About the Cup

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au '

It is widely billed as the ‘Race that stops a nation’, when the whole of Australia tunes in to hear one of the greatest horse races in the world. This year, the 2014 Melbourne Cup will be held on Tuesday, November 4th and already the online betting world is gearing up for a great day.

The Melbourne Cup has been held each year since 1861 and sees thoroughbreds over three-years-old competing in the famous ‘two-mile’ handicap. In modern terms this is 3,200 meters – a long distance by any stretch of the imagination but it is all over in less than 4 minutes. Melbourne in November reaches a sultry 30 degrees and rarely rains. Only 13 of the Melbourne Cup runs have had rain.

The Melbourne Cup is the richest ‘two mile’ race in the world, attracting both the seasoned punters and millions of ordinary Australians who don’t normally follow horse racing. The electric atmosphere, the prize money and the office sweeps all over Australia mean that at that magic 3pm everything else stops for the race. For many Victorians it is a public holiday, and more than 100,000 enthusiasts pack into the Flemington racecourse to partake in the great atmosphere of race day and the best odds.

Upcoming Melbourne Cup Dates

Want to book early for next year? The Melbourne Cup is always on the first Tuesday of November.
So, the dates for the next four years are:

2018 Melbourne Cup Tuesday, 6th November 2018
2019 Melbourne Cup Tuesday, 5th November 2019
2020 Melbourne Cup Tuesday, 3rd November 2020
2021 Melbourne Cup Tuesday, 2nd November 2021

Melbourne Cup Race Time

Due to daylight saving and time zone differences, the start time may differ from 3:00pm in your city.
When does the Melbourne Cup start in your state, territory or city? Below is a table listing when the race is due to start for each state and territory of Australia (with capital city in brackets).

Melbourne Cup live start time, Australia-wide
if you live in… the race starts at…
Victoria (Melbourne) 3:00PM (15:00)
New South Wales (Sydney) 3:00PM (15:00)
Australian Capital Territory (Canberra) 3:00PM (15:00)
Tasmania (Hobart) 3:00PM (15:00)
South Australia (Adelaide) 2:30PM (14:30)
Queensland (Brisbane) 2:00PM (14:00)
Northern Territory (Darwin) 1:30PM (13:30)
Western Australia (Perth) 12:00PM (12:00)

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Re...

2018 Super Saturday All Day Results at Flemington: Harlem scores upset win in Australian Cup

The Group 1 $1.25m Lexus Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 $1.5m...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbu...

A field of 9 for 2018 Canterbury Stakes

A field of nine will line up in Saturday’s Group 1 $500,000 Bisley...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field