Boulder Cup

The 2015 Boulder Cup is one of Kalgoorlie Racecourse's biggest events.

Boulder Cup News

Black Tycoon On Track for 2013 Railway Stakes

Black Tycoon On Track for 2013 Railway Stakes

After a narrow win in the $125,000 Group 3 Hyperion Stakes (1600m) at Belmont Park on the weekend connections will now aim their veteran galloper Black Tycoon for the Railway Stakes 2013 in November. Justin Warwick’s rising eight-year-old Blackfriars gelding Black Tycoon posted their ninth win at career start 22 on Saturday when beating home…

The 2015 Boulder Cup is a Listed event held at Kalgoorlie Racecourse around mid-September each year.

Run under quality handicap conditions, the Boulder Cup provides country horses with an opportunity to compete against some metropolitan stabled horses. Raced over a distance of 2100m, the Boulder Cup is an ideal step-up for milers. Stayers can also step down relatively easily to the 2100m event. Prior to 2014, the Boulder Cup was raced over 1760m. With $110,000 prize money, this certainly isn’t a cheap race. The lucrative purse attracts plenty of nominations from far and wide.

While the Boulder Cup could form any stage in a variety of spring campaigns, it usually attracts locals who will be hitting the Kalgoorlie track regularly over the spring. The Boulder Cup often falls into the sights of horses who are targeting the Kalgoorlie Cup (2300m) and who may have already raced in the Coolgardie Cup. Those top-class horses who perform above expectations might go on to contend the Group 1 Railway Stakes and Kingston Town Classic or the Group 2 Perth Cup.

The 2015 Boulder Cup will be held on September 13th.

Boulder Cup
Date: September 13th, 2015
Track: Kalgoorlie Racecourse
Distance: 1760m
Race Type: Open Quality
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $110,000

2015 Boulder Cup Field

The 2015 Boulder Cup field will be officially released on Wednesday, September 9th. There are always a few notable performers included in the Boulder Cup field. The 2015 Boulder Cup field will be published below.

Boulder Cup History

The Boulder Cup has a long and storied history. Held in the gold-mining town of Kalgoorlie, the Boulder Cup and other Kalgoorlie races have long been an intrinsic part of the local sporting culture. Kalgoorlie Racecourse is one of the best country tracks in Western Australia, which ensures that the better listed and country events remain there.

Notable Boulder Cup winners include Opening Twist (2001), Hotel Casuarina (2005) and Gondorff (2010). Reverend Lovejoy was able to take out victory in 2009 over Gondorff and then return in 2011 to win the race again over celebrated WA gelding Kincaple. Prince Of Pop placed second in 2000 and was able to come back in 2003 for a third place. Mercedario has two third places, in 2002 and 2004. You’ll often notice the same local horses popping up in the results from year to year. Starting in 2014, the Boulder Cup changed to 2100m as opposed to 1760m.

Boulder Cup winners, top results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Boulder Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Boulder Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Boulder Cup
1st Red Blast 2 minutes 08.11 seconds
2nd Ram Jam
3rd True Gold
Boulder Cup
1st Fanicio 1 minute 45.52 seconds
2nd Barnsley Lad
3rd Amelias Dancer
Boulder Cup
1st Belora 1 minute 45.23 seconds
2nd Amelias Dancer
3rd Amelia Storm
Boulder Cup
1st Reverend Lovejoy 1 minute 45.98 seconds
2nd Kincaple
3rd Battle Emblem
Boulder Cup
1st Gondorff 1 minute 45.94 seconds
2nd Admiring
3rd Inarticulate
Boulder Cup
1st Reverend Lovejoy 1 minute 47.12 seconds
2nd Gondorff
3rd Impact Rating
Boulder Cup
1st Mr Diagnosis 1 minute 48.21 seconds
2nd Goldtown
3rd Stormblitz
Boulder Cup
1st Impact Rating 1 minute 45.88 seconds
2nd Friar’s Touch
3rd I Command
Boulder Cup
1st Scenic Assault 1 minute 46.97 seconds
2nd Moodometer
3rd Black Tom
Boulder Cup
1st Hotel Casuarina 1 minute 45.30 seconds
2nd Priceless Matt
3rd Chenille Prince
Boulder Cup
1st My Thornbird 1 minute 46.07 seconds
2nd Blevvo
3rd Mercedario
Boulder Cup
1st Space Age 1 minute 49.07 seconds
2nd Priceless Matt
3rd Prince Of Pop
Boulder Cup
1st Lawmaker 1 minute 47.71 seconds
2nd Eastern Standard
3rd Mercedario
Boulder Cup
1st Opening Twist 1 minute 48.49 seconds
2nd Face Your Fears
3rd Stage Whisper
Boulder Cup
1st Never Blue 1 minute 47.74 seconds
2nd Prince Of Pop
3rd Waters Rising