Small 10-Horse 2016 Doomben Cup Field Released

May 18, 2016

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

Small 10-Horse 2016 Doomben Cup Field Released

A small field of just 10 gallopers will face off in the Doomben Cup 2016 this Saturday in Brisbane.


2016 Doomben Cup favourite Hauraki has come up trumps with barrier one for Saturday in Brisbane. Photo: Steve Hart.

Heading the eight-race card at Doomben Racecourse, this year’s $650,000 Group 1 Hardy Brothers Doomben Cup (2000m) is set to run as Race 7 at 4:01pm (AEST).

The weight-for-age classic has attracted the same size field of 10 starters as 2014 with the John O’Shea-trained Hauraki the early favourite in Doomben Cup betting at

James McDonald retains the ride on the gun Reset four-year-old who shoots for his first win since last year’s Group 2 Tulloch Stakes (2000m).

Second in the ATC Derby after that as a three-year-old, Hauraki has since finished in the money in a number of other elite level interstate races including his third in the Chipping Norton to Winx and second in the Ranvet Stakes this autumn.

He comes off a close second in the Group 2 A.D. Hollindale Stakes (1800m) at the Gold Coast from May 7, a race that has produced five of the past seven Doomben Cup winners.

Hauraki ran well from barrier two a fortnight back, will appreciate the step up in distance on Saturday and is set to get another gun run from the inside alley with the last Doomben Cup winner from barrier one being Beaten Up (2013).

O’Shea and the Godolphin stable are also represented in this year’s Doomben Cup field by It’s Somewhat in gate nine with Queensland hoop Damian Browne booked for the ride.

Browne shoots for his first Doomben Cup win aboard the Dynaformer five-year-old who has winning form over the distance and is out to improve on a fifth with 3.2 lengths off the winner in the Hollindale Stakes last time out.

Upset Hollidale Stakes winner Leebaz also backs up in the Doomben Cup field this weekend for Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes.

The Zabeel gelding successfully defended his title in the traditional Doomben Cup lead-up as a $21 roughie, improving on a 13th to Lucia Valentina the run before in Sydney’s Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m).

Leebaz was runner-up to Streama in the 2014 Doomben Cup but ran a disappointing 14th in the Group 1 last winter on the back of his first Hollindale victory.

He jumps one on the outside of the favourite this weekend in barrier two with Michael Cahill aboard.

The other best out of the Hollindale Stakes is the Donna Logan & Chris Gibbs-trained third placegetter Volkstok’n’barrell from New Zealand.

The four-year-old son of Tavistock is a proven Group 1 winner in both Australia and New Zealand, his last Aussie turf triumph being in the 2015 Rosehill Guineas over the 2000m in Sydney.

He is another stayer that will relish getting back up to 2000m off the 1800m of the Hollindale and has Blake Shinn in the saddle on Saturday shooting for his third Doomben Cup winning ride in as many years after victories aboard Streama (2014) and Pornichet (2015).

Along with Leebaz the other last start winners in the Doomben Cup this season are the fellow Hawkes Racing-trained Messene who saluted in the Listed Wagga Cup (2000m) on May 6 and Maurus who won over 2200m at Doomben by 3.5 lengths on April 30.

See below for the full Doomben Cup 2016 field, barriers and jockeys with latest odds to be updated shortly at – home of the $500 first time depositors’ bonus with use of the code BETBONUS!

2016 Doomben Cup Final Field & Barrier Draw

Doomben Race 7 (4:01pm) – 21/05/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Weight Hcp. Rating
1 0590×61103 VOLKSTOK’N’BARRELL (NZ) Donna Logan & Chris Gibbs Blake Shinn 5 59kg 109
2 0728×33272 HAURAKI John O’Shea James McDonald 1 59kg 107
3 7x9230x550 OUR IVANHOWE (GER) Lee & Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 6 59kg 112
4 9936×56101 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Michael Cahill 2 59kg 109
5 7x23x61165 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Damian Browne 9 59kg 108
6 482×082201 MESSENE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Orman (a) 4 59kg 106
7 21x120x231 MAURUS (GB) David Vandyke Blake Spriggs 10 59kg 96
8 x6447204x7 SPIRITJIM (FR) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 108
9 113x00xL23 NOBLE PROTECTOR (GB) Robert Smerdon Tim Clark 8 57kg 104
10 1x33x57412 LADY LE FAY (NZ) Chris Waller Jason Collett 7 57kg 98

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Pierata heads up final field f...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fan...

Magic Millions 2yo Classic fancies hoping for middle of the field barriers

Connections of the two favourites for the 2018 $2m Magic Millions 2yo Classic...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 K...

Peters has 4 runners in 2017 Kingston Town Classic

Prominent Perth owner Bob Peters has four runners to try to give him his fifth...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field