2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Form Guide & Betting Preview

A star-studded field of gallopers take to the Caulfield track on Saturday in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2016, a detailed form guide analysis and betting preview for the handicap clash found below.

Damien Oliver

Jockey Damien Oliver shoots for a seventh Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes win in the 2016 edition aboard Xtravagant this weekend at Caulfield Racecourse. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Set to run as Caulfield Race 7 at 4:15pm (AEST), the field for this season’s $500,000 Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) is down to 15 after the early scratching of Tycoon Tara.

Only 14 are likely to line-up however with Robert Smerdon confirming plays to also scratch the 58kg top weight Under The Louvre in favour of a Group 2 Premiere Stakes (1200m) run in Sydney Saturday week.

Heading the latest Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes betting odds at Ladbrokes.com.au at $3.80 is Chris Waller’s Group 1 placed four-year-old Counterattack to be ridden by the race’s second most successful jockey Craig Williams.

Williams shoots for his sixth win in the race after posting his fifth win aboard the Darren Weir-trained Stratum Star (2015) last year.

Following Counterattack in the markets are the likes of Voodoo Lad ($4.60) for Weir and the local Ciaron Maher-trained stallion Bon Aurum ($6) getting in well with the weights on the 52kg minimum.

To uncover any value in the markets we take a look at the full Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes form, betting history and statistics below to find out who to back and who to sack in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival feature.

2016 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner was the Darren Weir-trained Stratum Star (2015) who came off a third in the Memsie Stakes, jumped from barrier 15 (of 18) with Craig Williams aboard and started at odds of 8/1 carrying 54.5kg
  • Darren Weir also won the race two years ago with Trust In A Gust (2014) and shoots for his third on the trot this weekend with #7 Voodoo Lad ($4.60) and #13 Telopea ($26)
  • Along with Darren Weir (3-2-0-0) the other previous Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winning trainers with a runner on Saturday are: David Hayes (16-1-2-0) who co-trains #4 Fast ‘N’ Rocking ($26) in partnership with his son Ben and nephew Tom Dabernig; and Michael Moroney (10-1-0-0) with #9 Tivaci ($11)
  • Last year’s winning hoop Craig Williams shoots for back-to-back wins on #6 Counterattack ($3.80) and has won the race a total of five times to date
  • Along with Craig Williams (13-5-0-0) the other previous Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winning jockeys with a ride on the weekend are: Damien Oliver (18-6-2-1) on #2 Xtravagant, Damian Lane (2-1-0-0) on #3 Rangipo, Stephen Baster (15-1-0-1) on #4 Fast ‘N’ Rocking, Kerrin McEvoy (7-1-0-0) on #11 Bon Aurum, and Corey Brown (5-1-0-2) on #12 Thames Court
  • Last year’s winning barrier (15) has produced a total of 5 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners (since 1983) making it the most successful gate in that time; it was drawn this year by #3 Rangipo but won’t be in play once Under The Louvre is scratched leaving a 14-starter field
  • The Memsie Stakes produced last year’s winner Stratum Star (3rd in 2015) and has proved a good Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes form line to follow over the past decade; the only Memsie Stakes graduate in the mix this year is Charmed Harmony (9th)
  • The Bobbie Lewis Quality has produced four of the past eight Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winners with the double last completed by Bon Hoffa (2007); the Bobbie Lewis Quality graduates in the mix this year (excluding Under The Louvre) are: Tivaci (2nd) and Xtravagant (12th)
  • Since Testa Rossa (58.5kg in 2000) only one Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner has carried more than 55.5kg to victory in the race with Toorak Toff (56.5kg in 2011); this rules out #1 Under The Louvre (58kg) and #2 Xtravagant (56.5kg)
  • Four-year-olds have won the past six editions of the race (2010-15); the 4YOs in the mix this year are: #2 Xtravagant, #3 Rangipo, #6 Counterattack, #9 Tivaci, #10 Badawiya, #11 Bon Aurum, #12 Thames Court, #14 Well Sprung and #16 Mr Individual
  • Two mares have won the race in the past decade; the mares in the mix on Saturday are: #10 Badawiya, #12 Thames Court and #13 Telopea
  • Favourites have saluted for the punters three times in the past four years; this year’s favourite is #6 Counterattack
  • The best Win Rate of the field belongs to #2 Xtravagant (55%) followed by #3 Rangipo (54%) and #7 Voodoo Lad (53%)
  • The highest Place Rate of the field belongs to #7 Voodoo Lad (100%) followed by #12 Thames Court (78%)
  • Over the distance (1400m) the runners with the best winning form are: #5 Charmed Harmony (19-8-2-0), #2 Xtravagant (4-4-0-0), #13 Telopea (8-4-2-0), #11 Bon Aurum (5-3-0-1), #1 Under The Louvre (9-2-4-1), #3 Rangipo (3-2-0-0) and #10 Badawiya (3-2-0-0)
  • At the track (Caulfield) the best winning form belongs to: #1 Under The Louvre (10-2-5-2), #4 Fast ‘N’ Rocking (19-3-3-2), #5 Charmed Harmony (11-3-3-0), #16 Mr Individual (5-2-1-0), #7 Voodoo Lad (1-1-0-0) and #11 Bon Aurum (4-1-0-1)

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for our insider Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes 2016 betting tips to be published shortly.

In the meantime check out the full form guide provided by Ladbrokes.com.au – home of the weekend’s top racing odds and offers!


Have your say, post a comment.