Chautauqua Heads 2016 Manikato Stakes Nominations

Last year’s winner Chautauqua is the headliner among the 40 Manikato Stakes 2016 nominations taken by Racing Victoria (RV) for the Moonee Valley feature set to run on Cox Plate eve.


Defending champ Chautauqua headlines the 2016 Manikato Stakes nominations this spring. Photo: Steve Hart.

Highlighting the action under the lights at the Valley on the evening of Friday, October 21, is the $1 million Manikato Stakes (1200m).

Manikato Stakes nominations closed on Tuesday along with those for a host of other Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival majors including the Victoria Derby, Crown Oaks and Darley Classic during.

Numbers for the weight-for-age sprint are down from 55 at Manikato Stakes nomination stage this time last year.

The Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained Chautauqua is the headline nominee and early Manikato Stakes betting favourite pre-field at to successfully defend his title.

The now six-year-old son of Encosta De Lago hasn’t raced since taking out the Group 1 Chairman’s Sprint (1200m) at Sha Tin in Hong Kong back in May.

The five-time Group 1 winner has won over $6.5 million in prize money and won the Manikato Stakes third-up last spring.

He is expected to resume on September 30 at Moonee Valley in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1000m) and is looking to go back-to-back in the Manikato Stakes for the first time since Spark Of Life (2004-05).

Co-trainer John Hawkes also won the Manikato Stakes back in 1994 with Spanish Mix.

The stable of a total of three nominees this season with Chautauqua joined by stablemates Kaepernick and Our Boy Malachi.

Incredibly the past three Manikato Stakes winners are also nominated for this year’s edition with Chautauqua (2015) joined by Lankan Rupee (2014) and Buffering (2013) in the early entries.

The Mick Price-trained Lankan Rupee’s last turf triumph was in February of 2015, while he hasn’t raced since October last year.

He will tackle the Manikato Stakes first-up off the lengthy year-long break according to Price, before heading to Flemington during the Melbourne Cup Carnival for a shot at the $1 million Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m).

Buffering meanwhile is back in Australia and trialling well for his Brisbane trainer Robert Heathcote after his failed 14th in the Chairman’s Sprint behind Chautauqua in Hong Kong.

The veteran nine-year-old son of Mossman has won over $7.2 million over his 53 career start to date and will be out to atone for his fifth in last year’s Manikato Stakes, which followed his third Moir Stakes win in four years.

Last year’s Manikato Stakes third-placegetter Rebel Dane is also nominated for a shot at the title in 2016 for Sydney’s Gary Portelli.

The seven-year-old stallion hasn’t won a race since the 2015 The Shorts first-up last September, but has plenty of smart form in top company and was only two lengths off Chautauqua in the Manikato Stakes result last season.

Other notable entries include the Chris Waller-trained Coolmore Stud Stakes winner Japonisme, the John O’Shea-trained internationally performed four-year-old Holler, Gai Waterhouse’s All Aged Stakes winning mare English and the Darren Weir-trained Lucky Hussler.

The 2016 Manikato Stakes first acceptances close at midday (local time) on October 4.

See below for the full Manikato Stakes 2016 nominations before heading to for access to all the best Group 1 futures markets this spring!

2016 Manikato Stakes Nominations

Moonee Valley Race 6 – 21/10/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer
1 0x424x19x8 ALPHA MISS M 5 Robert Smerdon
2 1x101x11 ASTERN C 3 John O’Shea
3 x3223x68x2 BALL OF MUSCLE G 6 Joseph Pride
4 1x22x4 BATTLECAMP (NZ) G 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman
5 x15411x10x BUFFERING G 9 Robert Heathcote
6 1x1121x4x CAPITALIST C 3 Peter & Paul Snowden
7 1112x1311x CHAUTAUQUA G 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
8 13x35217x2 COUNTERATTACK H 4 Chris Waller
9 2210×18 DEFCON C 3 Peter & Paul Snowden
10 13x73525x4 DOTHRAKI G 6 Peter & Paul Snowden
11 126x1631x5 ENGLISH M 4 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
12 2346x115x1 FAATINAH G 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
13 x048346230 FAST ’N’ ROCKING G 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
14 11x242156x FELL SWOOP G 5 Matthew Dale
15 2617x1100x FLAMBERGE G 7 Darren Weir
16 11x16515x GHISONI M 4 John O’Shea
17 3821x0x101 HELLBENT H 4 Darren Weir
18 21x1512x7x HOLLER H 4 John O’Shea
19 1x35313x60 JAPONISME G 4 Chris Waller
20 x0130x10x3 KAEPERNICK G 5 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
21 112x083x21 KEEN ARRAY G 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
22 1x16x204x7 KINGLIKE H 4 Gerald Ryan
23 213x169x3x LANKAN RUPEE G 7 Mick Price
24 46136x129x LUCKY HUSSLER G 7 Darren Weir
25 0x411L0x55 MISS PROMISCUITY M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
26 2115x17x35 O’MALLEY G 6 Enver Jusufovic
27 1x130x154x OUR BOY MALACHI G 8 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
28 435x00110x RAGEESE H 4 Darren Weir
29 354094×236 REBEL DANE H 7 Gary Portelli
30 55x2215x11 REDZEL G 4 Peter & Paul Snowden
31 11x324314x RUETTIGER (NZ) G 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman
32 111x RUSSIAN REVOLUTION C 3 Peter & Paul Snowden
33 x19230x393 SANTA ANA LANE G 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman
34 11x34127x4 SHEIDEL M 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
35 0x7236033x STRATUM STAR H 5 Darren Weir
36 21x361539x THE QUARTERBACK G 6 Robbie Griffiths
37 2111x4160x TURN ME LOOSE (NZ) H 5 Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman
38 264x321x24 UNDER THE LOUVRE H 6 Robert Smerdon
39 13×1212311 VOODOO LAD G 5 Darren Weir
40 2152911×63 WE’VE GOT THIS G 5 Greg Eurell


Have your say, post a comment.