Doomben Roses

The Group 2 Doomben Roses (2000m) will be held in May at Doomben Racecourse during the Brisbane Carnival.

Doomben Roses News

2016 Queensland Oaks Field and Barrier Draw

2016 Queensland Oaks Field and Barrier Draw

A talented and capacity field of eighteen plus four emergencies has been confirmed for Saturday’s 2016 Group 1 Queensland Oaks (2400m) at Eagle Farm Racecourse; highlighted by the inclusion of some of the Brisbane Winter Carnival’s standout three-year-old fillies.

Kebede has been confirmed in the 2016 Queensland Oaks final field. Photo: Daniel Costello

Kebede stormed home to win Group ...

The 2016 Doomben Roses is held annually in May as part of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Usually hosted at Doomben Racecourse, the 2016 Doomben Roses pays a total of $175,000 in prize money, with $112,000 going to the winner.

Raced over 2000m, the Doomben Roses is run under set weights conditions and is open to three-year-old fillies. Due to its fillies-only basis, the Doomben Roses is often used by trainers as a good lead up race to later events in the Brisbane Racing Carnival.

The Doomben Roses was upgraded to a Group 2 event for the 2014 edition, having previously been run as a Group 3 race since 2003.

Doomben Roses
Date: May 2016
Track: Doomben Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Fillies Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Doomben Roses Field

The 2016 Doomben Roses field will be finalised and published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11313×8502 AMBIENCE John O’Shea James McDonald 4 56.5kg 98
2 013x90x081 LOOK TO THE STARS David Vandyke Blake Spriggs 5 56.5kg 87
3 21×111 IMPOSING LASS (NZ) Bjorn Baker Jason Collett 18 56.5kg 82
4 180×667320 ALASKAN ROSE (NZ) Michael Moroney Robbie Fradd 16 56.5kg 77
5 31×4512492 SELF ESTEEM Peter & Paul Snowden Tim Clark 14 56.5kg 81
6 346×511326 QUEEN OF WANDS Clarry Conners Michael Cahill 12 56.5kg 79
7 62314×0005 DAWNIE PERFECT Clarry Conners Kerrin McEvoy 13 56.5kg 79.5
8 4x25210x40 SEBRING SALLY Chris Waller Glen Colless 11 56.5kg 74
9 31331×562 CHANDANA Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 10 56.5kg 74
10 4x82x11143 KEBEDE Matthew Dunn Jim Byrne 9 56.5kg 73
11 22×12144 FALKENBERG Peter & Paul Snowden Damian Browne 6 56.5kg 73
12 61055×66 DULVERTON Robert Smerdon Thomas Sadler (a) 1 56.5kg 64
13 112×84 BACKSTREET LOVER Jason Warren Paul Hammersley 3 56.5kg 68
14 8x4x18x323 THEMIS Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 21 56.5kg 68
15 13×461491 MYSTIC OPAL Chris Anderson Brad Stewart 17 56.5kg 67
16 2111 LYRICIST Toby Edmonds Jeff Lloyd 7 56.5kg 70
17e x60x622x31 SAHARA SIREN Alan L Jones James Orman (a) 19 56.5kg 67
18e 6x0621x201 PASSION IN FLIGHT QTIS Bonus Scheme Gary Hineman Ms Tegan Harrison 15 56.5kg 62
19e 44×46337 ZASORCERESS (NZ) Jason Warren 2 56.5kg
20e 114L3 ROMANTIC MAID Roger James 20 56.5kg 68
21e 10×09 ZAFIKI (NZ) Robert Smerdon 8 56.5kg 62

2016 Doomben Roses Nominations

The Doomben Roses nominations are usually announced on the Monday before race day. Quite a few decent horses enter the Doomben Roses nominations, and it’s usually worth checking them out early on.

The 2016 Doomben Roses nominations will be provided below.

Doomben Roses History

By normal horse racing standards the Doomben Roses is a relatively new race. Established in 1996, the Doomben Roses has grown rapidly in prominence, achieving Group 3 status within 9 years (1996) and Group 2 status in 18 years (2014).

From 2010 onwards the race has been known simply as The Roses, however it is still commonly referred to as the Doomben Roses. While ever it remains at Doomben that is likely to be the case, however 2014’s carnival shake-up and the increased prominence of The Championships in Sydney might force a change to Eagle Farm racecourse, which shares the Brisbane Racing Carnival with Doomben.

The Doomben Roses was initially raced over 1625m, dropping back to 1615m in 1997, and then remaining at a steady 2020m from 1998 until 2011. Since 2012 the race has been 2000m.

Many horses who race in the Doomben Roses go on to compete in the Queensland Oaks (2400m), the premier staying event for fillies in Queensland. Only two fillies have won the Doomben Roses-Queensland Oaks double; Ethereal (2001) and Scarlett Lady (2011).

Two trainers, Roger James and Graeme Rogerson, have entered winning contestants into the Doomben Roses twice.

Doomben Roses results since 2000 are listed below.

Doomben Roses Results

Year Place Horse Time
Doomben Roses
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Doomben Roses
1st Kebede 2 minutes 2.5 seconds
2nd Sebring Sally
3rd Imposing Lass
Doomben Roses
1st Bohemian Lily 2 minutes 04.08 seconds
2nd Col ‘N’ Lil
3rd Whatalovelyday
Doomben Roses
1st Arabian Gold 2 minutes 3.08 seconds
2nd Tinto
3rd Tornado Miss
Doomben Roses
1st Dear Demi 2 minutes 5.36 seconds
2nd Gondokoro
3rd Vaquera
Doomben Roses
1st Invest 2 minutes 4.17 seconds
2nd Miss Artistic
3rd Scorpio Queen
Doomben Roses
1st Scarlett Lady 2 minutes 4.0 seconds
2nd Savannah’s Choice
3rd Divorces
Doomben Roses
1st Marheta 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Femina Fashion
3rd Dariana
Doomben Roses
1st Awesome Planet 2 minutes 4.3 seconds
2nd Ekstreme
3rd Purple
Doomben Roses
1st Heavenly Glow 2 minutes 5.5 seconds
2nd Pentacity
3rd Miss Maren
Doomben Roses
1st Lasoron 2 minutes 3.0 seconds
2nd My Lady’s Chamber
3rd Eskimo Queen
Doomben Roses
1st Gaze 2 minutes 3.5 seconds
2nd Upstaged
3rd Zenarta
Doomben Roses
1st Cinque Cento 2 minutes 4.0 seconds
2nd Ponte Piccolo
3rd Fiery Sunset
Doomben Roses
1st Natural Woman 2 minutes 4.3 seconds
2nd Charmview
3rd Imana
Doomben Roses
1st The Jewel 2 minutes 4.9 seconds
2nd Crianca
3rd Domielle
Doomben Roses
1st Palidamah 2 minutes 1.9 seconds
2nd Faiza
3rd Quays
Doomben Roses
1st Ethereal 2 minutes 4.3 seconds
2nd Life Is Beautiful
3rd Dandify
Doomben Roses
1st Avilde 2 minutes 5.4 seconds
2nd Miss Zoe
3rd Citirecruit