Melbourne Cup Horses

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

There have been some incredible winning Melbourne Cup horses over the years. The Melbourne Cup is one of the most challenging races in Australia, and this is largely due to the superior runners who contend for the Cup. A legendary race has its fair share of legendary horses, and the following are the best of the best to ever win the Melbourne Cup.


Phar Lap

Every list of great Melbourne Cup horses has to start with Phar Lap. Legendarily shot at before taking to the field to win the 1930 Melbourne Cup, Phar Lap had the shortest odds ever for a Melbourne Cup winner. He won 37 of the 51 races he entered, and he may have managed a second Melbourne Cup win if he hadn’t been given an astronomically high 10st and 10lb to carry (about 68kg).

Makybe Diva

Winner of the 2003, 2004 and 2005 Melbourne Cups, Makybe Diva is one of the greatest Melbourne Cup horses to ever contend the race. Despite being a mare, Makybe Diva dominated the Melbourne Cup field during her reign and broke the record for most Cup wins and setting a very high benchmark for consecutive wins. In addition, she broke her own weight record for a mare in 2005 by winning the Cup carrying a massive 58kg.


Archer won the first Melbourne Cup in 1856

Archer won the first Melbourne Cup in 1856

Archer was the first Melbourne Cup winner, beating a field of 17 horses in the inaugural race held in 1861. He returned to Victoria for a second Melbourne Cup race in 1862 and romped past the post to win his second consecutive race by eight lengths in a field of 20 runners. Archer is one of only three horses to win the Melbourne Cup carrying 10 stone or more, though obviously the early runs of the event were less challenging than those of today.

Rising Fast

In 1954, Rising Fast won the Melbourne Cup, W.S. Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup, Caulfield Stakes, Mackinnon Stakes and the Fisher Plate. These were some of the most challenging races at the time, making Rising Fast more than just a Melbourne Cup champion – he was essentially the champion of all Australian horse racing.

Kingston Rule

Kingston Rule has one over all the other legendary Melbourne Cup horses by being the fastest runner of the lot. Finishing the race in just 3:16.3 during the 1990 Melbourne Cup, Kingston Rule’s record has stood for more than two decades despite a close attempt by Media Puzzle in 2002.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field