23.66 seconds
2nd Zubizaretta
3rd Neige
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Action Pak 2 minutes 24.96 seconds
2nd Goldtown
3rd Impact Rating
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Master Vision 2 minutes 23.50 seconds
2nd Action Plan
3rd Hail Mary
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Black Tom 2 minutes 21.95 seconds
2nd Main Stage
3rd Master Vision
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Priceless Matt 2 minutes 22.87 seconds
2nd Master Vision
3rd Mercedario
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Violent Wind 2 minutes 21.64 seconds
2nd Quasarock
3rd Blevvo
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Czariffic 2 minutes 22.81 seconds
2nd Kiwi Hombre
3rd Priceless Matt
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Lawmaker 2 minutes 25.30 seconds
2nd Noon
3rd Great Fingall
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Opening Twist 2 minutes 21.82 seconds
=2nd Never Blue
=2nd Tumeric
Kalgoorlie Cup
1st Lottila Bay 2 minutes 21.43 seconds
2nd Never Blue
3rd Master Clan

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Be...

A.D. Hollindale Stakes 2018 Betting update: Comin’ Through the solid pick

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through remains the firm favourite for the...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Te...

Catchy to head Lindsay Park Team in 2018 Robert Sangster Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy is set to lead the Lindsay Park Team in the...

Savacool and Sopressa share to...

Savacool and Sopressa share top spot in 2018 Australasian Betting

Last start winners Savacool and Sopressa share the early favouritism in the...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Victorian filly So Far Sokool included in 2018 J H B Carr Stakes nominations

Victorian filly So Far Sokool is included in the sixteen nominations for the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field