Miss Promiscuity Tops 2016 Cockram Stakes Nominations

August 23, 2016

Miss Promiscuity Tops 2016 Cockram Stakes Nominations

The Lindsay Park-trained Miss Promiscuity is the highest-rated of the Cockram Stakes 2016 nominations taken for the Caulfield Racecourse sprint this weekend.

Miss Promiscuity

Miss Promiscuity is the highest-rated Cockram Stakes nominee for the 2016 edition at Caulfield on Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

On Monday Racing Victoria took a bumper 25 entries for the $150,000 Group 3 W.W. Cockram Stakes (1200m), the mares’ only event one of the key support acts on the Memsie Stakes Day card.

Magnus six-year-old Miss Promiscuity has a two-from-four first-up record to date she’ll be out to add to on the weekend if accepted.

The mare is looking to atone for her last start 12th to Black Heart Bart in the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) at Adelaide from May, while her last win was in the VOBIS Gold Sprint (1200m) at Caulfield in mid-April.

Caulfield is her pet track (8-4-2-1) and the return home for the David & Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig-trained mare could see a return to form also.

Hayes and Dabernig have a total of four Cockram Stakes nominees.

Their other entries are Jessy Belle whose last run was a fifth in the Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m) in Brisbane from June 25, Snitzel mare Kayjay’s Joy who has an outstanding Caulfield record (5-3-0-1) and the in-form Redoute’s Choice four-year-old Majestic Lass stepping up in class.

After Miss Promiscuity the other highest-rated Cockram Stakes nominee is the Nikki Burke-trained Niello seven-year-old Nautical from Cranbourne.

The veteran mare has had seven runs at Caulfield for two seconds and two thirds, but has better 1200m form (9-3-3-2) and runs well fresh (8-3-2-1).

She was last seen racing down the Flemington straight on May 21 for a narrow win in the Listed The Straight Six (1200m) as a 26/1 roughie.

Also coming off a last start Flemington win is the Darren Weir-trained Telopea who won the Leilani Final (1400m) on July 9, the British-bred daughter of Pivotal a winner of six of her 13 starts.

Tony McEvoy has nominated his Not A Single Doubt four-year-old Don’t Doubt Mamma who chases her first Melbourne win since the Group 3 The Vanity (1400m) from February, while the David Brideoake-trained daughter of Commands Thames Court is unbeaten over the distance.

She was last over the line at Morphettville in April, but is tipped for an improved run in Victoria first-up having won both of her resuming runs to date and both 1200m runs also.

Other notable hopes include the in-form Ocean Embers coming off an 1100m win at the track from August 13 and the Team Hawkes-trained runner-up in the same lead-up Cana.

Last year’s Cockram Stakes winner was the since retired Lee & Shannon Hope-trained Madam Gangster (2015) who won first-up having run fourth in the Emancipation Stakes from that autumn.

Team Hope have the chance at back-to-back wins this Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival nominating for Al Maher six-year-old Choose who has a strong record at the distance (7-4-0-1).

See below for the full W.W. Cockram Stakes 2016 nominations, the field and barriers out on Wednesday followed by betting at Ladbrokes.com.au – home of Odds Boost (T&Cs apply).

2016 W.W. Cockram Stakes Nominations

Caulfield Racecourse – 27/08/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 920x411L0x MISS PROMISCUITY M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 1 57kg 102
2 9296x10x1x NAUTICAL M 7 Nikki Burke 2 57kg 95
3 1613x1210x DON’T DOUBT MAMMA M 4 Tony McEvoy 3 57kg 91
4 1353x110x THAMES COURT M 4 David Brideoake 4 57kg 77
5 52114160×8 SHAKESPEAREAN LASS M 5 Pat Carey 5 56kg 92
6 x84537635x JESSY BELLE M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 6 55kg 93
7 128x13838x CHOOSE M 6 Lee & Shannon Hope 7 55kg 92
8 3442×49814 AWASITA M 6 Kris Lees 8 55kg 80
9 50x047x882 MY SISTER LIL M 6 John Price 9 55kg 82
10 11×5183215 A LOTTA LOVE M 5 Sam Pritchard-Gordon 10 55kg 87
11 131170x15x KAYJAY’S JOY M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 11 55kg 89
12 1×44421221 TELOPEA (GB) M 6 Darren Weir 12 55kg 90
13 37x1117x57 MISS SOFTHANDS M 7 Colin Little 13 55kg 82
14 2110×14991 ANDRASSY M 5 Allison Sheehan 14 55kg 84
15 122225×6 MOSSIN’ AROUND M 4 Grahame Begg 15 55kg 75
16 x60065x098 SOOSA RAMA M 6 Colin Little 16 55kg 72
17 156×121 OCEAN EMBERS M 4 Shea Eden 17 55kg 85
18 11x63464x2 CANA M 4 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 18 55kg 73
19 7427069543 TAKEOVER (NZ) M 9 Don Dwyer 19 55kg 67
20 27x152x114 MAJESTIC LASS M 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 20 55kg 73
21 7x3131203x EGYPT M 4 Mark Kavanagh 21 55kg 75
22 7x8335x368 GOLD HEIST M 7 Lisa Enright 22 55kg 69
23 14758×5867 SAGABELLA M 6 Todd Balfour 23 55kg 61
24 128416×1 LAKE COMO (NZ) M 4 Pat Hyland 24 55kg 70
25 91380×0506 MAKE HER OWN WHEY M 4 Shaun Dwyer 25 55kg 60

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field