2016 QTC Cup Results: Spill The Beans Wins for Punters

June 11, 2016

2016 QTC Cup Results: Spill The Beans Wins for Punters

The punters were rewarded in the fifth at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Stradbroke Handicap Day with the Gerald Ryan-trained favourite Spill The Beans holding off the late comers for a brave QTC Cup 2016 win.

Spill The Beans

Stud-bound Spill The Beans enjoyed a win for the punters in the 2016 QTC Cup on Stradbroke Handicap Day in Brisbane. Photo: Daniel Costello.

The wet conditions in Brisbane looked ideal last week for the Snitzel colt, but with racing cancelled on Oaks Day Ryan and connections had to wait a week for the rescheduled $175,000 Group 2 QTC Cup (1300m).

There was still enough sting out of the ground to suit three-year-old Spill The Beans however who gave Queensland’s Aquis Farm an early reward with the Group 2 win after they purchased the colt to stand at stud on their inaugural stallion roster.

Tim Clark rode the horse to victory two back in the Group 3 Hawkesbury Guineas (1400m) in late April before James McDonald had the ride last time out when Spill The Beans ran second at Scone on May 14 in the Inglis Guineas (1400m).

Clark was back aboard for the QTC Cup and continued his good record on the now five-time winner who he hopes will race on for another season before heading to stud.

“I have a good record on this bloke,” Clark said post-win.

“He’s been a good horse to me.

“We had to wait a week, but he was really good. Really brave even though he was out on his feet late.

“Hopefully he can race on before going to stud.”

Eloping lead the QTC Cup field around this Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, while the eventual winner Spill The Beans settled into second just ahead of Trubia in third.

At the top of the straight it was still Eloping and Spill The Beans fighting it out up front, before the favourite got in front and led the way from 250m out from the line.

The backmarkers came flashing home late however with the Darren Weir-trained top weight Stratum Star and John O’Shea’s four-year-old Federal putting in a genuine challenge.

While he couldn’t run away from them, Spill The Beans ($4.80) just kept going and held on for the win ahead of Sam Clipperton’s mount Federal ($11) with Stratum Star ($12), ridden by Brad Rawiller, finishing off the QTC Cup trifecta in third.

Did you back this year’s QTC Cup winner at Ladbrokes.com.au? If not you might have settled for second best odds so make sure you have access to the best markets by signing-up with Ladbrokes today!

2016 QTC Cup Results & Finishing Order

Eagle Farm Race 5 – 11/06/2016

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 11 SPILL THE BEANS Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 11 53kg $4.40F
2 10 FEDERAL John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 0.2L 7 53kg $7
3 1 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 0.4L 3 59kg $10
4 15 MISS COVER GIRL Kelly Schweida Jim Byrne 0.6L 5 53kg $26
5 4 SNIPPETS LAND Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 2.9L 6 55kg $5.50
6 12 ECHO GAL Gai Waterhouse Joao Moreira 3.7L 4 53kg $21
7 14 TIMELESS PRINCE Tony Newing Christian Reith 4.2L 2 53kg $101
8 16e TRUBIA Michael Lakey Bobby El-Issa 4.6L 13 53kg $10
9 13 I AM ZELADY Joseph Pride Jason Collett 5.1L 12 53kg $15
10 6 PERFECT FIT (NZ) Ken & Bev Kelso Michael Coleman 5.2L 8 53kg $6.50
11 17e TADDEI TONDO Gerard Moloney Robbie Fradd 5.4L 9 53kg $51
12 8 ELOPING Peter Robl Ms Tegan Harrison 6.4L 10 53kg $10
FF 2 TARGET IN SIGHT Joseph Pride James McDonald 1 56kg $6.50
19e TAN TAT DIAMOND Steven O’dea 0
20e LIBERATION Barry Lockwood 0
18e LE CORDON BLEU Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 0
3 THAT’S A GOOD IDEA Peter & Paul Snowden Tye Angland 0
9 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Chad Schofield 0
5 STEEL ZIP Pat Duff Jeff Lloyd 0
7 SULTRY FEELING James Cummings Michael Cahill 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Weir’s pair puts plenty ...

Weir’s pair puts plenty of quality into 2018 Eye Liner Stakes nominations

The Darren Weir trained Group 1 winner Lucky Hussler and Japanese import Danon...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Str...

Santa Ana Lane is the 2018 Stradbroke Handicap winner

Santa Ana Lane scored his third Group 1 win and successive Group 1 wins with a...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?