Caulfield Cup Results

The Caulfield Cup results are hotly anticipated every year, especially as the race is one of the qualifying events for the prestigious Melbourne Cup run over the two miles at Flemington on the first Tuesday of November. As soon as the Caulfield Cup results are in, the odds offered on hopefuls for the Melbourne Cup are frantically adjusted. Caulfield Cup winners usually firm in Melbourne Cup betting should they press onto the ‘race that stops a nation’, so it is imperative for the passionate punter to keep on top of the Caulfield Cup results and the results of other qualifying races.

Caulfield Cup Day traditionally runs on the third Saturday of October and betting on the season’s upcoming Caulfield Cup results is open months in advance at online bookmakers including

Favourites in Caulfield Cup betting have a good record in the most recent Caulfield Cup results with both Mongolian Khan (2015) and Jameka (2016) saluting for the punters. There have also been plenty of notable upset Caulfield Cup results over the past decade including All The Good who saluted at massive odds of 40/1 in 2008, while in 2017 the shock Caulfield Cup winner Boom Time jumped at 50/1.

2017 Caulfield Cup Results

  • 1st: #13 Boom Time
  • 2nd: #10 Single Gaze
  • 3rd: #3 Johannes Vermeer

Read more on the incredible 2017 Caulfield Cup Winner Boom Time who dominated the Caulfield Cup 2017 Trifecta as a $51 roughie in betting.

The official Caulfield Cup 2017 Results & Finishing order will be published in full right here as soon as the mile and a half classic is run and won on Saturday October 21, 2017.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Weight SP
1 13 BOOM TIME David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 3 52kg $51
2 10 SINGLE GAZE Nick Olive Ms Kathy O’Hara 1.25L 12 53kg $31
3 3 JOHANNES VERMEER (IRE) Aidan O’Brien Ben Melham 1.45L 2 54.5kg $5F
4 17 LORD FANDANGO (GER) Archie Alexander Ben Allen (a) 1.85L 9 50kg $21
5 1 HUMIDOR (NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane 2.6L 7 56kg $6.50
6 2 MARMELO (GB) Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman 2.7L 10 55kg $16
6 14 ABBEY MARIE Michael Kent Beau Mertens (a) 2.7L 5 51.5kg $31
8 15 HARLEM (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Chad Schofield 3.45L 1 51.5kg $9
9 4 JON SNOW (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Stephen Baster 4.7L 6 54.5kg $13
10 12 HARDHAM David Brideoake Craig Newitt 5.2L 8 52.5kg $81
11 16 AMELIE’S STAR Darren Weir Craig Williams 5.3L 13 51kg $9.50
12 8 WICKLOW BRAVE (GB) William Mullins Joao Moreira 5.4L 16 54kg $71
13 7 VENTURA STORM (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 6.4L 4 54kg $12
14 11 BONNEVAL (NZ) Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Kerrin McEvoy 8.15L 14 52.5kg $8
15 9 INFERENCE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 8.65L 11 53.5kg $26
16 5 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Nolen 15.65L 15 54kg $101
17 6 SIR ISAAC NEWTON (GB) Robert Hickmott Ms Katelyn Mallyon 20.15L 17 54kg $71

Past Caulfield Cup Results

If you are looking to bet on the Caulfield Cup it can never hurt to check out past Caulfield Cup results. As the Caulfield Cup is open to thoroughbreds over the age of three it is possible for contenders to compete in the event several years running, so young thoroughbreds might return to win after coming second or third in their first attempt. It is also useful to know which trainers and jockeys tend to do well in the Caulfield Cup, as they tend to do well repeatedly.

No horse has won  back-to-back editions of the Caulfield Cup since Rising Fast (1954-55), with the only other dual Caulfield Cup winner since being Ming Dynasty (1977 and 1980) on non-successive years.

Looking over past Caulfield Cup results can also be helpful when betting on other races of similar distance and track conditions. If a horse performs well but just falls short in the Caulfield Cup it may perform better in a slightly shorter race – and you will be able to make these informed decisions once you have researched the past Caulfield Cup results.

Caulfield Cup Winners

Caulfield Cup winners usually go on to run in other major Australian horse racing events, such as the Melbourne Cup. The Caulfield Cup – Melbourne Cup double has previously been achieved by 11 stayers in a single season with Ethereal (2001) the most recent.

Some successful runners from the Caulfield Cup go on to long careers as studs, siring new talent for racing seasons to come. Check out our dedicated Caulfield Cup form guide section to learn how to find out which thoroughbred athletes have sired this year’s favourite runners.

Japanese raider Admire Rakti (2014) is the most recent internationally-trained Caulfield Cup winner from outside of Australia or New Zealand.

Other notable recent Caulfield Cup winners include Dunaden (2012), Viewed (2009), Northerly (2002) and Might And Power (1997).

Recent Caulfield Cup Results

Year First Second Third Time
2017 Boom Time Single Gaze Johannes Vermeer 2:27.6
2016 Jameka Scottish Exospheric 2:28.8
2015 Mongolian Khan Trip To Paris Our Ivanhowe 2:27.7
2014 Admire Rakti Rising Romance Lucia Valentina 2:32.1
2013 Fawkner Dandino Dear Demi 2:29.1
2012 Dunaden Alcopop Lights Of Heaven 2:28.8
2011 Southern Speed Green Moon Tullamore 2:28.4
2010 Descarado Harris Tweed Monaco Consul 2:35.6
2009 Viewed Roman Emperor Vigor 2:29.7
2008 All The Good Nom Du Jeu Barbaricus 2:27.4
2007 Master O’Reilly Douro Valley Princess Coup 2.26.1
2006 Tawqeet Aqua Damore Delta Blues 2.27.6
2005 Railings Eye Popper Mummify 2.27.9
2004 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Grey Song 2.31.3
2003 Mummify Grey Song Distinctly Secret 2.25.9
2002 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Republic Lass 2.30.3
2001 Ethereal Sky Heights Celestial Show 2.30.9
2000 Diatribe Kaapstad Way Fairway 2.25.3