Australia Stakes

The Australia Stakes is once again known as the William Reid Stakes. Run in March at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne, the William Reid Stakes is a Group 1 race over 1200m and worth $500,000. For more information on this race please see the William Reid Stakes. If you are looking for the Group 2 Australia Stakes held at Moonee Valley in late january then please see Australia Stakes.

Australia Stakes History

The race name was changed from the William Reid Stakes to the Australia Made Stakes in 1994 and then finally became known as the Australia Stakes from 1996 onwards.

A top quality field of sprinters compete in the Australia Stakes each year and notable winners include Apache Cat (2008 & 2009), Hareeba (1995), Redelva (1991) and Zeditave (1989). In his two wins, Apache Cat ran exactly the same time.

Recent Australia Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Australia Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Australia Stakes
1st Spirit Of Boom 1 minute 11.17 seconds
2nd Fontelina
3rd Unpretentious
Australia Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 11.08 seconds
2nd Karuta Queen
3rd Fawkner
Australia Stakes
1st Foxwedge 1 minute 10.27 seconds
2nd Hay List
3rd Buffering
Australia Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 10.0 seconds
2nd Crystal Lily
3rd Hinchinbrook
Australia Stakes
1st Turffontein 1 minute 11.67 seconds
2nd Wanted
3rd Sniper’s Bullet
Australia Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 9.6 seconds
2nd Vormista
3rd Time Thief
Australia Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 9.6 seconds
2nd Stanzout
3rd Monet Rules
Australia Stakes
1st Miss Andrettie 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Any Suggestion
3rd Rewaaya
Australia Stakes
1st Virage De Fortune 1 minute 10 seconds
2nd Rewaaya
3rd Undue
Australia Stakes
1st Cape Of Good Hope 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Super Elegant
3rd Spark Of Life
Australia Stakes
1st Regimental Gal 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Legally Bay
Australia Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Dash For Cash
3rd Spinning Hill
Australia Stakes
1st Toledo 1 minute 11.8 seconds
2nd Show A Heart
3rd North Boy
Australia Stakes
1st Bomber Bill 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Scenic Warrior
3rd Nina Haraka
Australia Stakes
1st Miss Pennymoney 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Redoutes Choice
3rd St Chrisoph

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?