2017 South Australian Derby Field: Ruthven Out Wide

May 9, 2017

2017 South Australian Derby Field: Ruthven Out Wide

Ciaron Maher’s Victorian raider Ruthven heads a capacity South Australian Derby 2017 field released for this Saturday’s feature at Morphettville but has a nasty barrier to overcome.

Darren Weir

Last year’s winning trainer Darren Weir has two runners in the 2017 SA Derby field at Morphettville Racecourse on Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A full 16 starters plus four emergencies make up final acceptances for this season’s $600,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) including ATC Derby graduate Ruthven.

Chasing his first win since last October, progressive Domesday colt Ruthven ran a brave fourth beaten just two lengths by the winner Jon Snow on April 1 at Royal Randwick in the Group 1 ATC Derby (2000m).

Last time out he dropped in distance for a second behind Toffee Nose in Caulfield’s VOBIS Gold Heath (2000m) and will relish the step back up to 2500m in the SA Derby field.

Ruthven however is drawn gate 18, which will become 14 with emergencies out, looking to be the first SA Derby winner from wider than barrier 11 since Kidnapped (16 of 16) in 2010.

Co-trainer Leon MacDonald has enjoyed two wins in the past 30 years most recently Rebel Raider (2009) and he along with Andrew Gluyas has two runners in the South Australian Derby field 2017.

The stable’s top hope of keeping the trophy at home at Morphettville shapes-up as the flying Waging War who has won his past three on the trot.

Due to be ridden by Clare Lindop, who rode the aforementioned Rebel Raider to victory for the punters, Waging War is a son of that former SA Derby champion.

The gelding has won his past three on the trot including the traditional lead-up to the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival Group 1, the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2030m) on April 29.

The Chairman’s Stakes has provided two of the past three South Australian Derby winners including Howard Be Thy Name (2016) who completed the double 12 months ago.

Also representing Macdonald & Gluyas is fellow last start winner Gun Guru, the Al Maher gelding having saluted over 2224m at Balaklava on May 3.

The other best three-year-old stayers out of the Chairman’s Stakes backing up on Saturday meanwhile are the Phillip Stokes-trained runner-up Grand Chancellor and Darren Weir’s fourth-placed Volatile Mix.

Savabeel colt Grand Chancellor was beaten under a length in the Chairman’s Stakes having previously won the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) and is drawn barrier two with Noel Callow aboard on Saturday.

Pentire colt Volatile Mix has now had two Adelaide runs leading up to the Derby and represents last year’s winning trainer Weir who is having another outstanding season.

Weir has also accepted for another Rebel Raider progeny, Rockstar Rebel coming off a second at Bendigo over 2200m under big weight.

See below for the full SA Derby 2017 field, barriers and jockeys with updated betting markets to open shortly at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2017 South Australian Derby Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 (4:25pm) – 13/05/2017

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 112×52242 RUTHVEN Ciaron Maher Mark Zahra 18 56.5kg 82
2 3341×97111 WAGING WAR Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 12 56.5kg 81
3 5×171212 GRAND CHANCELLOR (NZ) Phillip Stokes Noel Callow 2 56.5kg 80
4 3211×35496 ANAHEIM Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Ben Melham 14 56.5kg 79
5 71546×1121 ODEON (NZ) Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 5 56.5kg 79
6 718×085631 DORNIER John Moloney Ryan Maloney 8 56.5kg 73
7 4×37451610 LYCURGUS Danny O’Brien Ms Katelyn Mallyon 6 56.5kg 72
8 61275×8021 CASTA Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 11 56.5kg 68
9 8511×07021 GUN GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 10 56.5kg 68
10 011 DOCKER PAV Nick Smart Shayne Cahill 3 56.5kg 66
11 2×3331 HE EKSCELS (NZ) Richard Laming Jamie Mott 15 56.5kg 66
12 2215×5174 VOLATILE MIX (NZ) Darren Weir John Allen 16 56.5kg 66
13 2×1224 NETHERFIELD (NZ) Mick Price Damien Oliver 13 56.5kg 64
14 154230 SAVVY DREAMS (NZ) Guy Lowry & Grant Cullen Paul Gatt 19 54.5kg 77
15 6x911x7145 SEDANZER Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Stephen Baster 1 54.5kg 73
16 151305 WHEAL LEISURE Archie Alexander Jordan Childs (a) 17 54.5kg 70
17e x123x44542 ROCKSTAR REBEL Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 7 56.5kg 65
18e 5312×51372 FONTEIN LAD Greg Eurell Ms Nikita Beriman 20 56.5kg 64
19e 43451×4936 ADATTO (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Craig Williams 9 56.5kg 63
20e 76×24182 BEDFORD (NZ) Lee & Anthony Freedman Dwayne Dunn 4 56.5kg 62

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Le Romain gets top weight for ...

Youngstar and Another Dollar r...

Youngstar and Another Dollar run quinella again in 2018 Queensland Oaks

The Chris Waller trained stablemates Youngstar and Another Dollar repeated...

Impending adds value to stud c...

Impending adds value to stud career with 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup win

The James Cummings trained Impending added value to his future stud career by...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betting Update

Betting for the 2018 Group 1 $700,000 Altus Traffic Kingsford-Smith Cup...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field