Cranbourne Cup

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup is a Listed 2025m event held at Cranbourne.

Cranbourne Cup News

2016 Cranbourne Cup Tips & Odds Update

2016 Cranbourne Cup Tips & Odds Update

On Sunday a field of nice stayers face off for a lucrative $300,000 in total prize money in the Cranbourne Cup 2016, betting tips and the latest odds for the Victorian feature found below. Due to run as Race 8 at 4:35pm (AEDT), a dozen runners face off in this year’s Listed Cranbourne Cup (2025m)…

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup is a Listed staying event held at Cranbourne Racecourse during October.

Held under open handicap conditions over a distance of 2025m, the Cranbourne Cup is an exciting provincial cup event. Prize money of $200,000 makes the Cranbourne Cup one of the richest Listed races in Victoria.

The Cranbourne Cup is usually held on a Sunday, ensuring it gets plenty of attention during the Melbourne Spring Carnival which is often dominated by race days boasting several Group 1 events. For example, Caulfield Guineas Day, with four Group 1 events, is held on the day before.

For several reasons, including the prize money and inclusion in several horse’s campaigns, the Cranbourne Cup ranks as a fairly important race in comparison to its status.

One of the better lead up races to this event is the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes (2000m) at Caulfield, while the Group 3 Bart Cummings (2500m) stands to grow in importance as an additional lead up event.

Those horses which have a decent run in the Cranbourne Cup might go on to contest later major cup events such as the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup or even the Caulfield Cup or Melbourne Cup.

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup will be run on Sunday, October 9th.

Cranbourne Cup 2016
Date: Sunday, October 9th, 2016
Track: Cranbourne Turf Club
Distance: 2025m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Cranbourne Cup Field

The Cranbourne Cup field has in the past attracted some top quality stayers. You’ll often see a fairly even mix of metro runners alongside country horses in the Cranbourne Cup field.

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup field will be published here on Wednesday, October 5th.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 5821x2x069 PRINCE OF PENZANCE (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 12 60kg 113
2 x21377x056 THE CLEANER Peter Gelagotis Steven Arnold 3 60kg 108
3 97170×9670 ESCADO Matt Laurie Ben Melham 11 56.5kg 100
4 115x0x00x3 BRING SOMETHING Ken Keys Craig Williams 4 54.5kg 96
5 71x110x266 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) Lee & Anthony Freedman Craig Newitt 7 54kg 95
6 001310×793 TARQUIN John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 8 54kg 91
7 8689x10x72 BLIZZARD (NZ) Emma-Lee & David Browne Damien Oliver 2 54kg 90
8 x97550x268 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir Damian Lane 6 54kg 90
9 5462102×09 ROSE OF VIRGINIA (NZ) Lee & Shannon Hope Ben E Thompson (a) 5 54kg 88
10 275x586x52 PLOT THE COURSE Michael Trotter Michael Walker 9 54kg 77
11 2022911×41 SLY ROMANCE (NZ) Richard Laming Ben Allen (a) 1 54kg 77
12 3618616541 AAGAS Todd Balfour 10 54kg 68

2016 Cranbourne Cup Nominations

The Cranbourne Cup nominations tend to draw horses from all around Victorian stables. Locally stabled runners tend to enter the Cranbourne Cup nominations alongside stayers from more central Melbourne stables.

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup nominations will be published here on Monday, October 5th.

Cranbourne Cup History

The Cranbourne Cup was inaugurated in 1898 and has enjoyed an illustrious history since then. A fair number of well-known stayers have gone through the Cranbourne Cup at some point in their careers.

Cranbourne Cup Day has grown into one of the bigger days of racing in the region. It hosts a Myer Fashions in the Field heat, as well as rides and entertainment for kids. Cranbourne Cup Day is touted as a day everyone can enjoy, and that usually seems to be the case.

The Cranbourne Turf Club has grown into one of the busiest in the country, hosting 102 race meetings a year across greyhound, trots and flat racing, and with around 800 horses training out of their facilities.

Overall, Cranbourne Cup history is relatively uneventful. The race has maintained a strong profile for quality fields, and will likely continue to do so in the future. Some of the more notable Cranbourne Cup winners include Celtic Spirit (1988), Big Barron (1992), Brave Chief (2000), On A Jeune (2004), Emerald Jack (2007) and Pakal (2013). The Cranbourne Cup results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Cranbourne Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Cranbourne Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Cranbourne Cup
1st Mourinho 2 minutes 6.5 seconds
2nd More Than Sacred
3rd Le Roi
Cranbourne Cup
1st Pakal 2 minutes 6.3 seconds
2nd Sertorius
3rd Mourinho
Cranbourne Cup
1st Midnight Martini 2 minutes 6.8 seconds
2nd Streets Away
3rd Streaky Fella
Cranbourne Cup
1st Boom N Zoom 2 minutes 6.6 seconds
2nd Paddy O’Reilly
3rd Ginga Dude
Cranbourne Cup
1st Starmon 2 minutes 6.8 seconds
2nd Mr Bentley
3rd Tube
Cranbourne Cup
1st Sermon 2 minutes 4.8 seconds
2nd Stormhill
3rd The Sportsman
Cranbourne Cup
1st Majestical 2 minutes 3.1 seconds
2nd Barbaricus
3rd Chantal Sally
Cranbourne Cup
1st Emerald Jack 2 minutes 5.6 seconds
2nd Blue Collar Jack
3rd El Pretender
Cranbourne Cup
1st Blue Collar Jack 2 minutes 6.5 seconds
2nd Octrivia
3rd Professional Lady
Cranbourne Cup
1st Show Barry 2 minutes 4.6 seconds
2nd Tosen Dandy
3rd Irish Crusader
Cranbourne Cup
1st On A Jeune 2 minutes 3.4 seconds
2nd Da Capo
3rd Bedouin
Cranbourne Cup
1st Kattavia 2 minutes 7.5 seconds
2nd Out Of Options
3rd Pinstripe
Cranbourne Cup
1st Eagle Rhythm 2 minutes 3.9 seconds
2nd Adolescence
3rd Hail
Cranbourne Cup
1st Bush Padre 2 minutes 4.5 seconds
2nd Captivator
3rd Spirit Of Westbury
Cranbourne Cup
1st Brave Chief 2 minutes 2.6 seconds
2nd Yammer
3rd Figurehead