Howard Be Thy Name Wins 2016 South Australian Derby

May 14, 2016

Howard Be Thy Name Wins 2016 South Australian Derby

The Melbourne Cup winning stables of Darren Weir will head to Queensland next month with gun three-year-old Howard Be Thy Name to chase an interstate Derby double after taking out this year’s SA Derby 2016 on the weekend.

Howard Be Thy Name

Howard Be Thy Name wins the 2016 SA Derby on way to a possible Queensland Derby bid in Brisbane this winter. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

A full field of three-year-olds faced off in the $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m) on Saturday including flying Redoute’s Choice colt Howard Be Thy Name from Victoria.

Continuing his gun run in Adelaide the recent Listed Port Adelaide Guineas (1800m) – Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes (2020m) double winner made it three consecutive wins at the Morphettville track in the Derby.

The horse had over two lengths to spare last time out and handled the step up to 2500m without a worry in the Group 1, hard-working Irish jockey John Allen rewarded with his first elite level win in Australia.

Regular rider for Weir and fellow Wangoom horseman Jarrod McLean, who represented the stable trackside on SA Derby Day, Allen took over for Brad Rawiller aboard Howard Be Thy Name after Rawiller went to Brisbane on BTC Cup Day.

The John O’Shea-trained stablemates Tarquin and Etymology were two of the best out of the SA Derby barriers this Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival and went up to lead early.

The Lee & Anthony Freedman-trained VRC St Leger winner Cool Chap, whose stablemate Malaguerra had only moments ago won the Group 1 BTC Cup (1200m) at Doomben, went back to last from his outside draw.

Tarquin led from the spring’s VRC Derby placegetter Etymology with Bullish Stock tucked away on the inside in third and the locally-trained Royal Rumble settled fourth then fifth.

It was a slowly-run edition of the staying showdown, and unhappy with the speed Tuff Bickie raced around the outside followed soon after by the WATC Derby winning filly Arcadia Dream for last year’s winning trainer Grant Williams.

She hit the front after whizzing up before Tarquin along with Manhattan Boss regained the lead, Howard Be Thy Name tracking just off the front pack in a patient run.

He started to wind up heading into the straight before join in along with Cool Chap who was the widest runner around the turn.

Inside the last 200m the eventual winner went hard and Howard Be Thy Name ($5) held them all at bay to defeat Etymology ($16) by a half-length with Cool Chap ($7), who loomed as a winning chance at the 200m but lost a bit of ground trying to duck back in, crossing 2.3 lengths away for third.

The in-form three-year-old won the South Australian Derby improving once again in a superior staying performance that McLean confirmed Weir was keen to back-up from at Eagle Farm Racecourse on June 11 in the $600,000 Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m).

“Since he’s come back he’s just been a different horse,” McLean said of Howard Be Thy Name.

“He’s a real dude and a pleasure to train.

“There will be no paddock. He’ll be straight on a plane up to Brisbane to have a rack at the Derby up there.

“There’s still a bit left [in the tank].”

For all of the best autumn and winter racing odds and offers make sure you’ve got an account open at – home of Odds Boost!

2016 SA Derby Results & Finishing Order

Morphettville Race 7 – 14/05/2016

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 1 HOWARD BE THY NAME Darren Weir John Allen 6 56.5kg $5
2 4 ETYMOLOGY John O’Shea Ben Melham 0.5L 12 56.5kg $16
3 5 COOL CHAP Lee & Anthony Freedman Daniel Moor 2.3L 16 56.5kg $7
4 11 ASCOT RED John Sargent Damian Lane 4.2L 4 56.5kg $61
5 6 CHARLEVOIX Michael Kent Mark Zahra 4.7L 11 56.5kg $4F
6 7 MAIL IT IN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 4.8L 2 56.5kg $51
7 9 MANHATTAN BOSS Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison Ms Linda Meech 5.8L 13 56.5kg $41
8 8 RONG DOOR REGGIE Matt Laurie Chris Symons 6.7L 15 56.5kg $61
9 16 FIRST IMPRESSIONS (NZ) Grant Williams Glenn Smith 8.1L 9 54.5kg $31
10 2 ROYAL RUMBLE Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 8.8L 3 56.5kg $31
11 3 TARQUIN John O’Shea Craig Williams 8.9L 7 56.5kg $4.60
12 15 SACRED EYE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Stephen Baster 9L 5 54.5kg $11
13 17e DROPPED Jon O’Connor Ms Jamie Kah 9L 10 56.5kg $201
14 10 BULLISH STOCK (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Matthew Neilson 10.3L 1 56.5kg $31
15 12 TUFF BICKIE Ken Keys Joe Bowditch 11.1L 8 56.5kg $101
16 14 ARCADIA DREAM Grant Williams Harry Coffey (a) 14.8L 14 54.5kg $9.50
13 PRINCE OF PAGODA (NZ) Tony McEvoy Dom Tourneur 0

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

An inside barrier to help Cham...

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Calanda to carry top weight in 2018 W.J. Healy Stakes

The Team Snowden trained Calanda will carry the top weight in Saturday’s Group...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?