Melbourne Cup Jockeys

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

With such a large prize pool at stake and the eyes of the nation focused on the big race, the quality of Melbourne Cup jockeys is only surpassed by the quality of stayers that make up the Melbourne Cup field at Flemington Racecourse on the first Tuesday of November each spring.

Many Melbourne Cup jockeys have become as well known as the horses they rode to victory in the ‘Race That Stops A Nation’, such as the following legendary Melbourne Cup riders.


Legendary Melbourne Cup Jockeys

John Dillon

John ‘Cutts’ Dillon rode Archer past the winning post in the first two Melbourne Cup events in 1861 and 1862. John Cutts was one of the most well respected jockeys in his era and rode for many trainers during his long career on the racetrack.

Peter St Albans

Peter St Albans rode Briseis to success in 1876, while only 13 years old. Controversy surrounded St Albans’ Cup victory as it was believed at the time he was not yet 13 and therefore too young to ride, but this has since been disproved. He went on to have a short-lived racing career, but he had a successful career in training before passing away at the age of 35.

Frank Reys

Frank Reys was the first (and so far only) Aboriginal Melbourne Cup jockey to win the race. He rode Gala Supreme to success in 1973, and confusion surrounds the story of Reys because he frequently claimed to be of Filipino descent. However, evidence now confirms that his maternal grandmother was from the Djiribul aboriginal tribe from Northern Queensland.

Bobby Lewis

Bobby Lewis is one of two jockeys to win the Melbourne Cup 4 times. He took out the grand prize on The Victory in 1902, Patrobas in 1915, Artilleryman in 1919 and Trivalve in 1927.

Harry White

The other jockey to win the Cup 4 times is incredible Harry White, who won on Think Big in 1974 and 1975, Arwon in 1978 and Hyperno in 1979. His Melbourne Cup winning rides for Bart Cummings, the greatest of all the Melbourne Cup trainers, made for a wonderful partnership between two legends of Australian racing. White is also in the Melbourne Cup history books for having ridden in a record 26 editions of the the ‘race that stops a nation’.

Glen Boss

Glen Boss is perhaps the most famous Melbourne Cup jockey in recent years, as he rode the mighty Makybe Diva past the winning post in three successive years: 2003, 2004 and 2005. This set a new record both for horse with most wins and jockey with most consecutive Melbourne Cup wins – a feat that is unlikely to be replicated any time soon.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Galaxy Final Field: Jungl...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final...

2018 William Reid Stakes Final Field: She Will Reign draws barrier 1

Last year’s Golden Slipper winner She Will Reign has drawn barrier one in the...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff’s Edge draws the rails in capacity field

Front running colt Cliff’s Edge has drawn the rails in the capacity field for...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field