Queen’s Cup

The 2015 Queen's Cup is a Group 3 staying event held at Flemington Racecourse during November.

Queen’s Cup News

Spring Options Open for Bendigo Cup Winner Francis Of Assisi

Spring Options Open for Bendigo Cup Winner Francis Of Assisi

The international Godolphin operation continued their dominance in the Victorian cup races this spring with the Charlie Appleby-trained Francis Of Assisi enjoying a stylish 2016 Bendigo Cup win on Wednesday.

Kerrin McEvoy rode the 2016 Bendigo Cup winner Francis Of Assisi to victory for Godolphin. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

A week ago the team ran first and third ...

The 2015 VRC Queen’s Cup is a 2600m quality handicap held at Flemington Racecourse during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

A Group 3 event, The Queens Cup (Prior to 2015 known as the Queen Elizabeth Stakes) pays $300,000 total prize money. It is one of the more lucrative Group 3 events held during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes is held on the fourth and final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, and runs alongside five other black-type events. These include the Group 1 Emirates Stakes (1600m), the Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m), the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes (2000m), the Group 3 Maribyrnong Plate (1000m) and the Listed Hilton Hotels Stakes (1400m).

Heading into the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, horses might contest a variety of paths. The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, while only holding Group 3 status, tends to see quite a few Group 1 horses come through it. The Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) and the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup (2500m) are often popular lead up races. Some horses also back up from the Melbourne Cup to contest this event.

Following the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m) is a fairly common target. Some horses choose to rest prior to the Summer Racing Carnival.

The 2015 Queen’s Cup will be held on November 7th.

Queen’s Cup 2015
Date: November 7th, 2015
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2600m
Race Type: Open Quality
Status: Group 3
Prize money: $300,000

2015 Queen’s Cup Field

The Queen’s Cup field attracts a fairly handy selection of horses. As it is raced over a relatively lengthy staying distance of 2600m, the Queen’s Cup field tends to fill out with experienced staying types who can handle the longer distances and have a few Group wins under their belt.

The 2015 Queen’s Cup field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0530×48425 BEATEN UP (GB) Chris Waller 1 58kg 105
2 6624×00842 DANDINO (GB) Darren Weir Ben Melham 4 58kg 105
3 645361x2x1 SECRET NUMBER (GB) Saeed Bin Suroor James McDonald 5 58kg 105
4 37x421x660 BONFIRE (GB) Gai Waterhouse Michael Walker 6 56.5kg 102
5 32303×8404 BOLD SNIPER (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Chad Schofield 8 54.5kg 96
6 7130×40980 DON DOREMO (NZ) Robbie Laing Vlad Duric 3 54.5kg 88
7 2x893x0005 LIKE A CAROUSEL Ken Keys 2 54.5kg 96
8 142x5x3673 MANNDAWI (FR) Ed Dunlop Damien Oliver 7 54.5kg 96

2015 Queen’s Cup Nominations

The Queen’s Cup nominations draw talented stayers from right around Australia. As it runs on the last day of the Melbourne Cup Day, a number of horses are entered in the Queen’s Cup nominations in search of prestige and, of course, prize money.

The 2015 Queen’s Cup nominations will be provided below.

Queen’s Cup History

The Queen’s Cup is a very old race. Inaugurated in 1854, it is seven years older than the Melbourne Cup and almost as prestigious. Originally known as the Queen’s Plate and until recently the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, it was first run over 24 furlongs, which is the equivalent of around 4800m.

In its long history, there have been only two dead heats. The first was in 1895, between Wallace and Auraria. The second was more recently in 1997, between Vita Man and Bright Spot.

Throughout its history, the Queen’s Cup has not been held on a total of eight years.

The Queen’s Cup has been through many name changes since its inception, which are documented below.

Period Name
2015-now Queen’s Cup
2011-2014 Queen Elizabeth Stakes
2010 Queen’s Cup
1986-2009 Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1985 Queen’s Cup
1979-1984 Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1975-1978 C.B. Fisher Plate
1974 Queen’s Cup
1970-1973 C.B. Fisher Plate
1969 Queen’s Cup
1895-1968 C.B. Fisher Plate
1875-1894 Canterbury Plate
1873-1874 Flemington Plate
1854-1872 Queen’s Plate

Along with multiple name changes, the Queen’s Cup has also changed distance multiple times. The various distances of the Queen’s Cup are documented below.

Period Distance
2010-now 2600m
1973-2009 2500m
1972 2400m
1895-1971 12 furlongs
1890-1894 16 furlongs
1889 18 furlongs
1888 24 furlongs
1886-1887 16 furlongs
1885 20 furlongs
1881-1884 16 furlongs
1880 18 furlongs
1879 16 furlongs
1877-1878 18 furlongs
1875-1876 16 furlongs
1854-1874 24 furlongs

*A furlong is approximately 200 metres.

A number of very impressive horses have taken out the honours in the Queen’s Cup. Winners include Tim Whiffler (1867), Wakeful (1902), Alawa (1908, 09, 10), Eurythmic (1920), Phar Lap (1930), Ajax (1938), High Caste (1939, 40, 41), Rising Fast (1954, 55), Even Stevens (1962), Hyperno (1979) and Makybe Diva (2002) amongst many others. Queen’s Cup results, winners and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Queen’s Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Dandino 2:46.93
2nd Secret Number
3rd Don Doremo
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Le Roi 2 minutes 43.1 seconds
2nd Prince Of Penzance
3rd Big Memory
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Precedence 2 minutes 46.4 seconds
2nd Sertorius
3rd Let’s Make Adeal
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Puissance De Lune 2 minutes 44.2 seconds
2nd Ironstein
3rd Tanby
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Ironstein 2 minutes 44.8 seconds
2nd Shootoff
3rd Paddy O’Reilly
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Moudre 2 minutes 45.2 seconds
2nd Capecover
3rd Persian Star
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Sterling Prince 2 minutes 34.5 seconds
2nd Crossthestart
3rd Naval Escort
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Capecover 2 minutes 38.8 seconds
2nd Light Vision
3rd Baughurst
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Zavite 2 minutes 38.5 seconds
2nd Cefalu
3rd Completion
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Gallant Guru 2 minutes 40.6 seconds
2nd Magic Instinct
3rd Fooram
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Our Smoking Joe 2 minutes 33.8 seconds
2nd Coalesce
3rd Grey Song
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Fantastic Love 2 minutes 44.8 seconds
2nd Manawa King
3rd Da Capo
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Zazzman 2 minutes 37.5 seconds
2nd Lord Erin
3rd Delvecchio
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Makybe Diva 2 minutes 35.7 seconds
2nd Spirit Of Westbury
3rd Time Off
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Hatha Anna 2 minutes 40.9 seconds
2nd Ascana
3rd Tiger’s Eye
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
1st Savrocca 2 minutes 37.8 seconds
2nd Ultra Smug
3rd Mayshiel