ATC Spring Stakes

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

The Newcastle Spring Stakes is a Group 3 event not known simply as the ATC Spring Stakesafter being moved from September (Newcastle) to February (Randwick) as part of Apollo Stakes Day.

2017 Spring Stakes Results

  • 1st: Invincible Gem
  • 2nd: Faraway Town
  • 3rd: Salsonic

The Spring Stakes – formerly the Newcastle Spring Stakes – is a Group 3 event previously run at Newcastle Racecourse in September but now part of Royal Randwick’s Apollo Stakes Day in early-mid February.

Open only to three year olds and run under set weights conditions, the  Spring Stakes is part of an early Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival meeting that is headlined by the $250,000 Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m).

Raced over 1600m, the Spring Stakes serves as a nice lead-up run to some of the tougher autumn races for three-year-olds including the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) at the same track and distance a fortnight later.

The 2017  Spring Stakes ran on Monday February 13, 2017 after the rescheduled Apollo Stakes Day meeting was postponed due to a heatwave.

Spring Stakes
Date: Monday February 13, 2017
Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: 3YO Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Spring Stakes Results

View the official 2017 Spring Stakes Results & Finishing Order below – following the link for more on the four length romp home by the filly Invincible Gem.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 13 INVINCIBLE GEM Kris Lees Brenton Avdulla 9 54.5kg $3.80F
2 12 FARAWAY TOWN Matthew Smith Tim Clark 3.8L 5 54.5kg $7.50
3 10 SALSONIC Jason Coyle Andrew Adkins (a) 4.2L 4 56.5kg $41
4 7 GAUGUIN (NZ) James Cummings Glyn Schofield 4.1L 2 56.5kg $5.50
5 3 FIRST APPROVAL Peter & Paul Snowden Tye Angland 6.6L 1 56.5kg $4.80
6 9 NEPEAN James Cummings Joshua Parr 7.3L 7 56.5kg $26
7 5 RIGHTEOUS MATE (NZ) Mark Newnham Tommy Berry 8.7L 3 56.5kg $17
8 4 ROYAL NAVY Peter & Paul Snowden Corey Brown 10.1L 8 56.5kg $5
9 1 CAPTAIN DUFFY Bjorn Baker Hugh Bowman 10.7L 10 56.5kg $12
10 8 THE GRANDSON (NZ) John P Thompson Jason Collett 12.7L 6 56.5kg $31
6 ALL IN RHYTHM Amanda Turner & Mauro Poletti Peter Wells 0
2 HENRY THE CREATETH Michael Freedman James Doyle 0
11 SEZANNE Chris Waller Jay Ford 0

2017 ATC Spring Stakes Field

The ATC Spring Stakes field is made up of a good selection of three-year-old autumn milers and is announced the Wednesday before Apollo Stakes Day.

2017 ATC Spring Stakes Nominations

The ATC Spring Stakes nominations are released the Monday of race week and will be published below as soon as available.

Newcastle Spring Stakes History

The Newcastle Spring Stakes was first won by Blazing Devil at its inaugural edition in 1984. Since then, the race has been claimed by a number of handy runners and the event has gradually developed into an important spring staging point for many horses and trainers.

Initially a listed race, the Spring Stakes received an upgrade to Group 3 in 1999 and has retained that status ever since. There is also a Group 3 event called the Spring Stakes that is run by the SAJC, however that is not to be confused with the Newcastle Spring Stakes. The SAJC event was renamed to the David R Coles AM Stakes in 2014.

The Newcastle Spring Stakes was not held in 2007 due to the equine influenza outbreak.

Notable Newcastle Spring Stakes winners include Royal pardon (1988), Shogun Lodge (1999), Universal Prince (2000), Clangalang (2002) and Darci Be Good (2011). Spring Stakes results and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

The race was not run in 2016 and known simply as the Spring Stakes 2017 having been moved to Royal Randwick in February as part of the autumn.

Newcastle Spring Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Spring Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Spring Stakes
1st Invincible Gem 1 minute 36.43 seconds
2nd Faraway Town
3rd Salsonic
Spring Stakes
1st Race Not Run (Schedule change to February)
Spring Stakes
1st Devil Hawk 1 minute 37.3 seconds
2nd Tatoosh
3rd Gold Ambition
Spring Stakes
1st Sweynesse 1 minute 38.2 seconds
2nd Pounamu
3rd Monteux
Spring Stakes
1st Savvy Nature 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd Wordplay
3rd Happy Clapper
Spring Stakes
1st Proisir 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd Trophies
3rd Proverb
Spring Stakes
1st Darci Be Good 1 minute 36.6 seconds
2nd Rekindled Alliance
3rd Ambidexter
Spring Stakes
1st Ilovethiscity 1 minute 37.0 seconds
2nd Giresun
3rd Heartsareforlove
Spring Stakes
1st Lovemelikearock 1 minute 38.9 seconds
2nd Viking Legend
3rd Euphemism
Spring Stakes
1st Sousa 1 minute 37.6 seconds
2nd Rhyno Chaser
3rd Back Off
Spring Stakes
Race Not Held  
Spring Stakes
1st Mearas 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Magic Jet
3rd Teranaba
Spring Stakes
1st Hotel Grand 1 minute 36.3 seconds
2nd Manton
3rd Flora Danica
Spring Stakes
1st Lotteria 1 minute 35.3 seconds
2nd Wenceslas Square
3rd Dane Shadow
Spring Stakes
1st Allgunadoit 1 minute 34.8 seconds
2nd Niello
3rd Danbird
Spring Stakes
1st Clangalang 1 minute 37.7 seconds
2nd Recruiting
3rd Takas
Spring Stakes
1st Magic Albert 1 minute 37.1 seconds
2nd Viscount
3rd Viking Ruler
Spring Stakes
1st Universal Prince 1 minute 35.95 seconds
2nd Phoenix Park
3rd Picholine

Spring Racing

Winx To Climb The Everest 2018...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes Winner

The well-supported, clear Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes 2018 favourite Written...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Horse Racing Today

2018 The Galaxy Final Field: J...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field