2016 Inglis Debutant Stakes Winner Wait For No One Holds On

October 8, 2016

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2016 Inglis Debutant Stakes Winner Wait For No One Holds On

Co-trainer David Hayes and the Lindsay Park stabled kicked off Ladbrokes Guineas Day in fine style taking out the first with gutsy debut winner Wait For No One in the Inglis Debutant Stakes 2016.

Wait For No One (inside)

Wait For No One (inside) held off Spoils (outside) to win the 2016 Inglis Debutant Stakes on Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas Day. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The nicely bred Lonhro colt came off back-to-back September trial wins and franked that form first-up breaking his maiden status in the $120,000 Listed Inglis Debutant Stakes (1000m) from the inside alley.

He was quick out of barrier one and jockey Stephen Baster took him straight to the front running slick time in the two-years-old sprint.

Up front Wait For No One did all the work calling the show, while All Eez trailed close-up in second ahead of the Clinton McDonald-trained local Snitzel filly Spoils who got the lovely trail in third.

Tony McEvoy’s Master Of Design filly Miss Wahoo also settled well fourth on the inside of Lindsay Park’s other runner Feng Chu.

Baster tried to keep the favourite tight around the turn, but the still-green Wait For No One wandered as they cornered.

He hit the straight still leading, but coming quickly and starting to lift was Spoils with Corey Brown aboard.

Those two raced off from the pack and hit the line together in a photo finish.

In a gutsy effort despite looking to tire over the closing stages, Wait For No One ($4.20) on the inside held off the late lunging filly Spoils ($8) to post his first career win.

Those two really came away from the rest of the field, but finishing off the Inglis Debutant Stakes trifecta one and three-quarters back for third was Miss Wahoo ($5).

Spoils got the run of the race just off the speed and would have won in one more stride, while Miss Wahoo saved the ground and held on for her placing.

Adding merit to the winner was the fact the other on speed runner dropped out of contention.

“He’s a nice little two-year-old,” winning hoop Baster said post-race.

“We got pressured a bit early.

“All the credit to him for hanging on.”

Hayes was also impressed with the brave finish from Wait For No One who is locally bred by the stable.

“It’s nice to have a home-bred winner,” Hayes, who trains in partnership with his son Ben and nephew Tom Dabernig, said.

“The horse that nearly beat him had the dream run. We did all the work up front so I think there’s quite a bit of merit to the win.

“If he was a weaker horse he would have got beaten.

“He’s a pretty good colt this one.”

Wait For No One could now be sent back to the paddock to mature ahead of an autumn return or progress onto something like the $250,000 Inglis Banner (1000m) on Cox Plate Day in a fortnight.

To back the Lindsay Park contingent across the Caulfield card at the right price make sure you’ve got an account open and ready to go at Ladbrokes.com.au.

2016 Inglis Debutant Stakes Results & Finishing Order

Caulfield Race 1 – 08/10/2016

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 9 WAIT FOR NO ONE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Stephen Baster 1 57kg $4F
2 11 SPOILS Clinton McDonald Corey Brown 0.1L 5 55kg $7.50
3 10 MISS WAHOO Tony McEvoy Kerrin McEvoy 1.85L 2 55kg $5.50
4 5 FENG CHU David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 1.95L 3 57kg $9
5 8 SUNQUEST Steve Richards Hugh Bowman 5.45L 8 57kg $31
6 4 COLUMBIA Ciaron Maher Nicholas Hall 5.85L 4 57kg $17
7 3 BANTER Lee & Anthony Freedman Daniel Moor 6.6L 7 57kg $7
8 2 ALL EEZ Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 7.35L 9 57kg $12
9 7 PLATINUM John O’Shea James McDonald 8.35L 6 57kg $7
1 DOUBLE JEOPARDY Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 0
6 JUKEBOX Ciaron Maher Craig Williams 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field