TL Baillieu Handicap

The TL Baillieu Handicap is a Group 3 support act on The BMW Stakes Day at Rosehill Gardens in late March during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

TL Baillieu Handicap News

2017 The Schweppervescence Final Field & Betting Odds

2017 The Schweppervescence Final Field & Betting Odds

A promising field of two-year-olds hoping to make the ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes field Saturday week take to the Rosehill Gardens track this weekend in The Schweppervescence 2017.

Jockey Damien Oliver rides Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes graduate Muraahib in Saturday’s opening Rosehill race on The BMW Day. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Kicking off the Rosehill Gardens race card at ...

The 2017 TL Baillieu Handicap – also known as The Schweppervescence Handicap – is a Group 3 race conducted at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in late March during the annual Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

A quality handicap for two-year-old horses run over 1400m, the event offers $150,000 in total prize money and is a key support act on The BMW Day that is headlined by two Group 1 races – The BMW (2400m) and Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m).

Young horses head into the TL Baillieu Handicap field via earlier autumn runs in races including the Group 3 Pago Pago Stakes (1200m) or Group 3 Magic Night Stakes (1200m) a fortnight earlier at the track.

Following a run in the TL Baillieu Handicap, two-year-olds may continue onto the Group 1 ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) at Royal Randwick or step up to a mile for the Group 1 Champagne Stakes (1600m) in mid-April. In 2016 Prized Icon ran second in the Baillieu Handicap and won the Champagne Stakes two starts later.

The TL Baillieu Handicap 2017 is set to take place on Saturday March 25, 2017.

TL Baillieu Handicap
Date: Saturday March 25, 2017
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Open Handicap – 2YOs
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 TL Baillieu Handicap Odds

The season’s latest TL Baillieu Handicap 2017 betting odds and market links to will be available the week of the race.

2017 TL Baillieu Handicap Field

The TL Baillieu Handicap field draws classy two-year-olds showing the potential to run out a strong 1400m or even a mile. Many of the youngsters in the race missed out on a run in the $3.5 million Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) the weekend prior, or were saved for this easy target.

The official 2017 TL Baillieu Handicap Field & Barriers will be released by Racing NSW on Wednesday March 22, 2017 and listed below.

Check out the full 2017 The Schweppervescence TL Baillieu Handicap Final Field below – following the link for more on the top two-year-olds in the mix including Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes sixth placed Muraahib and Villa Carlotta who ran third behind the subsequent Golden Slipper quinella in Group 2 class last time out.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight
1 116 MURAAHIB David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 3 58kg
2 21 ALBUMIN Gerald Ryan Jason Collett 10 57kg
3 1 ASTORIA John O’Shea James Doyle 14 57kg
4 184 MARSUPIAL John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 2 57kg
5 42×6 ALL TOO HUIYING Gary Moore Tim Clark 1 56.5kg
6 04×234 THE MISSION Paul Perry Ben Melham 4 56.5kg
7 2×3 BIDWEE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Christian Reith 6 56kg
8 1 MERCHANT NAVY Ciaron Maher Mark Zahra 11 56kg
9 2×8 REFLECTIVITY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Corey Brown 13 56kg
10 13 VILLA CARLOTTA James Cummings Hugh Bowman 12 55.5kg
11 24 FAEGER Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 9 55.5kg
12 34 SHE’S ON QUE Peter Robl Regan Bayliss 8 54kg
13 67 SMOOTH LANDING John P Thompson Jay Ford 5 54kg
14e 3×4 WHISPERED SECRET James Cummings Glyn Schofield 7 54kg

2017 TL Baillieu Handicap Nominations

The TL Baillieu Handicap 2017 nominations close on Monday March 20, 2017 and will be published here as soon as available.

Check out the official 2017 TL Baillieu Handicap Nominations – the race run as The Schweppervescence Handicap – featuring the likes of Lindsay Park’s Blue Diamond Stakes performed Reset colt Muraahib and Sepoy filly Garrard.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer
1 21 ALBUMIN G 2 Gerald Ryan
2 42×6 ALL TOO HUIYING C 2 Gary Moore
3 1 ASTORIA C 2 John O’Shea
4 2×3 BIDWEE C 2 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
5 3×9 EPHESIAN C 2 Anthony & Edward Cummings
6 31116 ESHTIRAAK C 2 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
7 24 FAEGER C 2 Peter & Paul Snowden
8 47×433 FENG CHU C 2 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
9 22×12 GARRARD F 2 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young
10 32×47 LUCKY LOUIE F 2 Anthony & Edward Cummings
11 184 MARSUPIAL C 2 John O’Shea
12 1 MERCHANT NAVY C 2 Ciaron Maher
13 116 MURAAHIB C 2 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
14 2×8 REFLECTIVITY C 2 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
15 34 SHE’S ON QUE F 2 Peter Robl
16 67 SMOOTH LANDING F 2 John P Thompson
17 04×234 THE MISSION C 2 Paul Perry
18 13 VILLA CARLOTTA F 2 James Cummings
19 3×4 WHISPERED SECRET F 2 James Cummings
20 52 ZEPPELIN C 2 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott

TL Baillieu Handicap History

The TL Baillieu Handicap has been run and won since 1986 and is named in honour of the Australian Jockey Club’s former Chairman Tom Latham Baillieu. From 2010 – 2016 it ran as The Schweppervescence and after starting out as a Listed race it gained Group 3 status in 2011.

Before the move to Rosehill Racecourse in 2010 the TL Baillieu Handicap was previously contested at a number of other Sydney race tracks including Royal Randwick, Randwick’s Kensington track and Warwick Farm Racecourse.

Recent TL Baillieu Handicap Winners

Below is a full list of TL Baillieu Handicap results and winners going back to 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
TL Baillieu Handicap
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Attention 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Prized Icon
3rd Crafty Cop
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Takedown 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Street Rapper
3rd Mine Two
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Bachman 1 minute 26.8 seconds
2nd Scratch Me Lucky
3rd Veuvelicious
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Champollion 1 minute 26.2 seconds
2nd Ideal Guide
3rd Rightoncue
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Flying Snitzel 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Dear Demi
3rd Strength
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Do You Think 1 minute 24.5 seconds
2nd Cocky Raider
3rd Satirical Boy
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Skilled 1 minute 24.5 seconds
2nd Fashion
3rd Kudakulari
Ajax Stakes
1st Onemorenomore 1 minute 25.3 seconds
2nd Rogue Warrior
3rd Euphemism
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Rhyno Chaser 1 minute 26.8 seconds
2nd Polaway
3rd Wembley
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Pistols 1 minute 24.8 seconds
2nd Switchblade
3rd Cigar Royale
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Mentality 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Excites
3rd Theseo
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Astronomia
3rd Dower
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Gaze On 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Connecticut
3rd Dancing Bridges
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Winning Belle 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Yes Boss
3rd Sir Dex
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Redwood Falls 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Salameh
3rd Huit
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Vita 1 minute 25.0 seconds
2nd Sircarn Damon
3rd Whim Wham
TL Baillieu Handicap
1st Clonmel 1 minute 26.2 seconds
2nd Vampire
3rd Restless