2017 Ballarat Cup Nominations Feature Mr Garcia

European expat Mr Garcia is scheduled to have his maiden start with new trainer Darren Weir, the former Andreas Wohler-trained five-year-old among the Ballarat Cup 2017 nominations for Saturday.

Mr Garcia

Crown Oaks Day winner Mr Garcia is nominated to debut for trainer Darren Weir in the 2017 Ballarat Cup this Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A bumper 28 stayers make up the early entries for this season’s Listed $300,000 Ballarat Cup (2200m), including Paco Boy gelding Mr Garcia.

Kerrin McEvoy rode the Australian Bloodstock-raced galloper first-up down under for an 1800m win on VRC Oaks Day at Flemington.

The horse is out to make it back-to-back spring wins in Australia in Saturday’s Ballarat Cup field, with a change of hoops scheduled as McEvoy rides at Rosehill Gardens this weekend.

“At this stage we are planning to run [Mr Garcia in the Ballarat Cup],” Australian Bloodstock managing co-owner Jamie Lovett told Racing Victoria on Sunday.

“By all reports the horse has come through his Flemington win in good order and if the stable are happy with him this week, the Ballarat Cup looks a good option for him.”

Goliath owner Lloyd Williams is also looking to continue his ace spring form nominating for a host of horses including last Saturday’s impressive Group 2 $300,000 Zipping Classic (2400m) winner The Taj Mahal.

The former Aiden O’Brien-trained Irish import was ultra-impressive in his three and a half-length win over stablemate Almandin in the Ladbrokes Park feature, but is more likely to be paddock-bound ahead of the autumn than run again in the Ballarat Cup on the seven day back-up again.

The stable could still have a number of runners including Galileo eight-year-old Foundry, winner of the Group 1 $750,000 The Metropolitan (2400m) in Sydney earlier this campaign.

Last time out Foundry was third to Qewy in the Group 3 $300,000 Bendigo Cup (2400m) on November 1 and shapes-up as a livewire chance in another lucrative Victorian cups race on Saturday.

Also in flying form and nominated for a final spring run in the Ballarat Cup 2017 is the Matt Cumani-trained Grey Lion, now locally trained at Ballarat.

The six-year-old grey entire has run top four in his latest three starts around some nice types, most recently finishing runner-up to Vengeur Masque in the Group 3 $300,000 VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m) at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day.

Chris Waller has just the one entry for the handicap clash in Antonio Giuseppe.

Last Saturday’s Sandown Cup winning jockey aboard Adelaide Cup 2018-bound mare Fanatic, Michael Walker is on standby to piolet Waller’s runner this weekend.

Walker was forced out of the remainder of Zipping Classic Day due to pneumonia on Saturday, but hopes to make a quick recovery for Ballarat Cup Day.

“I’ve got some really good rides at Ballarat next Saturday for the Cup meeting and I want to make sure I’m 100 percent healthy,” Walker said.

“This pneumonia has knocked me around so I’ll be taking it easy for the next couple of days and then go see the doc on Tuesday.

“With some good rest I’m confident I’ll be right for Wednesday [back at Ladbrokes Park].”

Other notable Ballarat Cup nominees include Danny O’Brien’s Cup Day Plate third placegetter Second Bullet, the Henry Dwyer-trained local Sonntag coming off an Ararat Cup victory and Lindsay Park’s Kyneton Cup fourth placed warhorse, 11-year-old Extra Zero.

See below for the full Ballarat Cup 2017 nominations, the final field and updated odds at Ladbrokes.com.au set for release on Wednesday.

2017 Ballarat Cup Nominations

Ballarat Racecourse – 25/11/2017

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 1240×54277 ANTONIO GIUSEPPE (NZ) G 5 Chris Waller 101
2 10x71x0458 ASSIGN (IRE) G 7 Robert Hickmott 100
3 136x668x60 BIG BLUE (GB) G 6 James Cummings 91
4 02510×0046 BIG MEMORY (FR) G 8 Tony McEvoy 95
5 11x330x900 BONDI BEACH (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 101
6 5x246211x0 DE LITTLE ENGINE G 7 Danny O’Brien 97
7 0622453727 ELECTRIC FUSION G 8 Trudi Christie 73
8 7614246054 EXTRA ZERO G 11 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 96
9 3x0x038000 FOUNDATION (IRE) G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 95
10 0x33x24103 FOUNDRY (IRE) G 8 Robert Hickmott 101
11 x51710x073 GRAND DREAMER G 7 Robert Smerdon 80
12 076×070342 GREY LION (IRE) H 6 Matt Cumani 95
13 x778119223 HAVE PLENTY G 6 John Hickmott 80
14 2605043313 JIMMIE JIM G 5 Charles Quick 57
15 2222×65314 KASTOR M 4 Rachael Cunningham 62
16 39×8057222 KNOWABLE G 4 Steve Richards 72
17 12x20x00x1 LORD LUMBERJACK (GER) G 6 Michael Hickmott 79
18 110x4x57x1 MR GARCIA (GB) G 5 Darren Weir 92
19 x431431x01 ONCIDIUM RULER G 6 Michael Kent 87
20 27x070x054 ORMITO (GER) G 5 Darren Weir 80
21 66214×2703 SECOND BULLET G 7 Danny O’Brien 93
22 790×506436 SHAMKIYR (FR) G 7 Darren Weir 79
23 96x990x701 SONNTAG G 7 Henry Dwyer 89
24 20×4194821 SUPER MARIO (NZ) G 5 Cindy Alderson 62
25 2446925041 THE TAJ MAHAL (IRE) H 4 Robert Hickmott 107
26 6420516680 THE THUG G 7 Russell & Scott Cameron 71
27 1940×77175 TIGER TIM (NZ) G 6 Peter Gelagotis 73
28 1216×30165 VON TUNZELMAN (NZ) G 5 Roger James 89


Have your say, post a comment.