2017 Queensland Derby Form Guide & Betting Preview

June 8, 2017

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2017 Queensland Derby Form Guide & Betting Preview

The best staying three-year-olds of the winter face off at Doomben Racecourse this weekend in the Queensland Derby 2017, a full race form guide and betting preview for which is detailed below.

Eagle Way

Eagle Way (2016) won last year’s Queensland Derby on the back of a Grand Prix Stakes second. Photo: Daniel Costello.

A capacity field of 16 starters will run in Doomben Race 7 at 3:00pm (AEST) on Stradbroke Handicap Day on Saturday for the $600,000 Group 1 Queensland Derby (2200m).

Despite the size of the line-up only three are under double-figures in Queensland Derby betting at Ladbrokes.com.au.

Two of the past three Queensland Derby winners – Sonntag (2014) and Magicool (2015) – saluted at $13 and that opens it up for the longer priced hopes in 2017.

Co-favourites out to be the fourth top fancy in the Queensland Derby odds since 2011 to salute are market mover Ruthven ($5) back in distance off a Group 1 SA Derby (2500m) second and Shocking Luck ($5) who ran sixth in the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes (2200m) in the wet at Eagle Farm a fortnight ago.

The other best in betting is the SA Derby winner Volatile Mix ($7) for Darren Weir, the galloper with work to do from a wide alley this weekend on the back of a Grand Prix Stakes second.

To uncover the value in the markets below we take a closer look at the full Queensland Derby form guide, betting history and statistical data on the race traditionally run over 2400m at Eagle Farm.

2017 Queensland Derby Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s Queensland Derby winner was the Brian Guy-trained Eagle Way (2016) who came off a Grand Prix Stakes second and jumped from barrier 11 (of 18) with Tommy Berry aboard the $7 shot in betting
  • The only previous Queensland Derby winning trainer with a runner this weekend is Chris Waller (10-1-1-1) with #3 Black On Gold ($11), #8 Sizzling Bullet ($26), #9 Monasterio ($21) and #10 Wu Gok ($26)
  • Last year’s winning hoop Tommy Berry chases back-to-back Queensland Derby wins by a jockey for the first time since Michael Rodd (Dariana in 2010 and Shootoff in 2011) aboard #3 Black On Gold
  • The other previous Queensland Derby winning jockeys with a ride in 2017 are: Corey Brown (10-2-0-1) on #13 Garbhan ($41) and Brad Rawiller (4-1-0-0) on #12 Rockstar Rebel ($15)
  • The barrier form on the Queensland Derby for 2017 is hard to stack-up against the historical data with the race run over 2200m at the tighter Doomben track
  • In 2015 the Queensland Derby ran at Doomben and Magicool won from barrier 14 of 16
  • Barrier 14 is drawn this year by #3 Black On Gold but with the five emergencies coming out will belong to #8 Sizzling Bullet (16)
  • Two of the past five Queensland Derby winners came off a lead-up win with both Brambles (2012) and Hawkspur (2013) having taken out the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes
  • This year’s Grand Prix Stakes winner Order Again has been ruled out of the Queensland Derby due to injury
  • The Grand Prix Stakes also produced last year’s winner Eagle Way (2nd) and the graduates out of the lead-up race this year are: Volatile Mix (2nd), Violate (3rd), Here He Comes (4th), Dazzle Em Sid (5th), Shocking Luck (6th), third emergency Top Of The Range (7th), first emergency Shadow Vision (10th) and Black On Gold (12th)
  • #2 Ruthven (2nd) is out to win the Queensland Derby straight off a SA Derby run for the first time since Magicool (4th in 2015)
  • The last start winners in the Queensland Derby field 2017 are: #7 Fontein Lad (3YO Hcp, 2200m, Ipswich, 31/05/2017), #9 Monasterio (3YO BM78, 2000m, Randwick, 27/05/2017) and #12 Rockstar Rebel (BM70, 2200m, Ballarat, 24/05/2017)
  • Dariana (2010) was the last filly to win the Queensland Derby and this year #16 Ana Royale ($10) is the only filly in the mix
  • Favourites have won three times since 2004 and this year #2 Ruthven ($5) and #6 Shocking Luck ($5) are battling for top spot in the Queensland Derby odds
  • The highest Win Rate of the runners confirmed a start on Saturday belongs to #4 Mongolian Wolf (40%) followed by #8 Sizzling Bullet (38%)
  • The best Place Rate of the confirmed starting 16 belongs to #2 Ruthven (78%) followed by #9 Monasterio (57%)
  • Excluding emergencies the performers with place form over the 2200m distance are: #10 Wu Gok (3-2-0-1), #7 Fontein Lad (2-1-1-0), #12 Rockstar Rebel (2-1-1-0), #15 Dazzle Em Sid (2-1-0-0), #1 Volatile Mix (1-0-1-0) and #5 Violate (1-0-0-1)
  • The only previous Doomben placegetters in the starting line-up are: #6 Shocking Luck (1-1-0-0) and #15 Dazzle Em Sid (6-0-0-1)

Stay tuned for our Queensland Derby 2017 betting tips, checking out the complete race form guide provided by Ladbrokes.com.au in the meantime below.

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Dubai-Bound Hey Doc Resumes in...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australia...

Waller Gears Up 2018 Australian Guineas Contingent

Sydney-based Chris Waller is stepping-up the autumn lead-up work for his...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway...

Memes Vies for 2018 Expressway Stakes Shot

A good run fresh in Saturday’s Summer Sprint at Royal Randwick could earn the...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Ta...

2018 Robert Sangster Stakes Target for Houtzen

The Robert Sangster Stakes 2018 in Adelaide this May could be calling for Toby...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for La...

Mr Sneaky Cheeky Chance for Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes 2018

Group 1 placed Mr Sneaky could target the 2018 Ladbrokes CF Orr Stakes...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field