Epsom Handicap Results

2020 Epsom Handicap Results

  • 1st: TBD
  • 2nd: TBD
  • 3rd: TBD

Epsom Handicap results play an important role in betting on future races over the Sydney and Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Winners of the Epsom Handicap often go on to win other events throughout the racing season including in 2015 when Winx backed-up and took out Melbourne’s weight-for-age Cox Plate next start.

Some champions have even produced consecutive Epsom Handicap wins including Desert War (2004, 2005) and Super Impose (1990, 1991).  Apart from the initial desire to know whether your favoured horse won, the Epsom Handicap results also list the exact Epsom Handicap finishing order, starting prices on all runners, the winning jockey / trainer, winning time and margins.

Online bookmakers that specialise in horse racing such as Ladbrokes.com.au are the first to give you not just detailed information on each Epsom Handicap participant, but the Epsom Handicap results as well.

2020 Epsom Handicap Results

The official Epsom Handicap 2020 Results & Finishing Order will be provided below once the race takes place on Saturday October 3, 2020.

Past Epsom Handicap Results

It is true that past Epsom Handicap winners have gone on to defend their title in the following year, but what is most important when studying the Epsom Handicap results is the lead up races. Thanks to the popularity of the Epsom Handicap, each competing horse will race in several smaller events in the weeks and months leading up it. This means that looking at past Epsom Handicap results isn’t your only option when deciding on who to back.

If you are looking for information on horses in addition to the Epsom Handicap results, an online bookmaker will be able to provide you with the results from previous races.

A lot of the time, especially when a big event such as the Epsom Handicap is coming up, the online bookie will create an Epsom Handicap form guide that includes analyses of each competing horse, including the results from their most recent events.

So the trick to figuring out which horses to back lies in not just the Epsom Handicap results from previous years, but information and race results from events in the weeks leading up to the Epsom Handicap.

Epsom Handicap Winners

While the winners from previous years may not always perform at the same level the following season, there is some worth in keeping an eye on recent Epsom Handicap winners.
The Epsom Handicap is an excellent example of how important previous race winners can be when deciding which horse to back. There have been several Epsom Handicap winners that have gone on to win the title in consecutive years.

The famous two-time Cox Plate-winning stallion Chatham picked up back-to-back Epsom Handicap wins in 1932 and 1933, while Australian Racing Hall of Famer Super Impose dominated the early 1990s with consecutive Epsom Handicap victories.

More recently, the Gai Waterhouse-trained Desert War managed to gain plenty of attention for winning the Epsom Handicap not once, but twice (2004, 2005) – both times returning massive payouts for the supporting punters.

The standout Epsom Handicap winner in the past decade is mighty mare Winx (2015) whose career included four Cox Plate victories.

In 2018 there was an upset Epsom Handicap victory by Hartnell who won the race at big odds in a record time of 1:32.73.

The 2019 Epsom Handicap results saw the two co-favourites in betting Kolding and Te Akau Shark run the quinella. The results from that year’s race were later franked with the winner Kolding going on to take out the inaugural running of the $7.5 million The Golden Eagle.

Epsom Handicap results can provide bettors with that extra edge when deciding who to back in the upcoming race, to be sure to use an online bookmaker like Ladbrokes.com.au when making a wager on the next big race.

Recent Epsom Handicap Results

Year First Second Third Time
2019 Kolding Te Akau Shark Star Of The Seas 1:34.80
2018 Hartnell D’Argento Unforgotten 1:32.73 (R)
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne Snitzon 1:33.1
2016 Hauraki Dibaynai Mackintosh 1:33.8
2015 Winx Ecuador Sons Of John 1:34.50
2014 He’s Your Man Royal Descent Hooked 1:33.34
2013 Boban Streama Toydini 1:34.43
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rolling Pin 1:34.56
2011 Secret Admirer Pinker Pinker Red Tracer 1:35.59
2010 Captain Sonador Trusting Sacred Choice 1:34.1
2009 Rock Kingdom Rangirangdoo Road To Rock 1:38.6
2008 Theseo Bank Robber Gallant Tess 1:36.2
2007 Race not held
2006 Racing To Win Desert War Malcolm 1:35.1
2005 Desert War Johan’s Toy Lotteria 1:34.5
2004 Desert War Our Egyptian Raine Tsuimai 1:37.2
2003 Clangalang Grand Armee Forum Floozie 1:35.2
2002 Excellerator Kingsgate Gordo 1:35.5
2001 Final Fantasy Kingsgate Crawl 1:22.5
2000 Shogun Lodge Landsighting Chinhoyi 1:33.5

Note that the race was not run in 2007 due to the Equine influenza outbreak.

Spring Racing

Tagaloa On Track for 2020 Caul...

Maher To Have Crack at 2020 Me...

Maher To Have Crack at 2020 Melbourne Cup

Top Victorian horseman Ciaron Maher hopes there is enough time to get the...

The Kosciuszko 2020 Target for...

The Kosciuszko 2020 Target for All Victorian Sprint Final Winner Lord Von Costa

The Donna Scott-trained Lord Von Costa could be headed for the $1.3 million...

Magic Millions Classic Favouri...

Magic Millions Classic Favourite Blondeau Heads 2019 BJ McLachlan Stakes Odds

Chris Waller’s co-favourite in early markets on the $2 million Magic Millions...

Ballarat Cup 2019 Results: Kiw...

Ballarat Cup 2019 Results: Kiwia Goes Back-to-Back

Trainer Archie Alexander was over the moon with the surprise 2019 Ballarat Cup...

Horse Racing Today

Glasshouse Handicap 2020 Winne...

Winx Guineas Results 2020: Wap...

Winx Guineas Results 2020: Wapiti Wins For The Punters

It was a huge 2020 Winx Guineas result for local Sunshine Coast trainer Gary...

2020 Sir John Monash Stakes Wi...

2020 Sir John Monash Stakes Winner Jungle Edge Too Good Again

The punters came late for Mick Bell’s veteran mudlark Jungle Edge in the Group...

2020 Winter Stakes Results: No...

2020 Winter Stakes Results: Noble Boy Back to Winning Form

Patience paid off for Sydney trainer Clare Cunningham at Rosehill Gardens on...

2020 Winter Stakes Day: Rosehi...

2020 Winter Stakes Day: Rosehill Scratchings & Track Report

The Sydney Winter Racing Carnival action continues with Winter Stakes Day 2020...

Race Results

Glasshouse Handicap 2020 Winner Krone To Target Magic Millions In The Summer

Winx Guineas Results 2020: Wapiti Wins For The Punters

2020 Sir John Monash Stakes Winner Jungle Edge Too Good Again

2020 Winter Stakes Results: Noble Boy Back to Winning Form

Grafton Cup 2020 Results: Top Weight Proves No Problem for Sixties Groove

Race Previews

Trumbull Tops 2020 Winter Stakes Field & Odds

2020 Glasshouse Handicap Field & Betting: Soxagon Nears Odds-On

Star Of Michelin Guides 2020 Winx Guineas Field & Betting

Grafton Cup 2020 Betting Update: Frankely Awesome Scratched

2020 Sir John Monash Stakes Field & Betting: Viridine Short Favourite

Fields & Form

2020 Winter Stakes Day: Rosehill Scratchings & Track Report

Sir John Monash Stakes Day 2020: Caulfield Scratchings & Track Report

2020 Winx Guineas Day: Sunshine Coast Scratchings & Track Report

Trumbull Tops 2020 Winter Stakes Field & Odds

2020 Glasshouse Handicap Field & Betting: Soxagon Nears Odds-On