The Bart Cummings

The 2016 Bart Cummings is a Group 3 staying event held at Flemington Racecourse.

The Bart Cummings News

2016 Melbourne Cup Betting Update

2016 Melbourne Cup Betting Update

Hartnell remains on top of 2016 Melbourne Cup betting markets after he finished second behind Winx in the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley this afternoon. Hartnell was no match for Winx in the final stages of the Cox Plate – she almost effortlessly put eight lengths on her rivals to record the most dominant Cox…

The 2016 Bart Cummings is a Group 3 race held at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse on the first Sunday of October during the Spring Racing Carnival.

The Bart Cummings is run under handicap conditions and is open to horses of all ages and sexes.

Contested over 2500m, The Bart Cummings provides a valuable opportunity for local stayers to test their mettle over distances greater than 2400m. Because the race was used so much in the past as a lead up event to the Melbourne Cup, it seemed appropriate to name it in honour of the twelve times Melbourne Cup winning trainer, Bart Cummings.

Besides the Melbourne Cup, runners in The Bart Cummings might go on to contest later major events, such as the Caulfield Stakes (2000m), run under weight-for-age conditions, or the Herbert Power Stakes (2400m), run under handicap conditions, the following week.

The Bart Cummings is held on Turnbull Stakes Day, which besides Makybe Diva Stakes Day in mid-September is the major meet which kicks off spring at Flemington. Races held alongside The Bart Cummings include the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m), Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes (1600m), the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m), the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1400m) and a number of Listed races.

The Bart Cummings will run on Sunday October 2, 2016.

The Bart Cummings 2016
Date: Sunday October 2, 2016, 2016
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2500m
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $300,000

2016 Bart Cummings Field

The Bart Cummings field tends to attract fairly top quality stayers. Because it is one of the earliest staying events in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, some genuine Melbourne Cup contenders enter the Bart Cummings field. Other horses who are targeting later major staying events will seek entry into the Bart Cummings field in order to get as much fitness as possible over longer distances.

The 2016 Bart Cummings field was released on Wednesday September 28 and features a dozen stayers including last spring’s Geelong Cup – Sandown Cup double winner Almoonqith.

See below for the official 2016 The Bart Cummings Final Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a detailed race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 01x9065x80 ALMOONQITH (USA) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Michael Walker 2 58kg 105
2 2217x20x98 EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Mark Zahra 3 58kg 105
3 1x221x6651 ALMANDIN (GER) Robert Hickmott Damien Oliver 5 55kg 99
4 1113254×06 PENTATHLON (NZ) John Wheeler TBA 1 55kg 99
5 x2110x0x05 SHIMRANO (GER) Lee & Anthony Freedman Dwayne Dunn 12 54kg 95
6 157134×640 SWACADELIC (GER) Aaron Purcell Chris Parnham 7 54kg 94
7 x0071x0700 ZANTECA (NZ) Darren Weir Craig Williams 11 54kg 93
8 212x1x7x3 ALOFT (IRE) Robert Hickmott Kerrin McEvoy 6 54kg 90
9 41340×6541 LUCQUES Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 10 54kg 89
10 324210×852 DANDY GENT Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Luke Currie 8 54kg 88
11 70x044x690 PINSTRIPE LANE (NZ) Leon & Troy Corstens Daniel Stackhouse 4 54kg 85
12 x2x1145x52 VENGEUR MASQUE (IRE) Michael Moroney Patrick Moloney 9 54kg 78

2016 Bart Cummings Nominations

Trainers will often include a number of their better performing stayers in the Bart Cummings nominations because there are few other choices at that distance in Melbourne that weekend. Inclusion in the Bart Cummings nominations is a strong indication that a horse has its sights set on major staying events later in October.

The 2016 Bart Cummings nominations were released on Monday September 26 by Racing Victoria and attracted 18 stayers.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 0069x031x2 GALLANTE (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 1 59kg 107
2 2217x20x98 EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) H 7 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 2 58kg 105
3 01x9065x80 ALMOONQITH (USA) H 7 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 3 58kg 105
4 0463823532 JUNOOB (GB) G 9 Chris Waller 4 57.5kg 104
5 1113254×06 PENTATHLON (NZ) G 5 John Wheeler 5 55kg 99
6 1x221x6651 ALMANDIN (GER) G 7 Robert Hickmott 6 55kg 99
7 x2110x0x05 SHIMRANO (GER) H 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman 7 54kg 95
8 157134×640 SWACADELIC (GER) G 6 Aaron Purcell 8 54kg 94
9 122x323x50 SECOND BULLET G 6 Danny O’Brien 9 54kg 93
10 x0071x0700 ZANTECA (NZ) M 7 Darren Weir 10 54kg 93
11 212x1x7x3 ALOFT (IRE) G 5 Robert Hickmott 11 54kg 90
12 41340×6541 LUCQUES G 5 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 12 54kg 89
13 324210×852 DANDY GENT G 5 Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 13 54kg 88
14 70x044x690 PINSTRIPE LANE (NZ) G 6 Leon & Troy Corstens 14 54kg 85
15 x2x1145x52 VENGEUR MASQUE (IRE) G 5 Michael Moroney 15 54kg 78
16 21x340x770 NIGELISSIMA (NZ) M 6 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 16 54kg 76
17 x102129x73 BARWON G 5 David & Coral Feek 17 54kg 70
18 124×912598 WHITE DOLLAR SIGN G 5 John Thom 18 54kg 65

The Bart Cummings History

The Bart Cummings was previously known as the Banjo Paterson. That name has since been reserved for a separate series of racing. The Bart Cummings was named as such because the man himself often used the race as a platform for developing his stayers ahead of feature events such as the Melbourne Cup.

The Bart Cummings gained its current name in 2004, when the VRC made the decision to honour the Australian Racing Hall of Fame inaugural inductee. In response to the accolade, Mr Cummings famously said “I will be doing my very best to try to prepare the winner of it”.

Previously a listed event, the Bart Cummings was granted Group 3 status prior to the 2014 edition. In 2012 and 2009, the race was run over 2520m.

Light Vision won this race two years running in 2008 and 2009. Mourayan took top honours in 2011, while Araldo seized first place in 2013. Bart Cummings results since 2006 are provided below.

Bart Cummings Results

Year Place Horse Time
The Bart Cummings
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
The Bart Cummings
1st Let’s Make Adeal 2 minutes 35.6 seconds
2nd Our Ivanhowe
3rd Hawkspur
The Bart Cummings
1st Who Shot Thebarman 2 minutes 39.62 seconds
2nd Marksmanship
3rd Anudjawun
The Bart Cummings
1st Araldo 2 minutes 38.23 seconds
2nd Sea Moon
3rd Gotta Take Care
The Bart Cummings
1st Tanby 2 minutes 36.69 seconds
2nd Maluckyday
3rd Dame Claire
The Bart Cummings
1st Mourayan 2 minutes 40.78 seconds
2nd Niwot
3rd Showcause
The Bart Cummings
1st Harris Tweed 2 minutes 40.32 seconds
2nd Exceptionally
3rd Above Average
The Bart Cummings
1st Light Vision 2 minutes 38.76 seconds
2nd Miss Darcey
3rd Zacroona
The Bart Cummings
1st Light Vision 2 minutes 41.34 seconds
2nd Baughurst
3rd Zavite
The Bart Cummings
1st Dolphin Jo 2 minutes 39.06 seconds
2nd The Fuzz
3rd Light Vision
The Bart Cummings
1st Irazu 2 minutes 38.22 seconds
2nd Aznavour
3rd Bay Story