Queensland Guineas

The 2016 Queensland Guineas, a 3YO race over 1400m, is run at Doomben (Usually Eagle Farm) on QLD Oaks Day - Saturday 11th June 2016.

Queensland Guineas News

Good Standing Heads 2017 Fred Best Classic Nominations

Good Standing Heads 2017 Fred Best Classic Nominations

James Cummings’ highly-rated Sydney raider Good Standing is one of the early standouts among Saturday’s Fred Best Classic 2017 nominations for the Group 3 at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

Good Standing is one of the headline 2017 Fred Best Classic nominated three-year-olds for the Brisbane event this Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A key support act on the Kingsford-Smith Cup ...

The Group 2 Queensland Guineas 2016 is a 1400m event for all three year old horses and is worth $400,000 in prize money.

Held at Eagle Farm Racecourse in May, the 1400m event is a set weights race which is held on the Queensland Oaks Day. Featuring the $400,000 Group One Queensland Oaks, the day also hosts the $250,000 Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup and the $175,000 Group 2 QTC Cup.

The Queensland Guineas 2016 will be run on Saturday 11 June 2016.

Queensland Guineas
Date: Saturday 11 June 2016
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO Open Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize money: $400,000

2016 Queensland Guineas Field

The 2016 Queensland Guineas field is published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 15×3405125 TOO GOOD TO REFUSE Desleigh Forster Ryan Wiggins 17 57kg 82
2 205x1108x4 TIVACI Michael Moroney Damian Browne 6 57kg 84
3 144×162138 UNBREAKABLE John O’Shea James McDonald 3 57kg 78
4 x52211x212 ROYAL TUDOR Rodney Ollerton Christian Reith 1 57kg 76
5 8×22112230 HAVASAY Liam Birchley Zac Purton 10 57kg 72.5
6 70x11x2510 CASHING UP Barry Lockwood Michael Cahill 11 57kg 72.5
7 6x4226x103 PERFECT DARE Matthew Dunn Jim Byrne 2 57kg 76
8 x909x47111 INVINCIBLE KNIGHT John P Thompson Blake Shinn 20 57kg 75
9 1x7161x04 MR INDIVIDUAL Leon & Troy Corstens Damien Oliver 7 57kg 75
10 x1475x9340 SHOTACROSS THE BOW David Murphy Hugh Bowman 9 57kg 72.5
11 4223×172 HIGH SPIRIT Peter & Paul Snowden Tim Clark 16 57kg 66
12 51×201 RENEGED John P Thompson Tye Angland 4 57kg 71
13 12336×4203 KIMBERLEY STAR Gai Waterhouse Sam Clipperton 8 55kg 86
14 1231339526 DENMAGIC David Pfieffer Tommy Berry 18 55kg 79
15 121×220 SOLD FOR SONG Kevin Kemp James Orman (a) 21 55kg 82
16 221×980408 INDARRA (NZ) Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 19 55kg 69
17 2612×11 TSARITSA Chris Waller Joao Moreira 12 55kg 79.5
18 50x59x8581 TYPING Stuart Kendrick Jeff Lloyd 15 55kg 74
19e 3×13523 FIFE Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 13 55kg 65
20e x0621x2013 PASSION IN FLIGHT Gary Hineman Ms Tegan Harrison 5 55kg 62
21e 6×11 SALMANAZAR Tony Gollan 14 57kg 65

2016 Queensland Guineas Nominations

Queensland Guineas History

First raced in 1896 and won by College Cap, the Queensland Guineas was originally an 8 Furlong Principal race until 1973 when it was changed to 1600m. Shortly after in 1979 the race was elevated to Group 3 status until 1988 when it was once again raised to Group Two status. The Queensland Guineas was not held from 1942 to 1945, 1983 or in 1996. The fastest winning time since 1988 was recorded by Sizzling in 2013 with 1 minute 24.3 seconds while the slowest time was 1 minute 43.8 seconds by Insecure in 1998.

In 2013 the Queensland Guineas moved race days, from Stradbroke Handicap Day to Queensland Oaks Day. The race distance was also changed from 1600m to 1400m.

Queensland Guineas Results

Queensland Guineas results since 2000 are listed below.

Year Place Horse Time
Queensland Guineas
1st Tsaritsa 1 minute 34.13 seconds
2nd Denmagic
3rd Sold For Song
Queensland Guineas
1st Jabali 1 minute 34.61 seconds
2nd Bachman
3rd Merion
Queensland Guineas
1st Sir Moments 1 minute 23.0 seconds
2nd Liberty’s Choice
3rd Ryker
Queensland Guineas
1st Sizzling 1 minute 24.3 seconds
2nd Dances On Stars
3rd Lucky Hussler
Queensland Guineas
1st Pear Tart 1 minute 26.1 seconds
2nd Free Wheeling
3rd Stradon
Queensland Guineas
1st Torio’s Quest 1 minute 35.4 seconds
2nd Benny’s Buttons
3rd Spot The Rock
Queensland Guineas
1st Rothesay 1 minute 33.7 seconds
2nd Launay
3rd Fifteen Carat
Queensland Guineas
1st Express Air 1 minute 39.8 seconds
2nd Marveen
3rd La Etoile
Queensland Guineas
1st Turffontein 1 minute 40.4 seconds
2nd Royal Discretion
3rd Pepperwood
Queensland Guineas
1st Sequential Charm 1 minute 35.5 seconds
2nd J Adane
3rd Danleigh
Queensland Guineas
1st Nova Star 1 minute 36.5 seconds
2nd Fashions Afield
3rd Funlove
Queensland Guineas
1st Saxon 1 minute 35.9 seconds
2nd Hit The Road
3rd Special Times
Queensland Guineas
1st Winning Belle 1 minute 40.3 seconds
2nd Toulouse Lautrec
3rd Little Punc
Queensland Guineas
1st True Glo 1 minute 33.3 seconds
2nd Sportsman
3rd King Of Them All
Queensland Guineas
1st Regent Street 1 minute 35.6 seconds
2nd Galroof
3rd Deuxienne
Queensland Guineas
1st Heroism 1 minute 34.3 seconds
2nd Yoruba
3rd Pimpala Player
Queensland Guineas
1st Magnifier 1 minute 34.8 seconds
2nd Fairway
3rd Make Mine Magic