Tramway Stakes

The 2016 Tramway Stakes is a Group 2 sprinting event held at Royal Randwick Racecourse in early September.

Tramway Stakes News

Tramway Stakes 2017 First-Up for Happy Clapper

Tramway Stakes 2017 First-Up for Happy Clapper

Pat Webster’s $2 million earner Happy Clapper could avoid a first-up Group 1 run in Melbourne and resume racing Saturday week in the 2017 Tramway Stakes at Royal Randwick. The Sydney-trained Teofilo seven-year-old hasn’t raced since a fifth to champion mare Winx in the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) back on April 8. Happy…

The 2016 Tramway Stakes is a 1400m Group 2 sprint held during late August or early September each year at Royal Randwick Racecourse. Open to horses aged three years old and over, the Tramway was forming a handicap race but is now run under set weights plus penalties.

The Tramway Stakes, previously called the Tramway Handicap, is held on Chelmsford Stakes Day and shares the race card with four other Group status races. These are the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes (1600m), the Group 2 Furious Stakes (1200m), the Group 3 Concorde Stakes (1000m) and the Group 3 Ming Dynasty Quality (1400m). Chelmsford Stakes Day really kicks off the action of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and results across the program serve as a good guide for upcoming Group 1 features of the festival.

Quite a few of horses in the Tramway Stakes field may have come via the Show County Quality two weeks earlier. Those horses that perform well in the Tramway Stakes might choose to target later races such as Randwick’s Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) a month later.

The Tramway Stakes 2016 will be run on Saturday September 3rd.

2016 Tramway Stakes
Date: September 3rd, 2016
Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Set Weights with Penalties
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Tramway Stakes Field

The 2016 Tramway Stakes field was announced by Racing NSW on Wednesday August 31 and is headlined by Kris Lees’ Randwick Guineas winner Le Romain who is sure to be high up the Tramway Stakes odds at

2016 Tramway Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tramway Stakes nominations were released on Monday August 29 and featured the likes of Randwick Guineas winner Le Romain and the returning John O’Shea-trained Hauraki.

Check out the full 2016 Tramway Stakes nominations now.

Tramway Stakes History

The inaugural edition of the Tramway Handicap – now the Tramway Stakes – was in 1886, with Burrilda becoming the first ever Tramway Handicap winner. The race location has varied between Royal Randwick and Warwick Farm over the years, with Rosehill hosting for one year in 2000 and the other two tracks changing variously (the location has changed seven times since 1984).

Initially a Principal Race, in 1978 the Tramway Stakes became a Listed race. It held this status until 1984, when it was upgraded to Group 3. Following the 2013 edition, the Tramway received a further upgrade to Group 2.

For the first 85 years of its existence, the Tramway Handicap was run over 7 furlongs. In 1972, this was rounded down slightly to 1400m to bring it in line with the Metric system. The race stayed at 1400m until the year 2000, when it was ran over 1350m. The next year it ran over 1300m. From 2002 onwards, the Tramway Stakes has returned to its 1400m race distance.

Notable Tramway Stakes winners include Pompous (1906), Amounis (1928), Rogilla (dead heat with Chatham in 1932’s first edition of the race), Shaftesbury Avenue (1990) and Rangirangdoo (2009). Tramway Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Tramway Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Tramway Handicap
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Tramway Handicap
1st Hauraki 1 minute 25.9 seconds
2nd Le Romain
3rd Dibayani
Tramway Handicap
1st Hooked 1 minute 24.4 seconds
2nd Ecuador
3rd Rudy
Tramway Handicap
1st Lucia Valentina 1 minute 26.6 seconds
2nd Tiger Tees
3rd Toydini
Tramway Handicap
1st Malavio 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Bello
3rd Royal Descent
Tramway Handicap
1st Tagus 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Kontiki Park
3rd Moment Of Time
Tramway Handicap
1st Sincero 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Secret Admirer
3rd Thankgodyou’rehere
Tramway Handicap
1st Neeson 1 minute 26.1 seconds
2nd Cannonball
3rd Herculian Prince
Tramway Handicap
1st Rangirangdoo 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Strat’s Flyer
3rd Murray’s Sun
Tramway Handicap
1st Bank Robber 1 minute 25.7 seconds
2nd Kick ‘N’ Chase
3rd Vecchia Roma
Tramway Handicap
1st Race Not Held
Tramway Handicap
1st Primus 1 minute 25.6 seconds
2nd Stormhill
3rd Flaming
Tramway Handicap
1st Shania Dane 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Lotteria
3rd Utzon
Tramway Handicap
1st Nips 1 minute 22.9 seconds
2nd West Country
3rd Desert War
Tramway Handicap
1st Sportsman 1 minute 21.8 seconds
2nd Britt’s Best
3rd Boreale
Tramway Handicap
1st Gordo 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Shot Of Thunder
3rd Universal Prince
Tramway Handicap
1st Diamond Dane 1 minute 18.3 seconds
2nd Maitland Gold
3rd Kootoomootoo
Tramway Handicap
1st Mr Innocent 1 minute 20.6 seconds
2nd Eau D’Scay
3rd Freemason