Emirates Stakes Results

2017 Emirates Stakes Results

  • 1st: #4 Tosen Stardom
  • 2nd: #1 Happy Clapper
  • 3rd: #2 It's Somewhat

2017 Emirates Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Weight SP
1 4 TOSEN STARDOM (JPN) Darren Weir Damian Lane 4 59kg $6.50
2 1 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Blake Shinn 1.5L 5 59kg $8
3 2 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) James Cummings Brenton Avdulla 1.7L 10 59kg $18
4 13 THE TAJ MAHAL (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham 1.8L 2 57.5kg $16
5 7 FOLKSWOOD (GB) Charlie Appleby Kerrin McEvoy 1.9L 13 59kg $3.60F
6 15 CLIFF’S EDGE Darren Weir Dean Yendall 2.1L 9 51kg $6.50
7 9 HARLEM (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 2.3L 7 59kg $31
8 11 ODEON (NZ) Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Chris Symons 2.5L 3 58.5kg $14
9 5 SENSE OF OCCASION Kris Lees Corey Brown 2.7L 6 59kg $51
10 12 SO SI BON Robbie Laing Noel Callow 3.2L 1 58.5kg $61
11 3 GAILO CHOP (FR) Darren Weir John Allen 3.3L 8 59kg $8
12 14 SAMOVARE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 4.05L 12 56.5kg $51
SB 10 GINGERNUTS (NZ) Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards Michael Dee 11 58.5kg
8 SIR ISAAC NEWTON (GB) Robert Hickmott Luke Currie 0
6 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) Chris Waller Michael Walker 0

The 2017 Emirates Stakes results will be known when the Melbourne Cup Carnival feature runs on Saturday November 11, 2017 . 

The Group 1 $2 million Emirates Stakes (2000m) is a weight-for-age showdown previously run as the Mackinnon Stakes on Derby Day. It is now run and won on the first Saturday of November – the last of the Flemington Cup Carnival race days – four days after the Melbourne Cup.

The Emirates Stakes results over the past decade have been dominated by single-figure fancies in the Emirates Stakes betting markets, although the favourites don’t have the best record saluting for the punters during that time.

When referring to the Emirates Stakes results up until 2016, it is really the Mackinnon Stakes results you’re analysing.

The old Emirates Stakes is now run on Victoria Derby Day as the Group 1 Kennedy Mile (1600m). Former Emirates Stakes results & winners for this race can be found here.

Bet on the 2017 Emirates Stakes Results

Betting odds on the Emirates Stakes Results for the latest edition of the Melbourne Cup Carnival classic will be available below.

Past Emirates / Mackinnon Stakes Results

Past Emirates Stakes or Mackinnon Stakes results can help in your Emirates Stakes tips for the current season, as you can see the ages and lead-up races the Emirates Stakes winners came via.

Have a look through the latest *Emirates (Mackinnon) Stakes Results below for a guide to which weight-for-age runners to back or sack in the 2017 Emirates Stakes odds at Ladbrokes.com.au.

*Note: Up until 2016 the Emirates Stakes was known as the Mackinnon Stakes and all winners / results on this page are for the old Mackinnon Stakes

Emirates Stakes Winners

Many of the old Mackinnon Stakes winners would back-up and run in the iconic Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) three days later at Flemington Racecourse. Because the race is now run as the Emirates Stakes four days after Melbourne Cup Day, the Emirates Stakes winners are likely paddock-bound before returning in the autumn.

Notable recent winners of the old Mackinnon Stakes (now the Emirates Stakes) include: French raider Gailo Chop (2015), star dual Cox Plate winner So You Think (2010), Grand Armee (2004), subsequent ace sire Lonhro (2001) and that year’s Melbourne Cup winner Rogan Josh (1999).

Recent Emirates (Mackinnon) Stakes Results

Year First Second Third Time
2017 Tosen Stardom Happy Clapper It’s Somewhat 2:01.22
2016 Awesome Rock Hauraki Seaburge 2:02.49
2015 Gailo Chop Rising Romance Contributer 2:03.5
2014 Happy Trails He’s Your Man Farraaj 2:02.2
2013 Side Glance Dear Demi Moriarty 2:03.5
2012 Alcopop Glass Harmonium Ocean Park 2:01.2
2011 Glass Harmonium Mourayan Rekindled Interest 2:02.7
2010 So You Think Descarado Ginga Dude 2:04.9
2009 Scenic Shot Miss Maren Viewed 2:03.4
2008 Thesio Barbaricus Sirmione 2:03.8
2007 Sirmione Princess Coup Zipping 2:02.3
2006 Desert War Growl Aqua dAmore 2:02.3
2005 Lad Of The Manor Our Smoking Joe Lachlan River 2:01.7
2004 Grand Armee Confectioner Vouvray 2:00.9
2003 Casual Pass Pentastic Fields Of Omagh 2:05.8
2002 Lonhro Royal Code Distinctly Secret 2:02.6
2001 La Bella Dama Hill Of Grace Emission 2:01.5
2000 Oliver Twist Camarena Slavonic 2:05.4