Phar Lap Stakes

The 2017 Phar Lap Stakes (1500m) is a Group 2 race held at Rosehill in March during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Phar Lap Stakes News

Copy book ride by McDonald sees Old North win the Tulloch Stakes

Copy book ride by McDonald sees Old North win the Tulloch Stakes

A copy book ride by James McDonald saw Old North score a comfortable win in the Group 2 $175,000 Tulloch Stakes (2000m) at Rosehill today.

Old North could have booked himself a place in the Australian Derby after winning the Tulloch Stakes at Rosehill. Photo by Steve Hart.

Trainer John O’Shea  now has the option of running  Old North in ...

The 2017 Phar Lap Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in early – mid March. Open to three year old horses, the 1500m middle distance event is a set weights race which means that all colts and geldings must carry 56.5kg while fillies have a 2kg allowance of 54.5kg. Worth $200,000 in prize money, the Phar Lap Stakes is held on the Coolmore Classic Day which offers several Group 1 and 2 races.

The biggest race on the day is the $600,000 Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) for fillies and mares.

Along with the Phar Lap Stakes the other major support acts on the card include the Group 2 Ajax Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Magic Night Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Pago Pago Stakes (1200m).

Three-year-olds many come into the Phar Lap Stakes off a run in the previous weekend’s Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) or a non-Black Type lead up during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Many of the horses out of the Phar Lap Stakes field will continue onto the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes (2000m) back at Rosehill at the end of March before targeting a Royal Randwick win during ‘The Championships’ in the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m).

The Phar Lap Stakes 2017 will run on March 11.

Phar Lap Stakes
Date: March 11, 2017
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Race Type: 3YO Open Set Weights C&G 56.5kg F 54.5kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2017 Phar Lap Stakes Field

The final field and barrier draw for the Phar Lap Stakes 2017 will be published here once it has been announced on Wednesday March 8, 2017.

2017 Phar Lap Stakes Nominations

The Phar Lap Stakes nominations close the Monday before Coolmore Classic Day and feature a host of potential Australian Derby runners later in the autumn.

The official 2017 Phar Lap Stakes nominations will be published below once released by Racing NSW on Monday March 6, 2017.

Phar Lap Stakes History

The Phar Lap Stakes is named after legendary horse Phar Lap who dominated Australian Racing during his time on the track that included the 1930 Melbourne Cup win.

For one year in 2008 the Group 2 race was held at Canterbury and raced over 1550m.

Phar Lap Stakes Winners

Plenty of star three-year-olds have dominated the Phar Lap Stakes results in recent years including Apache Cat (2006) and Winx (2015) who would go on to etch her name in the history books with a stunning succession of Group 1 wins including two victories in the Cox Plate.

See below for the full list of Phar Lap Stakes winners going back to 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
Phar Lap Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Hattori Hanzo 1 minute 29.9 seconds
2nd Man Of Choice
3rd Believe
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 30.26 seconds
2nd Hauraki
3rd Supara
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Traitor 1 minute 29.47 seconds
2nd Define
3rd Guelph
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Toydini 1 minute 28.98 seconds
2nd Ninth Legion
3rd Force Command
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Colorado Claire 1 minute 32.29 seconds
2nd Rekindled Alliance
3rd Wild And Proud
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Blackie 1 minute 30.0 seconds
2nd Fast Clip
3rd Sworn To Secrecy
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Tickets 1 minute 29.68 seconds
2nd Al Dhafra
3rd Descarado
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Heart Of Dreams 1 minute 29.95 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Predatory Pricer
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Acey Ducey 1 minute 32.12 seconds
2nd Voice Commander
3rd Our Mosstique
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Just Mambo 1 minute 31.69 seconds
2nd Raheeb
3rd Amory Lane
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 30.64 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Wasp
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Shania Dane 1 minute 32.12 seconds
2nd Al Maher
3rd Svenska
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Only Words 1 minute 28.49 seconds
2nd Kingside
3rd Skittles
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Thorn Park 1 minute 28.6 seconds
2nd Sportsman
3rd Bumptious
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Arlington Road 1 minute 30.45 seconds
2nd Ugachaka
3rd Gordo
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Maitland Gold 1 minute 27.86 seconds
2nd Star Satire
3rd Glenrowan
Phar Lap Stakes
1st Lord Essex 1 minute 28.82 seconds
2nd Dangerous
3rd Over