Ajax Stakes

Ajax Stakes News

Queen Elizabeth Option for 2016 Ajax Stakes Winner It’s Somewhat

Queen Elizabeth Option for 2016 Ajax Stakes Winner It’s Somewhat

Trainer John O’Shea will give serious consideration to a 2016 Queen Elizabeth Stakes bid next month with It’s Somewhat after the import won the Ajax Stakes on Coolmore Classic Day.

Ajax Stakes winner It’s Somewhat could target Randwick’s 2016 Queen Elizabeth Stakes during ‘The Championships’ in April. Photo: Steve Hart.

In the third win for Godolphin at Rosehill Gardens...

The 2016 Ajax Stakes is a 1500m quality handicap clash run during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The minimum weight is 52kg while some horses may have to carry up to 61kg. Held at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in March on Rosehill Guineas Day the Ajax Stakes offers $175,000 in prize money.

The Group 2 Ajax Stakes is considered a lead-up event to the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap (1600m) held three weeks later. The Ajax Stakes / Doncaster Handicap double has been won most recently by Grand Armee in 2003.

The Ajax Stakes 2016 will be run on Saturday March 12th, 2016.

Ajax Stakes
Date: March 12th, 2016
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Race Type: Quality Handicap (Low: 52kg – High: 61kg)
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000

2016 Ajax Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x9607x3310 BIG MONEY Rodney Northam Robert Thompson 11 59kg 107
2 533x652x44 GENERALIFE John O’Shea James McDonald 5 58.5kg 106
3 11x572217x EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 13 58kg 105
4 7x123121x3 GOOD PROJECT Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 15 57.5kg 104
5 19x87x23x6 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 14 57.5kg 104
6 27x57523x2 ROCK STURDY Joseph Pride Jason Collett 2 57.5kg 104
7 x10042x5x8 KOOL KOMPANY (IRE) Chris Waller Tye Angland 6 57kg 103
8 2x249000x9 WEARY (FR) Chris Waller Tommy Berry 1 57kg 103
9 x000820x03 PUCCINI (NZ) Darren Weir Brett Prebble 3 55.5kg 100
10 154x11947x SADLER’S LAKE Chris Waller Tim Clark 7 55.5kg 100
11 1180×05052 RED EXCITEMENT Gerald Ryan Jay Ford 9 55kg 99
12 0x3320099x RUDY Helen Page Thomas Huet 4 55kg 99
13 250513310x CASINO DANCER Mike Van Gestel Ms Winona Costin (a) 10 53.5kg 100
14 35649×0243 DANCES ON STARS (NZ) Gerald Ryan Christian Reith 8 53.5kg 96
15 7x60x7x139 ALPHA BEAT Anthony Cummings Daniel Moor 12 53kg 86

Ajax Stakes History

The first recorded running of the Ajax Stakes took place in 1976 and was won by Count Rajan. Since then, there have only been two horses to win the event twice, Confiscate in 1998-99 and Catalan Opening in 1996-97. The fastest recorded winning time since 1990 was 1 minute 27.38 seconds by Soho Square in 1993. The slowest winning time was recorded by Windsor’s Pal in 1990.

The Ajax Stakes is named in honour of the Australian Hall of Fame horse Ajax. Ajax was a champion chestnut colt who won 18 races in succession and had a career of 43 starts for 36 wins, 7 seconds and 2 thirds with total prize money of £40,250. His major wins include the 1938 Cox Plate as well as the All Aged Stakes (1938, 1939, 1940), Memsie Stakes (1938, 1939, 1940), Futurity Stakes (1938, 1939, 1940) and Underwood Stakes (1938, 1939, 1940).

Recent Ajax Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Ajax Stakes
1st It’s Somewhat 1 minute 28.1 seconds
2nd Excess Knowledge
3rd Dances On Stars
Ajax Stakes
1st First Seal 1 minute 22.9 seconds
2nd Supara
3rd Slightly Sweet
Ajax Stakes
1st Messene 1 minutes 28.1 seconds
2nd Weary
3rd Malavio
Ajax Stakes
1st Havana Rey 1 minutes 29.6 seconds
2nd Riva De Lago
3rd Monton
Ajax Stakes
1st Niagara 1 minutes 28.8 seconds
2nd Star of Octagonal
3rd Alma’s Fury
Ajax Stakes
1st Pureness 1 minutes 30.4 seconds
2nd Mentality
3rd Lebrechaun
Ajax Stakes
1st Brilliant Light 1 minute 28.53 seconds
2nd Centennial Park
3rd Mentality
Ajax Stakes
1st Zavite 1 minute 28.75 seconds
2nd Kerdem
3rd Banana Man
Ajax Stakes
1st All Silent 1 minute 29.17 seconds
2nd Friday Creek
3rd Bobadah
Ajax Stakes
1st High Cee 1 minute 29.73 seconds
2nd Danleigh
3rd The Free Stater
Ajax Stakes
1st Malcolm 1 minute 28.7 seconds
2nd Lantwin
3rd Utzon
Ajax Stakes
1st River To The Sea 1 minute 27.75 seconds
2nd Daniel’s The Man
3rd This Manshood
Ajax Stakes
1st True Glo 1 minute 28.74 seconds
2nd Gordo
3rd So Assertive
Ajax Stakes
1st Grand Armee 1 minute 28.42 seconds
2nd Lord Essex
3rd Carael Boy
Ajax Stakes
1st Mowerman 1 minute 27.91 seconds
2nd Make Me A Miracle
3rd Gordo
Ajax Stakes
1st Galiano 1 minute 27.7 seconds
2nd Palladium Star
3rd Emission
Ajax Stakes
1st Normal Practice 1 minute 28.43 seconds
2nd Beauchamp
3rd Old Man