Maribyrnong Plate

The 2017 Maribyrnong Plate is a Group 3 sprint for two year olds held at Flemington Racecourse on Emirates Stakes Day at the end of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Maribyrnong Plate News

Aspect to be set for Autumn 2yo G1s after Maribyrnong Plate win

Aspect to be set for Autumn 2yo G1s after Maribyrnong Plate win

First starter Aspect will be set for the two year old Group 1 races in the Autumn after scoring an impressive win in the Group 3 $150,000 Maribyrnong Plate (1000m) at Flemington today. Melbourne Cup winning jockey Kerrin McEvoy settled Aspect ($12) behind the pack in the middle of the track before weaving his way…

The Group 3 2017 Maribyrnong Plate is a 1000m sprint held at Flemington Racecourse on Emirates Stakes Day on the first Saturday of November each Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Restricted to two year olds and run under set weights, the Maribyrnong Plate is an exciting test of sprinting skill. With $150,000 prize money, this is quite a lucrative race for the young ones who otherwise don’t have many dedicated black-type races during spring.

The Maribyrnong Plate shares a race schedule with a host of other black type events. These include the Group 1 $2 million Emirates Stakes (2000m) – formerly the Mackinnon Stakes, Group 1 $1 million Darley Classic (1200m), Group 2 $300,000 Matriarch Stakes (2000m) and the Group 3 $300,000 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m).

Two year olds generally target the Maribyrnong Plate following a few decent starts in events with similar conditions. While there aren’t a lot of lead up races, some fillies in this event may have previously targeted the Group 3 Ottawa Stakes (1000m) held at Flemington on Melbourne Cup Day, just four days before. Plenty of the juveniles in the Maribyrnong Plate are on debut, meaning any trial form is important for punters to keep an eye on.

Following the Maribyrnong Plate, horses will generally go for a spell to mature ahead of the autumn or the Listed Merson Cooper Stakes (1000m) at Sandown a week later might be an opportunity for some of the keener two year olds.

The 2017 Maribyrnong Plate will be run at Flemington on Saturday November 11, 2017 .

Maribyrnong Plate 2017
Date: Saturday November 11, 2017
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1000m
Race Type: 2YO Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Maribyrnong Plate Betting & Odds

See below for the latest Maribyrnong Plate odds, betting provided by with links to the markets to back your Maribyrnong Plate betting tips in at the right price.

2017 Maribyrnong Plate Field

The Maribyrnong Plate field attracts a fairly decent assortment of two year olds each year. Because the preparation of two year olds can differ so much, as can their racing experience, it can be very difficult to get a decent grasp on the form of the Maribyrnong Plate field.

The 2017 Maribyrnong Plate field is released on the Wednesday leading-up to Emirates Stakes Day with the full list of hopeful two-year-olds and the barrier draw to be published in full once announced.

The Maribyrnong Plate 2017 Final Field & Barriers originally drew a dozen two-year-olds before the early scratching of  Agent Pippa. Only the top five of the remaining runners have previous race experience, while the Tony McEvoy-trained Run Naan is the only non-maiden having won over the distance at Bendigo on October 21.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 2 BIONICS Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Chris Symons 10 57kg 68
2 73 GRAND CHALLENGE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Ben Melham 2 57kg 66
3 1 RUN NAAN Tony McEvoy Andrew Mallyon 6 57kg 63
4 3 ENCRYPTION James Cummings Damian Lane 8 57kg 66
5 6 SANGLIER James Cummings Dwayne Dunn 12 57kg 61
6 KING Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 1 57kg
7 NORTHERN VOYAGE Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 3 57kg
8 REALLY SWISH Leon & Troy Corstens Ben Thompson (a) 5 57kg
9 1 AGENT PIPPA Daniel & Ben Pearce (late alt) 7 55kg 65
10 BELZELLA Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 11 55kg
11 FINAL CHOICE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Nolen 4 55kg
12 RAISE THE ROOF Shane Nichols Beau Mertens (a) 9 55kg

Maribyrnong Plate History

The Maribyrnong Plate was inaugurated in 1871, with Argus Scandal taking out the initial edition of the race. The race has been held every year since then.

In 1994 the distance was adjusted to 1200m, then reduced to 1100m in 1995. In 1996 it returned to 1000m, which it has remained at since.

The Maribyrnong Plate once had Group 2 status, but was downgraded in 2005.

Because of its long history, the Maribyrnong Plate has seen its share of decent horses over the years. Some of the more notable Maribyrnong Plate winners include The Admiral (1889), Heroic (1923), Cellar Master (1951), Biscay (1967), Vain (1969) and Bel Esprit (2001). Maribyrnong Plate results since 2000 are provided below.

Maribyrnong Plate Results

Year Place Horse Time
Maribyrnong Plate
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Aspect 59.5 seconds
2nd Cao Cao
3rd Wait For No One
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Power Trip 58.8 seconds
2nd Flying Artie
3rd Gloriette
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Prompt Return 57.5 seconds
2nd Old Trieste
3rd Sailing By
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Boomwaa 59.4 seconds
2nd Lockroy
3rd Silent Whisper
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Direct Charge 58.3 seconds
2nd Crack A Roadie
3rd Shamus Award
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Real Stolle 57.7 seconds
2nd Andre Roo Hoo
3rd Magnus Reign
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Arctic Command 57.9 seconds
2nd Aashiq
3rd Running Tall
Maribyrnong Plate
1st General Truce 57.2 seconds
2nd Sweet Cheeks
3rd She’s Got Gears
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Our Joan Of Arc 58.3 seconds
2nd Zaffaan
3rd Happy Knockout
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Exceedingly Good 57.5 seconds
2nd Reaan
3rd Nato
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Husson Lightning 57.9 seconds
2nd Deferential
3rd Meurice
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Nadeem 57.5 seconds
2nd Follow The Till
3rd Bariagarney
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Jiang 1 minute 0.3 seconds
2nd Seidnazar
3rd Strikes Back
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Sanziro 58.2 seconds
2nd Love Jeddah
3rd Insurgents
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Ra Sun 58.3 seconds
2nd Pinchbeck
3rd Express Ball
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Bel Esprit 57.0 seconds
2nd Nessuno
3rd Cousy
Maribyrnong Plate
1st Langoustine 57.6 seconds
2nd Desert Angel
3rd Malagra Miss