Melbourne Cup Qualification

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

The Melbourne Cup qualification system qualifies horses based on a handicap. The minimum weight for the field is 49 kilograms. Although there is no maximum weight for the race, the highest allocated weight for the field should not be less than 57 kilograms. Before the race, the required weight handicap of participating horses is declared by the VRC Handicapper.

Melbourne Cup Weights

The horse’s weight is the biggest qualifier in the Melbourne Cup. In the past, the cup adopted a system to give horses an equal chance to win the race by adding more weight to older horses compared to younger ones. But in recent years, the cup committee used a “quality handicap” formula where superior horses are given less severe weight penalties.

Melbourne Cup Nominations System

The selected entries for the Melbourne Cup are nominated in the first week of August. From an initial Melbourne Cup field of 300 to 400 horses, the committee will select the final 24 starters. However, after nominations, the owner of the runner must confirm their intention to run four more times leading to the race.

This system allows owners to gauge the competition as the selection process moves forward. This way, they are given four times to decide to whether they want to continue with the selection process by paying a fee, or to back out. Thus, the owners are essentially betting that their horse will be selected in the final field with every fee that they pay.

Melbourne Cup Balloting Out Rules

In the final selection, the last group of Melbourne Cup horses will be trimmed to 24 starters. To do that, each horse is evaluated and may be “balloted out” based on factors like prize money earned in the last two years, wins and placing, and allocated handicap.

Horses that won prestigious races around the world are exempted from the balloting process. These races include the Victoria Derby, Lexus Stakes, Cox Plate, LKS Mackinnon Stakes, Caulfield Cup, Irish St. Leger (IRE), and the Tenno Sho (Spring) (JPN).

With the increasing number of foreign-trained horses entering the selection process, the Australian government ruled that international horses, except horses from New Zealand, must undergo 14-day quarantine within the approved locations in their own country before coming to Australia. Each horse will undergo physical examinations as a requirement in the selection process.

Spring Racing

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney ...

Redzel To Beat Winx in Sydney Trial on Monday

The world’s best mare Winx will be on show under the public eye for the first...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018...

Ambitious Futurity Stakes 2018 Target for Japanese Expat

Mornington horseman Anthony Freedman is eyeing the 2018 Futurity Stakes on...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field