2017 South Australian Derby Nominations Feature Odeon

May 2, 2017

2017 South Australian Derby Nominations Feature Odeon

The Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra-trained Odeon is one of the key three-year-olds that feature in the South Australian Derby 2017 nominations taken this week.

Darren Weir

Last year’s winning trainer Darren Weir has two 2017 South Australian Derby nominations this autumn chasing back-to-back victories in the Group 1 classic. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A major feature of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, this season’s $600,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) is set to light-up Morphettville Racecourse on Saturday May 13.

The South Australian Derby nominations closed on Tuesday May 2 and attracted 35 three-year-old stayers.

Current SA Derby odds online at Ladbrokes.com.au have Zacinto gelding Odeon sitting as the clear $4.20 favourite after his April 29 win over 2000m at Caulfield.

Prior to that the Flemington-based up-and-comer finished runner-up in the Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) at the Morphettville track he is set to return to for the Group 1.

Occupying the second and third lines of all-in South Australian Derby betting are the Darren Weir-trained Rockstar Rebel ($7) and Ruthven ($8) for Caulfield’s Ciaron Maher.

Champion Victorian trainer Weir prepared last year’s South Australian Derby winner Howard Be Thy Name who came off a lead-up win in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2000m).

Weir has two Derby nominees this autumn with Volatile Mix who ran fourth in this season’s Chairman’s Stakes on April 29 and Ruthven who is a son of the 2009 SA Derby winner Rebel Raider.

Ruthven is yet to race in Adelaide and was last seen running fourth to Toffee Nose – a key contender in the Australasian Oaks this weekend – in the VOBIS Gold Heath (2000m) at Caulfield on April 22.

Chasing the Chairman’s Stakes – South Australian Derby double completed by Howard Be Thy Name 12 months ago, is the flying Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas-trained Waging War.

Another son of Rebel Raider, who was favourite in the 2009 SA Derby, Waging War has won his past three starts on the trot including the three-quarter length victory in the Group 3 with Clare Lindop aboard.

Co-trainer Macdonald has prepared two South Australian Derby winners in the past 30 years with French Cotton (1986) and the aforementioned Rebel Raider (2009).

Along with the progressive Waging War, he and Gluyas has also nominated for Al Maher gelding Gun Guru and smart filly Pretty Punk.

The other best out of the Chairman’s Stakes nominated for the step up in class and distance for the Derby is runner-up Grand Chancellor who has finished top two in his past four runs.

Locally prepared by Phillip Stokes, the Savabeel colt beat Odeon home in the Port Adelaide Guineas two back before his second in the Chairman’s Stakes when stepping up in distance.

Other notable SA Derby entries include the Mick Price-trained Chairman’s Stakes fourth placed Darci Brahma gelding Netherfield and Crown Oaks second placed filly Harlow Gold who runs in this weekend’s Australasian Oaks.

Check out the full South Australian Derby 2017 nominations below, the final field set for release on Tuesday May 9 followed by updated odds at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2017 South Australian Derby Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 13/05/2017

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 43451×4936 ADATTO (NZ) G 3 Lee & Anthony Freedman 63
2 3211×35496 ANAHEIM C 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 79
3 989×69520 BARSHONTI G 3 John Hyam 53
4 76×24182 BEDFORD (NZ) G 3 Lee & Anthony Freedman 62
5 x5216x6877 BILLET DOUX G 3 Gordon Richards 57
6 61275×8021 CASTA G 3 Tony McEvoy 68
7 525×4221 CHARLTON C 3 Robbie Griffiths 60
8 9×42213 DODGE CITY G 3 Michael Moroney 62
9 718×085631 DORNIER G 3 John Moloney 73
10 5312×51372 FONTEIN LAD G 3 Greg Eurell 64
11 5×171212 GRAND CHANCELLOR (NZ) C 3 Phillip Stokes 80
12 98511×0702 GUN GURU G 3 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 64
13 11562×3434 HARLOW GOLD (NZ) F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 94
14 2×3331 HE EKSCELS (NZ) G 3 Richard Laming 66
15 4×37451610 LYCURGUS G 3 Danny O’Brien 72
16 936×14625 MISS STRATHALLAN F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 67
17 2×1224 NETHERFIELD (NZ) G 3 Mick Price 63
18 71546×1121 ODEON (NZ) G 3 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 79
19 2100×205 POSITIVE CARRY (NZ) G 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 62
20 21135×7347 PRETTY PUNK F 3 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 73
21 5x123x4454 ROCKSTAR REBEL C 3 Darren Weir 65
22 7x025x8316 ROSS’S POINT (NZ) G 3 Aaron Purcell 60
23 112×52242 RUTHVEN C 3 Ciaron Maher 82
24 154230 SAVVY DREAMS (NZ) F 3 Guy Lowry & Grant Cullen 77
25 5651618×83 SCRAPS G 3 Heath Conners 61
26 6520×18343 SEBRING DREAM F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 76
27 6x911x714 SEDANZER F 3 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 73
28 52316×5776 SMART AS YOU THINK F 3 John McArdle 79
29 675x08x371 THE BIG CHEESE G 3 Claudette Rose 61
30 9444×13231 TOFFEE NOSE F 3 Danny O’Brien 75
31 65640×9431 TUMULTUOUS G 3 Chris Waller 69
32 2215×5174 VOLATILE MIX (NZ) C 3 Darren Weir 66
33 3341×97111 WAGING WAR G 3 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 81
34 151305 WHEAL LEISURE F 3 Archie Alexander 70
35 x846242115 WU GOK G 3 Chris Waller 71

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field