Updated Melbourne Cup 2017 Field: Jon Snow Ruled Out

November 4, 2017

Updated Melbourne Cup 2017 Field: Jon Snow Ruled Out

Jon Snow has officially been ruled out of the 2017 Melbourne Cup Field and will not take to the track in the famous Flemington Race 7 next Tuesday.

Jon Snow

ATC Derby winner Jon Snow has been ruled out of the 2017 Melbourne Cup field. Photo: Steve Hart.

The Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman-trained ATC Derby winner was found to be two out of five lame in his near-side foreleg and is not permitted to accept for the Group 1 $6.25 million Emirates Melbourne Cup (3200m).

Baker never thought the Victoria Racing Club Committee would allow the horse to run, continuing the team’s luckless spring carnival down under.

“We know the horse. They reckon he’s 2/5 lame, I don’t think they’ll let him run,” Baker said before the official call.

“He’s had this problem of being a bit scratchy in New Zealand and in Sydney but he comes right.”

With final Melbourne Cup acceptances closing at 4:30pm (AEST) this afternoon, the official 24 horses to line-up in the ‘Race That Stops A Nation’ is becoming clearer.

Irish trainer Willie Mullins has three in the line-up now with Max Dynamite and Wicklow Brave joined by eleventh hour escapee Thomas Hobson.

Thomas Hobson will be ridden by the ‘Magic Man’ Joao Moreira who was runner-up aboard Heartbreak City in the 2016 Melbourne Cup results.

Jon Snow was to be ridden by Stephen Baster, but Baster is now without a ride in the race unlikely to be able to get down to the 50kg required to partner the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott-rained Lexus Stakes winner Cismontane.

Almandin remains the $6.50 favourite in Melbourne Cup betting pre-field, the Lloyd Williams-raced defending champion out to hand his owner with a sixth ‘Loving Trophy’.

Williams will saddle-up six Melbourne Cup horses with the favourite to be joined by international visitors Rekindling, Johannes Vermeer, US Army Ranger, along with the imported Bondi Beach and Gallante both trained by Robert Hickmott.

See below for the 2017 Melbourne Cup Field as it stands before the official final announcement after the Victoria Derby Day racing action, all markets still open at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2017 Melbourne Cup Field Prediction

To Be Confirmed at 4:30pm (AEDT) 

No. Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 x2822x1229 HARTNELL (GB) G 7 James Cummings 0 57.5kg 115
2 665111×214 ALMANDIN (GER) G 8 Robert Hickmott 0 56.5kg 112
3 212×681352 HUMIDOR (NZ) G 5 Darren Weir 0 56kg 112
4 242x11711x TIBERIAN (FR) H 6 Alain Couetil 0 55.5kg 110
5 232x1521x6 MARMELO (GB) H 5 Hughie Morrison 0 55kg 109
6 1132x11x5x RED CARDINAL (IRE) G 6 Andreas Wohler 0 55kg 109
7 3x45712x23 JOHANNES VERMEER (IRE) H 5 Aidan O’Brien 0 54.5kg 108
8 x11x330x90 BONDI BEACH (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 0 54kg 106
9 1x2x30x91x MAX DYNAMITE (FR) G 8 William Mullins 0 54kg 107
10 121x5x7620 VENTURA STORM (IRE) H 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 0 54kg 106
11 0x81424440 WICKLOW BRAVE (GB) G 9 William Mullins 0 54kg 107
12 3642×94491 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 9 Chris Waller 0 54kg 107
13 113×550214 BIG DUKE (IRE) G 6 Darren Weir 0 53.5kg 104
14 428×320386 US ARMY RANGER (IRE) H 5 Joseph O’Brien 0 53.5kg 106
15 6510×39341 BOOM TIME H 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 0 53kg (includes 1.0kg penalty) 102
16 031x270x07 GALLANTE (IRE) G 7 Robert Hickmott 0 53kg 103
17 746Px61652 LIBRAN (IRE) G 7 Chris Waller 0 53kg 107
18 202x024x1x NAKEETA (GB) G 7 Iain Jardine 0 53kg 105
19 2612×05442 SINGLE GAZE M 5 Nick Olive 0 53kg 108
20 11x6248x22 WALL OF FIRE (IRE) H 5 Hugo Palmer 0 53kg 105
21 9P01712x72 THOMAS HOBSON (GB) G 8 William Mullins 0 52kg 103
22 210×140124 REKINDLING (GB) H 4 Joseph O’Brien 0 51.5kg 110
23 214×839410 AMELIE’S STAR M 6 Darren Weir 0 51kg 103
24 x232521033 CISMONTANE (NZ) G 5 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 0 50kg 84

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Tattersall’s Club T...

2018 Tattersall’s Club T...

2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara: Emergencies not needed, Prompt Response new favourite

The five emergencies were not needed which leaves the original field of...

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 T...

Invincible Gem firms in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara betting

The Kris Lees trained Invincible Gem has been well supported in the betting...

An inside barrier to help Cham...

An inside barrier to help Champagne Cuddles claim Group 1 win in 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

A good barrier draw will assist Champagne Cuddles in winning a maiden Group 1...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?