2018 Australasian Oaks Nominations Feature Bring Me Roses

April 24, 2018

2018 Australasian Oaks Nominations Feature Bring Me Roses

Tony McEvoy’s back-in-form filly Bring Me Roses is among the standout three-year-olds featuring in the Australasian Oaks 2018 nominations for next month’s feature at Morphettville Racecourse.

Bring Me Roses

Bring Me Roses is among the Victorian raiders featured in the 2018 Schweppes Oaks nominations for Adelaide next week. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

On Tuesday the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) took early entries for the two elite level Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival features taking place on May 5 including those for the Group 1 $500,000 Schweppes Oaks (2000m).

The key support act on Robert Sangster Stakes Day, the Schweppes Australasian Oaks nominations attracted 30 three-year-old fillies including McEvoy’s daughter of High Chaparral.

She comes off a lead-up fourth to Unforgotten in the Group 1 ATC Oaks (2400m) from April 14 and is one of the best of the interstate raiders out of the mile and a half classic entered for a drop in distance for the Schweppes Oaks.

The other top ATC Oaks graduate nominated for a shot at Oaks glory in Adelaide next month is the third-placed Miss Admiration from the Caulfield stables of Mick Price.

Price won the SAJC Australasian Oaks back in 2009 with the short-priced favourite Gallica and is back in 2018 with Sebring filly Miss Admiration who finished in the money in the ATC Oaks as a huge roughie, along with multiple Group 2 placed stablemate Palazzo Vecchi.

Currently Bring Me Roses sits as an $11 shot in the Schweppes Oaks 2018 odds at Ladbrokes.com.au, while Miss Admiration is longer at $13.

All-in Australasian Oaks betting is currently led by two promising fillies, Savacool at $5 and Sopressa at $5.50 for the win.

Last year’s winning trainer Chris Waller took out top honours with Egg Tart (2007) who went on to salute in the Group 1 Queensland Oaks (2200m) next-up in Brisbane.

Waller is now seeking back-to-back Australasian Oaks wins as a trainer for the first time since Lee Freedman with Mannerism (1991) and Gatherneaux (1992), the horseman of Winx fame nominating for Savacool and last start Rosehill winner Velocita ($7) who is also at single-figures for the victory.

The ultra-consistent Savacool is early favourite to win having finished top two in all six of her career starts to date.

She posted her third career win on April 14 at Caulfield over the mile in a handicap for three-year-old fillies, but is as yet untested in black-type company.

The main early danger according to the bookies though is Sopressa from the Victorian stables of Darren Weir.

Weir won the race in 2014 with May’s Dream who improve don a lead-up third in the Group 3 Schweppervescence Stakes (1800m), the same race So You Think filly Sopressa won last Saturday at the track.

Registered as the Auraria Stakes, the race has produced a host of recent Australasian Oaks winners and Sopressa is out to be the next.

Weir has also nominated for the ultra-consistent Hard Spun filly Pleasuring ($13) who won the Listed Tasmanian Oaks (2100m) in late February before returning with a fourth in the Auraria Stakes, along with last start Group 3 Alexandra Stakes winner over the Moonee Valley mile Think Bleue ($13).

Other standout entries include Cairon Maher’s Thousand Guineas winner from last spring Aloisia and the Auraria Stakes runner-up Earth Angel for Lindsay Park.

See below for the full Australasian Oaks 2018 nominations before checking out the updated odds at Ladbrokes.com.au ahead of final acceptances on May 1.

2018 Australasian Oaks Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 05/05/2018

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 x5116x5037 ALOISIA (NZ) F 3 Ciaron Maher 105
2 16140×014 ANGELIC SPIRIT (NZ) F 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 70
3 x16311x900 BANISH F 3 James Cummings 81
4 2893206753 BELLE DU NORD (NZ) F 3 Emma-Lee & David Browne 78
5 5×231210 BLUE MORPHO F 3 Dan Clarken & Oopy MacGillivray 75
6 2102×23004 BRING ME ROSES F 3 Tony McEvoy 95
7 x211x41138 CHILLY CHA CHA (NZ) F 3 Kris Lees 76
8 14×29632 EARTH ANGEL F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 68
9 636×69401 EPERDUMENT F 3 Shane Oxlade 62
10 627×333713 HAYLIN ROUGE (NZ) F 3 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 60
11 789035×11 HIGHWAY F 3 Steve Englebrecht 67
12 3245 JUNGLE FISH F 3 Michael Kent 62
13 0x212600 KAIMU F 3 Brent Stanley 62
14 30×7710 LADY CARTIER F 3 Brent Stanley 61
15 x8405x4193 MISS ADMIRATION F 3 Mick Price 90
16 611×2354 PALAZZO VECCHIO F 3 Mick Price 74
17 x332312114 PLEASURING F 3 Darren Weir 77
18 9333010×01 PRES DE TOI F 3 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 68
19 331372 PRETTY TO SEA (NZ) F 3 Ciaron Maher 76
20 6x97470x74 PURE SCOT F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 67
21 1221×21 SAVACOOL (NZ) F 3 Chris Waller 76
22 2×41181 SEMARI (NZ) F 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 70
23 823×010 SET TO CRUISE F 3 Mick Huxtable 59
24 62165×4542 SHEEZDASHING F 3 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 65
25 4341936×19 SNOGGING F 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 66
26 3523×25171 SOPRESSA F 3 Darren Weir 80
27 3x611x52 TEMPLE OF BEL F 3 Tony McEvoy 70
28 4×51121 THINK BLEUE F 3 Darren Weir 76
29 78x191x533 TRULY DISCREET F 3 Dan O’Sullivan 67
30 642133×1 VELOCITA F 3 Chris Waller 70

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Waller to have multiple runner...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradb...

Santa Ana Lane to chase Stradbroke Handicap after 2018 Goodwood win

The Anthony Freedman trained Santa Ana Lane has earned a start in the 2018...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Ti...

Leicester Top 2018 SA Derby Tip for Weir to Make History

Victoria’s leading horseman Darren Weir is out to emulate the late, great Bart...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field