2017 Spring Stakes Nominations Released

An outstanding group of sprinters is set to step out in the feature race at South Australia’s Morphettville Racecourse on Saturday following the release of 2017 Spring Stakes nominations.

Vega Magic has been included in 2017 Spring Stakes nominations. Photo: Jenny Barnes

Vega Magic has been included in 2017 Spring Stakes nominations. Photo: Jenny Barnes

Often used as a Launchpad for South Australia’s best horses into the Spring Carnival, the 2017 Spring Stakes nominations are also rich in interstate class including Chocolate Holic, Vega Magic, Keen Array and Lankan Rupee.

A former Perth galloper, Chocolate Holic has been transferred to the care of Darren Weir for his 2017 Spring Carnival campaign and is sure to have taken plenty of improvement from his first-up run for ninth in less-than ideal conditions in the Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes (1200m).

Vega Magic was also saddled in Perth previously and has already made a huge impact for the Lindsay Park operation since transferring earlier this year.

Winner of both the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m) and Group 3 AJ Scahill Stakes (1400m) most notably during the Perth Summer, the Lope De Vega gelding flew home to win the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) at Morphettville in his first start for Hayes, Hayes and Dabernig on May 20th.

Keen Array failed to beat a single runner home in the Bletchingly Stakes first-up, but will improve noticeably into this race.

The Bel Esprit gelding has been set for an appearance in the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) this time and will relish a second attempt at 1200m and a firmer track this weekend.

Lankan Rupee flew home to finish second in the Bletchingly Stakes first-up and is undoubtedly one of the class horses of these Spring Stakes nominations.

A five-time Group 1 champion, the Redoute’s Choice gelding will also step up in trip this time in and has also been included in nominations for the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on Saturday.

A talented crop of local runners has also been included in 2017 Spring Stakes nominations, including Riziz and Karlovasi.

Riziz has been a standout performer throughout his entire racing career so far and will take his place in the 2017 Spring Stakes field with an outstanding record of fifteen wins and eighteen minors from his sixty starts.

Karlovasi returned to the races for an impressive win in a 1000m sprint on the Morphettville Parks course on August 5th and will only improve second-up and at 1200m.

The 2017 Spring Stakes field and barrier draw is due to be completed and released by midday, Wednesday.

Open an account and bet with Ladbrokes.com.au to take advantage of the best 2017 Spring Stakes odds!

2017 Spring Stakes Nominations

# Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp Rating
1 341x17493x CASINO WIZARD G 7 Lee Creek 100
2 11121612×9 CHOCOLATE HOLIC G 5 Darren Weir 97
3 351556×524 DAYTONA GREY G 8 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 94
4 x164x3408x HERMOSA BEACH M 7 Phillip Stokes 80
5 0270x2766x I AM ZELADY M 6 Phillip Stokes 91
6 14x21795x1 KARLOVASI G 5 Richard Jolly 94
7 3x211478x0 KEEN ARRAY G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 103
8 169x3x34x2 LANKAN RUPEE G 8 Mick Price 112
9 x122x758x2 LOPE DE CAPIO G 5 Wayne Francis & Glen Kent 89
10 x6x211948x LORD ASPEN G 6 Mick Huxtable 97
11 11453×4312 MIO DIO G 7 Will Clarken 90
12 5295038×00 OUR BOY NICHOLAS G 7 Grant Young 73
13 x1411180x1 RED ALTO G 5 Brent Stanley 87
14 11x2117x1 RICH LUCK G 5 Matt Laurie 81
15 1211x1380x RISQUE (NZ) M 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 95
16 4233110076 RIZIZ G 9 Ken Sweeney 94
17 047x49155x SANTA ANA LANE G 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman 96
18 4015443185 SIR CHARLESTON (NZ) G 5 Grant Young 65
19 11x9171x1x VEGA MAGIC G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 112


Have your say, post a comment.