2017 Melbourne Cup Tips: Hoodoos & History

November 6, 2017

2017 Melbourne Cup Tips: Hoodoos & History

One of the country’s oldest races, the history on the ‘Race That Stops A Nation’ gives punters plenty of hoodoos and trends to consider when doing the Melbourne Cup 2017 tips for Tuesday.

Boom Time

Caulfield Cup winner Boom Time is the only Australian-bred male stayer in the 2017 Melbourne Cup field looking to end the trend of internationally-trained champions in the race. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The famous Flemington Race 7 jumps at 3:00pm (AEDT) on the first Tuesday of November each spring and there are currently 23 stayers in the mix for this year’s Group 1 $6.2 million Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m).

In a typically open Melbourne Cup betting market at [ladborkes] there are just the two horses under $10 for the win with well-supported British raider Marmelo ($8) coming off the Caulfield Cup eye-catcher and reigning champion Almandin ($9) for five-time winning owner Lloyd Williams.

They are the two Melbourne Cup tips the bookies are putting forward, but what does the Melbourne Cup historical facts and betting statistics on the two mile classic uncover about what horses are a genuine winning home?

Melbourne Cup Facts Say to Back….

Robert Hickmott-Trained Horses: Hickmott is the head trainer at Macedon Lodge and is the only winning trainer to have prepared more than one past Melbourne Cup winner in the race this year. Hickmott won the Melbourne Cup last year with Almandin (2016) and is 2012 with Green Moon, and is back with three in the 2017 Melbourne Cup Field.

  • #2 Almandin ($9.50), #8 Bondi Beach ($67) and #16 Gallante ($101)

Kerrin McEvoy-Ridden Horse: McEvoy has ridden two past Melbourne Cup winners with Almandin (2016) and Brew (2000). He is the only multiple winning jockey aside from Glen Boss, but Boss did it three times on the same horse (Makybe Diva). McEvoy returns for his third and back-to-back wins in 2017.

  • #6 Red Cardinal ($19)

Lloyd Williams-Owned Horses: Prolific businessman Lloyd Williams holds the ownership record with five Melbourne Cup victories after the success of Almandin last year. He returns with six chances looking to add another ‘Loving Trophy’ to the cabinet.

  • #2 Almandin ($9.50), #7 Johannes Vermeer ($10), #8 Bondi Beach ($67), #14 US Army Ranger ($61), #16 Gallante ($101) and #22 Rekindling ($14)

The Runner in Barrier 11: Barrier 11 has produced more Melbourne Cup winners than any other gate in history, most recently American (2010)

  • #19 Single Gaze ($41)

The Horses Starting with T: Horses with a name starting with the Letter ‘T’ have won 15 times in Melbourne Cup history, more than any other.

  • #4 Tiberian ($26) and #21 Thomas Hobson ($19)

The Stallions in the Race: Entires have dominated Melbourne Cup Results with entires aged 4+ saluting 70 times, most recently in 2014 with Protectionist.

  • #3 Humidor ($10), #4 Tiberian ($26), #5 Marmelo ($8), #7 Johannes Vermeer ($10), #10 Ventura Storm ($34), #14 US Army Ranger ($61), #15 Boom Time ($31), #20 Wall Of Fire ($13) and #22 Rekindling ([link text=”$14″])

Five-Year-Olds in the Field: 5YOs (44) narrowly hold the advantage over 4YOs (43) when it comes ot number of Melbourne Cup winners.

  • #3 Humidor ($10), #5 Marmelo ($8), #7 Johannes Vermeer ($10), #10 Ventura Storm ($34), #14 US Army Ranger ($61), #19 Single Gaze ($41), #20 Wall Of Fire ($13) and #24 Cismontane ($51)

Horses Wearing Saddlecloth No. 4 or 12: An equal 11 Melbourne Cup winners have donned the No. 4 and No. 11 saddlecloth numbers, the latest being At Talaq (1986) and Makybe Diva (2003) respectively.

  • No. 4 Tiberian ($26) and No. 12 Wicklow Brave ($61)

Melbourne Cup Hoodoos Say To Sack….

