BRC Sprint

BRC Sprint News

Artlee among nominations for 2016 QTC Cup

Artlee among nominations for 2016 QTC Cup

One time top Stradbroke Handicap fancy Artlee is among the nineteen nominations for Group 2 $175,000 MIRVAC QTC Cup (1300m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Artlee, above, is among the nominations for the QTC Cup at Eagle Farm. Photo by Steve Hart.

The QTC Cup is the last chance to gain a start in the Group 1 $1.5m AAMI Stradbroke ...

The 2016 BRC Sprint is a Group 3 race held each year at Doomben Racecourse during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. As one of the better lead up sprints of the carnival, the BRC Sprint attracts talent far in excess of its Group 3 status.

The 2016 BRC Sprint will be held on Saturday May 21, 2016.

Run over a distance of 1350m, the BRC Sprint is an option both for horses that excel at shorter sprints as well as mile runners. With a total purse of $125,000 ($80,000 to the victor), the BRC Sprint is a fairly lucrative race, particularly for local trainers who may otherwise be starved for high purses.

Known as the BTC Sprint up until 2009, the race was renamed to reflect the new Brisbane Racing Club, the result of an amalgamation of the Brisbane Turf Club and Queensland Turf Club. Held on Doomben Cup Day, the BRC Sprint runs alongside the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2020m), the Group 2 Doomben Roses (2020m), the Group 3 Fred Best Classic (1350m) and the Listed Lancaster Stakes (1200m) and Dalrello Stakes (1200m).

Run under quality handicap conditions, the race attracts a bevy of nominations and usually starts with a full field.

BRC Sprint Info:

Saturday May 21, 2016
Doomben Racecourse
Race Type:
Qlty Hcap
Group 3

2016 BRC Sprint Field

The BRC Sprint field is usually comprised of some top quality handicappers who have had a few runs around Brisbane tracks in the past. As it is held over 1350m, the BRC Sprint field is often made up of a mixture of milers and sprinters.

The 2016 BRC Sprint field is provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11541×9621 CHARMED HARMONY John Sadler Thomas Sadler (a) 11 59kg 105
2 x57523x200 ROCK STURDY Joseph Pride Hugh Bowman 7 58.5kg 104
3 739×123261 COOLRING Bjorn Baker Jeff Lloyd 8 56kg 99
4 111x39x937 ARTLEE Todd Willan Michael Cahill 3 55.5kg 98
5 26x118x358 BACHMAN Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 1 55.5kg 98
6 x7x0817242 SNIPPETS LAND Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 9 55kg 97
7 x104541221 RELIGIFY Chris Waller James McDonald 4 54.5kg 96
8 10x737662x TERONADO Bruce W Hill Glen Colless 5 54kg 89.5
9 4178x179x2 SURE AND FAST Paul Murray Jason Collett 2 54kg 88
10 x361111x13 TRUBIA Michael Lakey Jim Byrne 6 54kg 88
11 34332250×6 HARADA BAY John & Chris Meagher Robbie Fradd 12 54kg 87.5
12 58363×4517 ALDINI David Kelly Tim Clark 10 54kg 86
13 5163723112 TAN TAT DIAMOND Steven O’dea Paul Hammersley 13 54kg 84

2016 BRC Sprint Nominations

The BRC Sprint nominations are announced on the Monday prior to the race. Although it only holds Group 3 status, the BRC Sprint nominations draw some very talented horses from around the country, including many Queensland stables and some top interstate stables.

The 2016 BRC Sprint nominations will be published below.

BRC Sprint History

Following the merger of the Queensland Turf Club and the Brisbane Turf Club in 2009, the BTC Sprint became known as the BRC Sprint. First run in 1985, the race is old enough to have a solid reputation while still being relatively young. The BRC Sprint was a listed race for its first decade, upgrading to Group 3 for the 1996 edition and remaining at that grade since. Two trainers share the record for most races won, at two wins each: Walter Doolan and John Morish.

The fastest time around the BRC Sprint was made by Chief De Beers in 1998, at 1:17.5. Incidentally, Chief De Beers won 20 out of his 51 races, and he never won away from Doomben Racecourse.

The BRC Sprint was first run in 1985, when Final Affair seized a solid victory. BRC Sprint results since 2000 are below.

BRC Sprint Results





BRC Sprint
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
BRC Sprint
1st Snippets Land 1:18.0
2nd Religify
3rd Artlee
BRC Sprint
1st Charlie Boy 1:19.1
2nd Rock Sturdy
3rd Nite Rocker
BRC Sprint
1st River Lad 1:19.6
2nd Benny’s Buttons
3rd Fire Up Fifi
BRC Sprint
1st Belltone 1:19.5
2nd Mahisara
3rd Listen Son
BRC Sprint
1st Tiger Tees 1:18.7
2nd Meet George
3rd Steel Zip
BRC Sprint
1st Woorim 1:18.7
2nd Listen Son
3rd Thankgodyou’rehere
BRC Sprint
1st Beaded 1:18.9
2nd Secrets Untold
3rd Drenalin
BRC Sprint
1st Court Command 1:18.1
2nd El Cambio
3rd Hard To Catch
BRC Sprint
1st Helideck 1:18.2
2nd Absolut Glam
3rd Mr Hornblower
BRC Sprint
1st Friday Creek 1:18.5
2nd Mr Hornblower
3rd Son Of Dane
BRC Sprint
1st Hard To Catch 1:18.4
2nd Amex
3rd Consular
BRC Sprint
1st Ballet Society 1:17.9
2nd River To The Sea
3rd Recapitalize
BRC Sprint
1st True Glo 1:17.7
2nd Falkirk
3rd Patezza
BRC Sprint
1st Emission 1:17.9
2nd Cariboo
3rd Court Of Jewels
BRC Sprint
1st Carael Boy 1:18.1
2nd Make Mine Magic
3rd King Lotto
BRC Sprint
1st Zariz 1:18.3
2nd King Lotto
3rd Treasure The Kwila
BRC Sprint
1st Pleasure Giver 1:20.3
2nd Brighter Scene
3rd Narwong