2017 South Australian Derby Results: Volatile Mix Wins

Trainer Darren Weir went back-to-back in the South Australian Derby results 2017 preparing the improving Volatile Mix for a good win in the Group 1 Morphettville feature.

Darren Weir

Trainer Darren Weir could send his 2017 SA Derby winner Volatile Mix to Brisbane for the Queensland Derby next month. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Last Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival the top Victorian trainer won the race with Howard Be Thy Name (2016) and 12 months on was back with Pentire colt Volatile Mix jumping a $16 shot in the $600,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m).

With last year’s winning jockey John Allen in the saddle, Volatile Mix came off a close fourth to Waging War in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2030m) at Morphettville Parks a fortnight back.

The Chairman’s Stakes winner Waging War was denied the chance at the double after he and Docker Pav were involved in some pre-race drama and scratched form the SA Derby field at the barriers.

Also going off in the gates pre-jump, trying to burrow under the barriers was the Chairman’s Stakes runner-up Grand Chancellor who was vetted but cleared to run.

It was the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott-trained filly Sedanzer on the quick back-up off a Schweppes Oaks fifth last weekend who was best out of gates.

She took up front running in the race ahead of the well-supported Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra-trained favourite from Melbourne Odeon.

Another Victorian visitor, Netherfield was allowed to go around from wide by jockey Damien Oliver, moving up to park outside the leader in second as the favourite continued to get a love run in third just ahead of the Ciaron Maher-trained Ruthven.

Tracking back third last meanwhile was Volatile Mix, Allen biding his time as Ruthven went around on the outside to lead coming around the turn for home.

At the top of the straight Maher’s ATC Derby fourth placed Domesday colt hit the lead, Odeon looking the danger coasting up to challenge.

Volatile Mix went up with the punters’ pick and took the lead, holding on for a half-length win over Ruthven with the favourite Odeon rounding out the SA Derby trifecta in third.

Weir became the first trainer of back-to-back South Australian Derby winners since 1996-97, while Allen’s victory saw him salute on successive champions in the race for the first time since Danny Nikolic in 2002-03.

Volatile Mix is nominated for a possible trip to Brisbane on June 10 for the $600,000 Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) at Eagle Farm, early betting for which is now led by Saturday’s Rough Habit Plate winning Kiwi Shocking Luck.

Back the next Group 1 winner over the autumn – winter racing season in Adelaide and Brisbane at the right price through Ladbrokes.com.au today.

2017 SA Derby Results & Finishing Order

Morphettville Race 7 – 13/05/2017

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 12 VOLATILE MIX (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 11 56.5kg $16
2 1 RUTHVEN Ciaron Maher Mark Zahra 0.6L 13 56.5kg $4
3 5 ODEON (NZ) Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 2.3L 3 56.5kg $3.20F
4 14 SAVVY DREAMS (NZ) Guy Lowry & Grant Cullen Paul Gatt 5.5L 14 54.5kg $17
5 4 ANAHEIM Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Ben Melham 5.7L 9 56.5kg $18
6 13 NETHERFIELD (NZ) Mick Price Damien Oliver 5.8L 8 56.5kg $6
7 3 GRAND CHANCELLOR (NZ) Phillip Stokes Noel Callow 5.9L 2 56.5kg $12
8 7 LYCURGUS Danny O’Brien Ms Katelyn Mallyon 7.2L 4 56.5kg $41
9 16 WHEAL LEISURE Archie Alexander Jordan Childs (a) 7.5L 12 54.5kg $51
10 8 CASTA Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 9.3L 7 56.5kg $71
11 6 DORNIER John Moloney Ryan Maloney 9.9L 5 56.5kg $61
12 11 HE EKSCELS (NZ) Richard Laming Jamie Mott 10.5L 10 56.5kg $21
13 15 SEDANZER Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 33.9L 1 54.5kg $21
14 9 GUN GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 34.3L 6 56.5kg $51
SB 2 WAGING WAR Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 0 56.5kg $16
SB 10 DOCKER PAV Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 0 56.5kg $51
19e ADATTO (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Craig Williams 0
20e BEDFORD (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Dwayne Dunn 0
17e ROCKSTAR REBEL Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 0
18e FONTEIN LAD Greg Eurell Ms Nikita Beriman 0


Have your say, post a comment.