Melbourne Cup Exacta

deposit $100
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50
bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250
to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

New customers only. Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover requirements apply. Promotional T&Cs apply & available on website. Is gambling a problem for you? Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit '

2017 Melbourne Cup Exacta Results

  • 1st: #22 Rekindling ($15)
  • 2nd: #7 Johannes Vermeer ($13)

2017 Melbourne Cup Results: Exotic Payouts

Read more on the 2017 Melbourne Cup Exotic Payouts Results

Exotic Combinations QLD VIC NSW
Quinella 22-7 N/A 96.90 102.30
Exacta 22-7 188.40 199.10 211.70
Trifecta 22-7-9 2,863.40 3,025.10 3,410.20
First Four 22-7-9-13 52,665.80 44,736.30 54,338.70

Successfully picking the Melbourne Cup Exacta 2017 can pay off incredibly well, and it is easier to pick than most of the other Melbourne Cup exotic bets including the Melbourne Cup Trifecta – that is the first three horses past the post in that year’s Melbourne Cup results.

For those unfamiliar with this bet type, an exacta requires you pick the first and second placed runner in exact order. This is as opposed to a quinella, which does not require you pick the right order.

That means you need to pick the Melbourne Cup winner and the Melbourne Cup runner-up, in that order, before the Melbourne Cup results are uncovered at 3:00pm (AEDT) on the first Tuesday of November at Flemington Racecourse.

For the best Melbourne Cup Exacta tips make sure you head to our Melbourne Cup Tips page.

Place your Melbourne Cup Exacta bets now! 

An example of a winning exacta from the 2017 Melbourne Cup is:

• 1st – #22 Rekindling
• 2nd – #7 Johannes Vermeer

So see below for more on how to place a Melbourne Cup exacta at a leading online betting agency like and see how much you can win when the 2017 Melbourne Cup runs on Tuesday, November 7th.

How to Pick the Melbourne Cup Exacta

Picking the Melbourne Cup Exacta is much more challenging than the Melbourne Cup Quinella as you have to get the order right.

If you are going to place a Melbourne Cup exacta, why not do it online? The online bookies are offering generous sign on bonuses just to get you to try them out. Here are the current best offers, check out each one, they are all great bookmakers with better odds than your local TAB.

Horse Racing Betting Offers

The best Australian online bookmakers, offering great bonuses and betting on Australian horse racing.

Only luck can help you with the exact finishing order of the Melbourne Cup, but you can give your Melbourne Cup exacta the best possible chance by researching the runners. If you can’t decide the winner between your two runners, consider quinellas and box exactas or just rely on your gut feeling.

If you are unsure of the order to set your picks in, compare the payouts of a Melbourne Cup quinella with a 2-horse box exacta. These bets are quite similar in practice, but the odds may make one bet type more advantageous on Melbourne Cup day.

It’s also important to check out the full 2017 Melbourne Cup Form Guide before placing your bets on the two mile classic.

Where to Place Your Melbourne Cup Exacta

We suggest that you place your Melbourne Cup exacta with an online bookie and we particularly recommend the Australian-owned and operated

Online betting sites often offer special deals on exotic Melbourne Cup bets to encourage punters to give them a try. They are also convenient to use, as you can access the sites from anywhere you have an Internet connection.

Placing a Melbourne Cup Box Exacta

While a Melbourne Cup box exacta may seem almost identical to a box quinella, there are differences between these bets.

Remember that a box bet is effectively many separate wagers, and they do not all have the same odds. So, while a 2-horse box exacta with the same picks as a quinella will both win on the same results, the 2-horse box exacta has two different payouts depending on the exact finishing order while the quinella pays out the same regardless of which of your picks comes first or second.

The cost of your Melbourne Cup exacta box is equal to (the number of horses in your picks X [the number of horses in your picks – 1]) X your base bet amount.

So head to this Melbourne Cup Carnival and try your hand at a Melbourne Cup exotic bet to really clean out the bookies before Christmas!

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Rosehill Guineas: Cliff&#...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field...

2018 George Ryder Stakes Field: 5 rivals for Winx

Super mare Winx will only have five rivals when she lines up for her...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms...

Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms listed in 2018 Coolmore Classic nominations

Stablemates Daysee Doom and Dixie Blossoms are listed among the nominations...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fan...

2018 Adelaide Cup Results: Fanatic wins for Walker and Lindsay Park

The Group 2 $400,000 Adelaide Cup over 3200m will be run at Morphettville in...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018...

Fanatic Firm favourite in 2018 Adelaide Cup betting

The Lindsay Park trained Fanatic is a firm favourite in the betting for...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field