Tibbie Stakes

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes is a Group 3 event run by the Newcastle Jockey Club.

Tibbie Stakes News

Angst Stakes Next for Tibbie Stakes Winner Spirit Bird

Angst Stakes Next for Tibbie Stakes Winner Spirit Bird

Spirit Bird has produced a career-best effort to date to post only her second race win in the Group 3 Tibbie Stakes (1350m) in Newcastle this afternoon. Spirit Bird received steady support in 2016 Tibbie Stakes betting markets in the hours leading up to jump, and did her chances no harm when she jumped well…

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes is a 1350m sprinting event held at Newcastle Racecourse (also known as Beaumont Racecourse) on a Friday in mid-September.

The Tibbie Stakes is restricted to mares and fillies and traditionally attracts mainly Sydney-trained hopefuls. Run under set weights plus penalties conditions with total prize money of $125,000, the Tibbie Stakes can serve as a nice early lead-up to similar class and conditioned races of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

The Tibbie Stakes forms a major part of the annual two day Newcastle Racing Carnival. The Tibbie Stakes falls on the second day of the carnival, Newcastle Cup Day, on which the Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup is also held along with the Group 3 Cameron Handicap.

One of the major lead up races to the Tibbie Stakes is the Group 3 Sheraco Stakes (1200m) held at Rosehill the week before. From the Tibbie Stakes, the Group 3 Angst Stakes (1600m), again at Rosehill, is a popular target.

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes will be run on September 16th.

Tibbie Stakes
Date: September 16th, 2016
Track: Newcastle Racecourse
Distance: 1350m
Race Type: Fillies & Mares SWP
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000

2016 Tibbie Stakes Field

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes field and barrier draw were released on Wednesday September 14 by the Newcastle Jockey Club, 12 mares and a single filly prepared by Kris Lees (Little Shocker) accepted to face off in the middle-distance sprint.

See below for the full 2016 Tibbie Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw complete with the latest available Tibbie Stakes betting odds on offer at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2016 Tibbie Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tibbie Stakes nominations were released by Racing NSW on Monday September 12 and feature 16 hopefuls including John O’Shea’s last-start Mona Lisa Stakes winner Fitou.

Check out the official 2016 Tibbie Stakes nominations and ballot now.

Tibbie Stakes History

The Tibbie Stakes was inaugurated in 1990 and quickly became an important target for fillies and mares across New South Wales. Originally named the Tibbie Plate, the race received an upgraded name when its status was lifted to Listed in 2005. In 2013, the Tibbie Stakes was upgraded again to Group 3. Along with a prize increase this meant the Tibbie Stakes would now be a prime target for Sydney-stabled horses.

Notable Tibbie Stakes winners include Expresso Rose (2001) and Vaquera (2013). The Tibbie Stakes results and winning times since 2001 are below.

Tibbie Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Tibbie Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Tibbie Stakes
1st She’s Clean 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Two Blue
3rd Sultry Feeling
Tibbie Stakes
1st Fine Bubbles 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd I’m In The Money
3rd Gold Epona
Tibbie Stakes
1st Vaquera 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Gold Epona
3rd Cameo
Tibbie Stakes
1st Nocturnelle 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd New Beginning
3rd Irish Dream
Tibbie Stakes
1st More Strawberries 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Skyerush
3rd Sweetest Melody
Tibbie Stakes
1st Vintedge 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Hidden Wonder
3rd Ashlee’s Jewel
Tibbie Stakes
1st Moti 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Patronyme
3rd Illuminates
Tibbie Stakes
1st Miss Pageantry 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Maybe I
3rd Tijuana
Tibbie Stakes
1st Race Not Held
Tibbie Stakes
1st Yolo 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Gawne
3rd China Jade
Tibbie Stakes
1st Shalimar Sky 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Fantasia
3rd Johan’s Toy
Tibbie Stakes
1st St Jessie 1 minute 22.3 seconds
2nd Magsaya
3rd Hennessy Waltz
Tibbie Stakes
1st Imperatrix 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Native Jester
3rd Reve
Tibbie Stakes
1st Miss Zoe 1 minute 26.2 seconds
2nd Airlie Bird
3rd Our Earth Star
Tibbie Stakes
1st Expresso Rose 1 minute 24.3 seconds
2nd Unknown
3rd Unknown