2016 Doomben 10,000 Form Guide & Preview

May 26, 2016

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

2016 Doomben 10,000 Form Guide & Preview

The 2016 Doomben 10,000 takes centre stage in Brisbane on Saturday, a full form guide preview and betting analysis for the weight-for-age classic found below.

Fell Swoop

Victory Stakes winner Fell Swoop is the early 2016 Doomben 10,000 betting market mover. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Due to jump at 4:00pm (AEST) as Doomben Race 7, this year’s $750,000 Group 1 James Boag’s Premium Doomben 10,000 (1350m) features a final field of 10 runners.

It’s an open Doomben 10,000 betting market at Ladbrokes.com.au with half the field under $10 for the win including the clear $2.80 favourite Azkadellia.

Ciaron Maher’s four-year-old mare was last seen winning Randwick’s Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes (1600m) in Sydney last month and is well-fancied to pick up where she left off.

Maher is unconvinced the Doomben track will suit his 2016 Stradbroke Handicap-bound mare, but the bookies are taking no chances on her after an impressive recent jump out at Eagle Farm.

The next best in the latest Doomben 10,000 odds include early market mover Fell Swoop ($5) with the rails run from barrier one, Chris Waller’s Darley Classic winner Delectation ($5.50) jumping one on his outside in gate two and last start BTC Cup runner-up Dothraki ($7) for Team Snowden.

That’s the markets, but what does the Doomben 10,000 form guide and betting history reveal about who to back and who to sack on Saturday?

2016 Doomben 10,000 Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s Doomben 10,000 winner was the Chris Waller-trained Boban (2015) who saluted at $16 from barrier 7 (of 16) with Glyn Schofield in the saddle on the back of a 14th in Sydney’s Chipping Norton Stakes
  • Chris Waller (6-1-0-0) returns shooting for back-to-back wins this season with #1 Delectation ($5.50) in barrier two
  • The last horseman to train back-to-back Doomben 10,000 winners was Greg Eurell with Apache Cat (2008-09)
  • The only other previous Doomben 10,000 winning trainer with a runner on Saturday is Peter Snowden (4-2-0-0) who trains #3 Dothraki ($7) and #5 Charlie Boy ($17) in partnership with his son Paul – the team having had a second placegetter in the race as well
  • The only previous Doomben 10,000 winning jockey with a ride on the weekend is Kerrin McEvoy (5-1-0-0) on #6 Music Magnate ($7); McEvoy’s success was on Epaulette (2013)
  • Last year’s winning barrier (7) has produced a total of five Doomben 10,000 winners (since 1983) and belongs on Saturday to #6 Music Magnate
  • The most successful Doomben 10,000 barrier in that time with six winners is gate one drawn this year by #2 Fell Swoop ($5)
  • The BTC Cup has produced seven of the past 11 Doomben 10,000 winners including Sea Siren (2012) who was the last to complete the double and Spirit Of Boom (2nd in 2014) who was the latest graduate to win the latter; the BTC Cup graduates in the mix this year are: Dothraki (2nd), Two Blue (4th), Fell Swoop (5th), Delectation (8th) and Charlie Boy (12th)
  • There are two last start winners in the field with #7 Azkadellia (Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes, 1600m, Randwick, 09/04/2016) and #10 Divine Centuri (3YO Hcp, 1050m, Doomben, 14/05/2016)
  • Two three-year-olds have won the race in the past four years with Sea Siren (2012) and Epaulette (2013); #10 Divine Centuri is the only youngster in this year’s edition
  • Three five-year-olds have won the Doomben 10,000 in the past 10 years including Boban (2015) last year; the 5YOs in the race on Saturday are: #3 Dothraki, #4 Hooked and #5 Charlie Boy
  • Three six-year-olds have also won in the past decade most recently Spirit Of Boom (2014), but there are no six-year-olds running this year
  • Along with the filly Sea Siren (2012) two mares have won the race in the past 10 years with Hot Danish (2010) and Beaded (2011); the mares in the mix this year are: #7 Azkadellia, #8 Two Blue and #9 Scarlet Billows
  • Five favourites or equal-favourites have saluted for the Doomben 10,000 punters in the past decade; this year #7 Azkadellia ($2.80) is out to be the next
  • The highest Win Rate of the field belongs to #10 Divine Centuri (67%) followed by #2 Fell Swoop (60%)
  • The best Place Rate also belongs to the lightly-raced filly #10 Divine Centuri (100%) followed by #7 Azkadellia (93%), #6 Music Magnate (91%) and #2 Fell Swoop (80%)
  • All the runners in the field have multiple wins over the distance (1350m – 1400m): #2 Fell Swoop (15-9-3-0), #8 Two Blue (40-8-13-4), #3 Dothraki (28-6-5-8), #7 Azkadellia (14-6-5-2), #9 Scarlet Billows (25-6-3-1), #1 Delectation (24-5-5-2), #4 Hooked (29-5-0-2), #6 Music Magnate (11-5-4-1), #5 Charlie Boy (25-4-3-2) and #10 Divine Centuri (6-4-1-1)
  • The horses with the best winning strike rate at the Doomben track are: #10 Divine Centuri (3-2-0-1), #2 Fell Swoop (2-1-0-0), #4 Hooked (2-1-0-0) and #5 Charlie Boy (4-1-1-0)

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for our exclusive Doomben 10,000 tips to be published shortly.

In the meantime check out the full form below and sign-up with Ladbrokes.com.au quoting the code BETBONUS to have your first deposit matched 100% up to $500!

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field