2016 Tattersall’s Tiara Field: Azkadellia Draws 11

June 22, 2016

2016 Tattersall’s Tiara Field: Azkadellia Draws 11

Ciaron Maher’s short-priced favourite Azkadellia has suffered an early blow drawing wide in barrier 11 for Saturday’s Tattersall’s Tiara 2016 field at Eagle Farm Racecourse.


Early 2016 Tattersall’s Tiara favourite Azkadellia has drawn barrier 11 for Saturday’s Eagle Farm Group 1. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Bringing elite level racing in Australia to a close for another season, this year’s $500,000 Group 1 Tattersall’s Club Tiara (1400m) attracted 16 final acceptors on Wednesday.

Due to run as Eagle Farm Race 8 at 3:17pm (AEST), the weight-for-age Queensland Winter Racing Carnival classic has been tipped as the even for Azkadellia to return to Group 1 winning form in after back-to-back Brisbane losses.

She won the Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) in Sydney in April before a second in the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1350m) last month and a failed 10th after a run on the wrong part of the Eagle Farm track in the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) a fortnight ago.

The four-year-old daughter of Shinko King has dominated early Tattersall’s Tiara betting at Ladbrokes.com.au despite the Stradbroke loss, but has work to do after her double-digit draw.

That said, history shows that three of the past four Tattersall’s Tiara winners jumped from wide alleys including Srikandi (15 of 15) for Maher 12 months ago.

Nicholas Hall replaces Damien Oliver in the saddle of Azkadellia on Saturday who, if successful, will be the first mare to win the Tiara off a last-start loss in five years.

The latest four champions won their final lead-up and three runners fit that brief this year including the Kris Lees-trained Danish Twist who came up trumps in the Tattersall’s Tiara barrier draw with gate one.

Hugh Bowman rides the flying daughter of Dane Shadow who is looking to extend her winning streak to five on the trot after her latest victory in the Listed June Stakes (1100m) at Randwick a fortnight ago.

Yosei (2011) was the last Tattersall’s Tiara winner to salute from barrier one.

Last year’s winning Tiara barrier (15) belongs on Saturday to Lees’ other runner, Onemorezeta, who comes off a fourth in the Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m) on Stradbroke Day.

The Dane Ripper has produced four Tiara champions in the past seven years including Red Tracer (2013) and Cosmic Endeavour (2014) who both completed the double.

This year it is the David Pfieffer-trained Easy Rocking seven-year-old Cradle Me backing up off the Dane Ripper win at the same track and distance on June 11.

In the Group 2 she had barrier one, but the veteran will start from 13 with Zac Purton retaining the ride this weekend as Cradle Me looks to become the first ever Tattersall’s Tiara winner older than five-years-old.

The other best two out of the Dane Ripper Stakes running in the rematch this Saturday are the Peter & Paul Snowden-trained Artistry (2nd) and Jessy Belle (3rd) for Luke Oliver drawn in gates 12 and seven respectively.

The widest barrier belongs to the Robert Smerdon-trained My Poppette (16) who is one of two fillies taking on the older mares in the race.

Fillies have a strong record in the Tattersall’s Tiara with five wins in the past eight years and the other three-year-old in the line-up on Saturday is Liam Birchley’s Listed Gai Waterhouse Classic winner at Ipswich last Saturday Blueberry Hill (8).

See below for the full Tattersall’s Club Tiara 2016 field, barriers and jockeys before heading to Ladbrokes.com.au for the best markets on the last Group 1 of the season!

2016 Tattersall’s Tiara Final Field & Barrier Draw

Eagle Farm Race 8 (3:17pm) – 25/06/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 23×2123120 AZKADELLIA (NZ) Ciaron Maher Nicholas Hall 11 57kg 109
2 23×5231111 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Hugh Bowman 1 57kg 102
3 02010×2116 PRECIOUS GEM Henry Dwyer Blake Shinn 4 57kg 106
4 11×5450321 CRADLE ME David Pfieffer Zac Purton 13 57kg 105
5 954835×274 MISS COVER GIRL Kelly Schweida Damian Browne 9 57kg 91
6 37×8453763 JESSY BELLE Luke Oliver Chris Symons 7 57kg 93
7 14394×1170 SULTRY FEELING James Cummings James Orman (a) 14 57kg 99
8 78×2495339 PRESS REPORT Lee Curtis Ryan Wiggins 5 57kg 86
9 510×571084 SCARLET BILLOWS Darren Weir Jack Hill 10 57kg 96
10 02x409x063 ECHO GAL Gai Waterhouse Ms Tegan Harrison 3 57kg 91
11 111×418552 ARTISTRY Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 12 57kg 100
12 6420143116 PALAZZO PUBBLICO Matthew Smith Michael Cahill 6 57kg 88
13 2×47702224 ONEMOREZETA Kris Lees Jeff Lloyd 15 57kg 90
14 4135×12636 BEATNIKS Steven O’dea Paul Hammersley 2 57kg 88
15 2126×68781 BLUEBERRY HILL Liam Birchley Jim Byrne 8 55.5kg 89.5
16 x47317x340 MY POPPETTE Robert Smerdon Chris Parnham 16 55.5kg 85

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Waller to have multiple runner...

Waller to have multiple runners in 2018 Queensland Oaks

Recently inducted Hall Of Fame trainer Chris Waller is likely to have multiple...

McDonald to team up with Care ...

McDonald to team up with Care To Think in the 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

James McDonald will be hoping for a quick return to the Group 1 winner’s stall...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin&...

2018 Doomben Cup winner Comin’ Through beats stablemate Egg Tart

The Chris Waller trained Comin’ Through claimed his first Group 1 victory when...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field