The Horse in Barrier 18: No Melbourne Cup winner in history has saluted from barrier 18. Incredible considering the race has been run and won since 1861.

  • #16 Gallante (barrier 18)

The Horse Waring the No. 18 or No. 23 Saddlecloths: Not only has barrier 18 never produced a Melbourne Cup winner, no champion of the two mile classic has won wearing the No. 18 saddlecloth since Peter Pan (1932) and it is the equal unluckiest saddlecloth number along with 23 that hasn’t produced a winner since King Ingoda (1922).

  • No. 18 Nakeeta and No. 23 Amelie’s Star

The Australian-Bred Horses: In the past 17 years only two Melbourne Cup winners were Australian-bred making for a daunting task for the true blue Aussie Melbourne Cup horses in the field this year.

  • #15 Boom Time, #19 Single Gaze and #23 Amelie’s Star

The Old Warhorses: No nine-year-old in Melbourne Cup history and only two eight-year-olds have won the Melbourne Cup over the years, none since Catalogue (1938).

  • #2 Almandin (8YO), #9 Max Dynamite (8YO), #21 Thomas Hobson (8YO) and #12 Wicklow Brave (9YO)

Use the above Melbourne Cup Facts & Statistics to pick out the horses you best fancy to place a bet on in the classic this Tuesday online through Ladbrokes.com.au.

*All odds quoted are Fixed Win from Ladbrokes.com.au and subject to change

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Santa Ana Lane Set for Everest...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphi...

Australian Guineas Bound Amphitrite Claims Impressive Vanity Win

It wasn’t perfect, but Amphitrite looks well on track for a strong run...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Stil...

The Autumn Sun: Cox Plate Still The Goal, Golden Eagle ‘Plan B’

Three-time Group 1 winner The Autumn Sun has opened as the favourite following...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite...

Arcadia Queen is the favourite in the 2018 Kingston Town Classic field

The lightly weighted Arcadia Queen was installed as the short priced favourite...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbot...

Voodoo Lad wins 2018 Winterbottom Stakes

The Darren Weir trained Voodoo Lad broke through for his maiden Group 1 win in...

Horse Racing Today

2019 Fred Best Classic Results...

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Ki...

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Kingsford Smith Cup

Only a fortnight after winning the Doomben 10,000, four-year-old gelding The...

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 20...

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 2019 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

Peter and Paul Snowden teamed with Tommy Berry on Saturday to win the Group 2...

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Re...

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Results: Order Again Upsets Tom Melbourne

Tom Melbourne was once again a good thing beaten at Eagle Farm on Saturday as...

2019 Grand Prix Stakes Results...

2019 Grand Prix Stakes Results: Fun Fact Scores Upset over Derby Hopes

The Queensland Derby looks the likely next-up option for today’s Grand Prix...

Race Results

2019 Fred Best Classic Results: Military Zone Salutes as Favourite

The Bostonian Wins the 2019 Kingsford Smith Cup

Snowden, Strasbourg Win the 2019 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes

2019 Lord Mayor’s Cup Results: Order Again Upsets Tom Melbourne

Glenlogan Park Stakes 2019 Results: Savatiano Beats Quilista

Race Previews

Dubious 2YO In Kingsford Smith Cup 2018 Final Field of 18

Transact earns a shot at South Australian Derby after all the way win in VRC St Leger

Bellevue Hill a chance to back up in 2019 Inglis Sires’

Queen of the Turf, Doncaster Mile Next Up for Invincible Gem

A Galaxy for the Ages: Nature Strip Claims Narrow Victory Over Pierata

Fields & Form

2019 Kingsford Smith Cup Day: Scratchings & Eagle Farm Track Report

Dubious 2YO In Kingsford Smith Cup 2018 Final Field of 18

Transact earns a shot at South Australian Derby after all the way win in VRC St Leger

Bellevue Hill a chance to back up in 2019 Inglis Sires’

Cosmic Force has a tight grip on 2019 Golden Slipper betting