Hauraki Last to First 2016 Epsom Handicap Winner

October 1, 2016

Hauraki Last to First 2016 Epsom Handicap Winner

In an incredible Epsom Handicap 2016 result that will go down in the history books, the Godolphin-raced Hauraki came from last to first with incredible late speed to take out the mile classic by a nose.


Hauraki came from last to first in an incredible late run to win the 2016 Epsom Handicap. PHoto: Steve Hart.

Trainer John O’Shea won the race for the first time a decade ago with Racing To Win (2006) and was back 10 years later for the Godolphin stable with the ultra-consistent Reset gelding Hauraki.

A 13-starter field lined up in the $1 million Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) at Royal Randwick this Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, Hauraki coming into the race on the back of a brave third to Australia’s best racehorse Winx in the Group 1 George Main Stakes at the same track / distance.

Winx won last year’s Epsom Handicap and Hauraki franked that form with the shock late victory this season.

After winning her ninth Flight Stakes trophy the run before with Global Glamour, Gai Waterhouse looked like she would score her eighth Epsom Handicap when the Frenchman Johan Victoire went straight to the front on Fabrizio.

The High Chaparral five-year-old, a winner of five of his eight starts before the big step up in grade for the Epsom, raced out to a massive lead from the Randwick Guineas winner Le Romain and the Chris Waller-trained Mackintosh who was quickly into stride for third.

James McDonald meanwhile took Hauraki right to the back of the pack and let the one-time favourite settle behind his 12 rivals.

Fabrizio set a blistering pace and was up to eight lengths ahead of Sons Of John by midway through the race, opening up a massive gap while the favourite Palentino was racing off the track mid-field a touch keen with the blinkers on.

Around the bend and onto the straight Fabrizio was still in front putting on a display as the likes of Jason Attard’s Bill Ritchie winner Sons Of John, Waller’s Theo Marks champ Mackintosh and the Lindsay Park-trained Tramway placegetter Dibayani started to close the gap.

Le Romain was also giving chase, but was run down and forced out of the money.

In the final 100m Hauraki ($7), quick as a flash, stormed down the outside and raced right over the top of them bobbing at the right time to beat Dibayani ($26) by a nose with Mackintosh ($9.50) finishing off the Epsom Handicap trifecta in third.

The Epsom Handicap winner came from nowhere, but once in the clear he and McDonald motored home and made up all the ground in an incredible performance.

“Nothing went really right early,” McDonald said post-win.

“But to come away with a win in the Epsom, John’s timed his preparation to perfection.

“Between him [O’Shea] and the team, all the credit to them.”

O’Shea was left speechless with the win, having conceded a loss until the final seconds.

“We didn’t even have time to cheer he come that quick,” he said.

“I can’t believe it. I’ll take it, but I can’t believe it.

“It’s just been a great team effort to come here today and get one of those James McDonald specials.


Winx backed up from her Epsom success last year to make history with a Moonee Valley win in the $3 million Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m).

Hauraki could be set for the same interstate spring double holding an entry for Australasia’s weight-for-age championship in Melbourne on October 22.

Check the latest 2016 Cox Plate odds on the Epsom Handicap champ Hauraki now at Ladbrokes.com.au!

2016 Epsom Handicap Results & Finishing Order

Randwick Race 7 – 01/10/2016

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 2 HAURAKI John O’Shea James McDonald 10 56kg $6.50
2 6 DIBAYANI (IRE) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 0.1L 11 54kg $26
3 8 MACKINTOSH (NZ) Chris Waller Tommy Berry 0.3L 2 52kg $9.50
4 4 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 0.6L 1 55kg $9
5 3 LE ROMAIN Kris Lees Hugh Bowman 1.2L 3 55.5kg $10
6 9 MCCREERY (GB) Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 1.6L 4 51.5kg $6.50
7 10 HEAVENS ABOVE Tim Martin Corey Brown 1.7L 8 51kg $17
8 12 TORGERSEN (NZ) Chris Waller Ms Kathy O’Hara 2.4L 5 50kg $31
9 11 VANBRUGH Chris Waller Craig Newitt 2.7L 7 51kg $19
10 13 FABRIZIO Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Johan Victoire 3.5L 6 50kg $6EF
11 5 MIGHTY LUCKY Fred Cowell Chris O’Brien 6.6L 12 54.5kg $51
12 7 SONS OF JOHN Jason Attard Glen Boss 6.8L 13 53kg $17
13 1 PALENTINO Darren Weir Mark Zahra 7.7L 9 57kg $6EF

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field