Karlovasi Tops 2016 Lightning Stakes Nominations

July 25, 2016

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Karlovasi Tops 2016 Lightning Stakes Nominations

The feature race in Adelaide this Saturday is the Lighting Stakes 2016 at Morphettville Racecourse, nominations for which are led by Richard Jolly’s in-form young sprinter Karlovasi.

Karlovasi (inside)

Karlovasi (inside) is one of a host of young last start winners nominated for Saturday’s 2016 Lightning Stakes in South Australia. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

The three-year-old Reaan gelding is one of a bumper 34 nominations taken for this year’s edition of the $100,000 Listed Lightning Stakes (1050m) open only to two and three-year-old runners.

Karlovasi has won four of his 16 starts to date including a Three-Years-Old Plate over 1200m at Morphettville on July 2.

Jolly has also nominated for his Dane Shadow filly Heartz Ablaze looking to atone for a last as the beaten favourite at the track on June 18 and flying two-year-old Time Out.

The young Snippetson gelding ran second three times on the trot in May – June before winning of the 1050m at Morphettville at the start of the month and returns to the track and distance for his stakes debut on Saturday.

Among the other last start winners nominated for this season’s Lighting Stakes are the Tony McEvoy-trained Choisir gelding Ascendance, Group 3 performed Beneteau filly from Victoria Ocean Embers who won over 1100m at Caulfield on July 2 and the undefeated David Jolly-trained Kaphero filly Showpero who has won her opening two starts at Morphettville Parks.

Another notable Melbourne visitor in the mix is the Robert Smerdon-trained Sebring filly Motown Lil, the two-year-old yet to break her maiden status from five runs.

Two back she ran second at Morphettville behind Modern Wonder in the Listed Dequetteville Stakes (1050m) before a last start third behind Athena Lass in the wet at Moonee Valley on July 13.

Other interstate visitors include Paul Rocke’s Not A Single Doubt filly from Mornington Certain Ellie, the David Hayes & Tom Dabernig-trained two-year-old daughter of More Than Ready Clockwork Orange, Clinton McDonald’s Exceed And Excel colt Danuki and the returning Darren Weir-trained Snitzel filly Cool Snitzel prepared at Ballarat.

Cool Snitzel has had one start for one win at Morphettville and is three-from-three over the 1050m distance of Saturday’s short-distance clash.

Also in good form are the likes of John Hickmott’s Red Arrow colt Arrow Lane and John McArdle’s Hard Spun gelding Power Trip.

The Mornington-trained Power Trip ran a brave fourth behind Extreme Choice in the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield back in late February, the two-year-old a Group 3 winner down the Flemington straight last Melbourne Cup Carnival.

His latest run was a sixth to Seaburge in Flemington’s Group 2 VRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) on March 12, the young gun coming off a winning Cranbourne barrier trial over 760m from earlier this month.

See below for the full Adelaide Lightning Stakes 2016 nominations, the final field and barriers set for release on Wednesday.

Now is the ideal time to discover the benefits of betting online as new depositing players that quote the code BETBONUS are eligible for up to $500 in bonus bets!

2016 Lightning Stakes Nominations

Morphettville Racecourse – 30/07/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 ANGELUCCI (NZ) C 2 Lloyd Kennewell 59
2 33 ARIZONA WILDCAT F 2 Lloyd Kennewell 59
3 6 ARMANDO G 2 Lloyd Kennewell 57
4 2132 ARROW LANE C 2 John Hickmott 63
5 x4146x1741 ASCENDANCE G 3 Tony McEvoy 69
6 341170×679 CERTAIN ELLIE F 3 Paul Rocke 66
7 6×4 CLOCKWORK ORANGE F 2 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 60
8 19x14x3 COCOA DOLL F 3 Phillip Stokes 68
9 10x114x COOL SNITZEL F 3 Darren Weir 72
10 5112148104 DANCE WITH FONTEIN F 3 Robbie Griffiths 72
11 2x204x323x DANUKI C 3 Clinton McDonald 67
12 7261245533 DECONI F 3 Stuart Webb 63
13 560x HALAYR ROTHESTAR G 3 Grant Young 51
14 x36416x128 HEARTZ ABLAZE F 3 Richard Jolly 69
15 4x423136x1 KARLOVASI G 3 Richard Jolly 74
16 7×1 LIFE’S REWARD G 2 David Tootell 62
17 5x81427x12 LOPE DE CAPIO G 3 Wayne Francis & Glen Kent 67
18 4 LORD ZIDANE C 2 Matthew Seyers 58
19 4×2 MANUEL C 2 Tony McEvoy 62
20 45x22x3 MOTOWN LIL F 2 Robert Smerdon 67
21 156×1 OCEAN EMBERS F 3 Shea Eden 70
22 3418×14537 OUR VIDIA (NZ) F 3 Byron Cozamanis 71
23 1x4646x POWER TRIP G 2 John McArdle 71
24 60×25100 PRONTEZZA F 3 Robert Smerdon 61
25 25x SAWAIKI C 2 Lloyd Kennewell 60
26 3518268×31 SCHIZLE G 3 Ryan Balfour 64
27 11 SHOWPERO F 2 David Jolly 68
28 46×6168810 SOUND WORKS F 3 Michael Moroney 67
29 1108x SWORD OF LIGHT F 2 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 73
30 4×42221 TIME OUT G 2 Richard Jolly 67
31 21113×614 VICKI’S BOY G 3 Ken Sweeney 72
32 67x361179x VIDDORA F 3 Lloyd Kennewell 73
33 1x25x1285 WIND FORCE C 3 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 65
34 6x96536x1 WINGARD’S MARK G 3 Gordon Richards 61

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Written By Is The 2018 Ladbrok...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal for Magic Millions Sprint Winner Viddora

Young South Australian horseman Lloyd Kennewell has named Sydney’s 2018 The...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Hobartville Stakes Race D...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 Expressway Stakes nominations

Golden Rose winner Trapeze Artist is among the nominations for the Group 2...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field