Zeditave Stakes

The 2016 Zeditave Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Caulfield Racecourse.

Zeditave Stakes News

Santa Ana Lane scores narrow win in 2016 Zeditave Stakes

Santa Ana Lane scores narrow win in 2016 Zeditave Stakes

Market drifter Santa Ana Lane scored a narrow first up win in the Group 3 $150,000 Ladbrokes Zeditave Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield today.

Santa Ana Lane (pictured centre with yellow cap) wins the 2016 Ladbrokes Zeditave Stakes on Blue Diamond Stakes Day. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

The Lee and Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane was having his first run ...

The 2016 Zeditave Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne.

Usually taking place around late January, and in recent years on Australia Day, the Zeditave Stakes is a popular target for in-form three year olds.

Held over 1200m under set weights plus penalties conditions, the Zeditave Stakes pays $150,000 prize money. It is a fairly lucrative race for that time of year, and is often employed as a leadup race to the autumn carnival at Caulfield. With so many major races following it, many trainers direct their better three year olds towards this race.

Prior to the Zeditave Stakes, there are few lead-up races to consider. Many horses contest the Zeditave Stakes first up or near enough to as part of their return to racing following a break after the spring racing carnival.

The 2016 Zeditave Stakes will be run on February 27th at Eagle Farm.

Zeditave Stakes 2016
Date: February 27th, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: 3YO Set Weights + Penalties
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Zeditave Stakes Field

Amongst the Zeditave Stakes field you can usually find some of the better three year olds who are currently on the racing circuit. Because of its convenient location in the racing calendar, the Zeditave Stakes field often features horses that will continue to race throughout February and March.

The 2016 Zeditave Stakes field is provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11x60x PRINCE OF BROOKLYN Mick Price Craig Newitt 1 58kg 75
2 3826x3550x ODYSSEY MOON Robert Smerdon Mark Zahra 10 57kg 77
3 140×1 PURITAN Jason Warren Nicholas Hall 8 57kg 82
4 210×02 WELL SPRUNG Lyn Tolson & Leonie Proctor Chris Symons 5 57kg 74
5 15x163x BASSETT (NZ) Peter G Moody Daniel Stackhouse 9 55kg 75
6 24x1x125x MOGADOR John O’Shea Craig Williams 12 55kg 78
7 1212243x EL GRECO Peter G Moody Glen Boss 2 55kg 73
8 8x152x1 BROCKHOFF Ciaron Maher Damien Oliver 7 55kg 73
9 11 POPOVICH (NZ) Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 4 55kg 69
10 x6444236x9 STAR PLANET John Sadler Patrick Moloney (a) 3 55kg 63
11 114x SANTA ANA LANE Lee & Anthony Freedman Ben Melham 6 55kg 67
12 1×24 TUSCANY HERO Wendy Kelly Luke Currie 11 55kg 62

2016 Zeditave Stakes Nominations

Usually released on the Monday prior to the race, the Zeditave Stakes nominations feature a number of top quality three year olds looking to return to black-type racing following a spell. Many of the horses in the Zeditave Stakes nominations will be looking to employ the race as a leadup event to many of the features held during the autumn.

The 2016 Zeditave Stakes nominations are published below.

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
2 ARMADA Peter G Moody 71
3 CONVINCIBLE Dean Howard 71
4 FAST CASH Wendy Kelly 74
5 GALAXY PEGASUS David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 80
6 NOSTRADAMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 86
7 ONEROUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 70
8 ROMMEL Neville Parnham 90
9 SCHNELLER Clinton McDonald 65
10 SETINUM Shane Fliedner 62
11 TUDOR Doug Harrison 76
12 ULMANN Peter G Moody 65
13 ZELETTO Luke Oliver 74

Zeditave Stakes History

The Zeditave Stakes was a listed event prior to 2013, when it received an upgrade to Group 3 status. It became a feature event for the first time in 2014, having previously been held on Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

The race is named after the 1988 winner of the Blue Diamond Stakes and renowned sprinter Zeditave.

Previously restricted to colts and geldings, the Zeditave Stakes is now an open event, allowing many horses to employ it as a leadup event.

Notable Zeditave Stakes winners include Almurtajaz (1989), Blaze The Turf (1998), Not A Single Doubt (2005) and Not Listenin’tome (2014). Zeditave Stakes results and winning times are listed below.

Zeditave Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Zeditave Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Zeditave Stakes
1st Santa Ana Lane 1 minute 9.5 seconds
2nd Brockhoff
3rd Bassett
Zeditave Stakes
1st Rommel 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Galaxy Pegasus
3rd Convincible
Zeditave Stakes
1st Not Listenin’tome 1 minute 9.2 seconds
2nd Consorting
3rd Thermal Current
Zeditave Stakes
1st Happy Galaxy 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Rusambo
3rd Wakeel
Zeditave Stakes
1st Instinction 1 minute 9.3 seconds
2nd Specter
3rd Petman
Zeditave Stakes
1st Eclair Mystic 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Spirited Eagle
3rd Po Ching King
Zeditave Stakes
1st Denman 1 minute 8.7 seconds
2nd Carrara
3rd Spacecraft
Zeditave Stakes
1st Time Thief 1 minute 10.03 seconds
2nd Fravashi
3rd Fernandina
Zeditave Stakes
1st Bundle O’ Gold 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Lord Monty
3rd El Mandon
Zeditave Stakes
1st Haradasun 1 minute 9.5 seconds
2nd Eclair Passion
3rd Churchill Downs
Zeditave Stakes
1st Minson 1 minute 10.9 seconds
2nd Red Dazzler
3rd Thin And Crispy
Zeditave Stakes
1st Not A Single Doubt 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Danehill Express
3rd Volitant
Zeditave Stakes
1st St Elmo’s Fire 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Abdullah
3rd Bushido