Winter Stakes

The Winter Stakes is now known as the Tattersall's Tiara - See our Tattersall's Tiara page for the latest news and info.

The 2015 Winter Stakes, now known as the Tattersall’s Tiara, is the final Group 1 race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and features the best fillies and mares from both locally and interstate. Run by the Tattersall’s Racing Club at Eagle Farm Racecourse in the cooler month of June, the 1400m weight-for-age Winter Stakes is normally won by the stronger competitors of the race.

Offering half a million dollars in prize money, the Group 1 Winter Stakes is preceded by the Group 3 Dane Ripper Quality (1400m) held a fortnight earlier. The last horse to win both the Dane Ripper Quality / Winter Stakes double was Tripping in 1996.

The 2015 Winter Stakes will be run on Saturday June 20, 2015.

2015 Winter Stakes (Tattersall’s Tiara)
Date: June 20, 2015
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

Winter Stakes History

The Winter Stakes is a relatively new race first held in 1989 when La Posette won with a time of 1:29.5. Since then only one horse has managed to win the Winter Stakes twice; Bonanova in 1999 and 2000. In 2011 the race name was changed to the Tattersall’s Tiara.

The fastest winning time recorded was by the great mare Mamzelle Pedrille in 1995 with 1 minute 19.3 seconds. The slowest recorded winning time was by famous sprinter Dane Ripper in 1997 with 1 minute 34.1 seconds.

Recent Winter Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Winter Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Winter Stakes
1st Cosmic Endeavour 1 minutes 22.03 seconds
2nd Angel Of Mercy
3rd Avoid Lightning
Winter Stakes
1st Red Tracer 1 minutes 24.2 seconds
2nd Streama
3rd Floria
Winter Stakes
1st Pear Tart 1 minutes 23.3 seconds
2nd Skyerush
3rd Gai’s Choice
Winter Stakes
1st Yosei 1 minutes 22.2 seconds
2nd Beaded
3rd Born To Rock
Winter Stakes
1st Melito 1 minute 21.83 seconds
2nd Wealth Princess
3rd Beaded
Winter Stakes
1st Russeting 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Prima Nova
3rd Subtle Cove
Winter Stakes
1st Grand Journey 1 minute 24 seconds
2nd Fritzs Princess
3rd Alverta
Winter Stakes
1st Nova Star 1 minute 22 seconds
2nd Fashions Afield
3rd J Adane
Winter Stakes
1st La Sizeranne 1 minute 31.2 seconds
2nd Gee I Jane
3rd Villa Bled
Winter Stakes
1st Charmview 1 minute 28.9 seconds
2nd Tui Song
3rd Yvonne
Winter Stakes
1st Miss Potential 1 minute 28.1 seconds
2nd Paraca
3rd Rodrigo Rose
Winter Stakes
1st Mon Mekki 1 minute 27.7 seconds
2nd With My
3rd Recurring
Winter Stakes
1st Heptonstall 1 minute 28.6 seconds
2nd Princess Clang
3rd Omens
Winter Stakes
1st Porto Roca 1 minute 28.7 seconds
2nd Dynamic Love
3rd Heather
Winter Stakes
1st Bonanova 1 minute 28.6 seconds
2nd Crestfallen
3rd Stella Maree

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field