Howard Be Thy Name Tops 2016 SA Derby Field

Darren Weir’s flying colt Howard Be Thy Name is the headline final acceptor for the 2016 South Australian Derby field at Morphettville Racecourse this weekend in Adelaide.

Howard Be Thy Name

Chairman’s Stakes winner Howard Be Thy Name heads the 2016 SA Derby field at Morphettville Racecourse this Saturday in Adelaide. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Continuing the elite level action of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, this Saturday a full field of three-year-old stayers face off in the $500,000 Group 1 South Australian Derby (2500m).

Sitting top of the line-up in a gun barrier six draw, Weir’s son of Redoute’s Choice shoots for his fourth win on the trot.

Howard Be Thy Name has also won two on the trot at the Morphettville track he returns to this weekend for his first look at further than 2020m, the distance he scored a big 2.3 length win over in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes on April 30.

He did it that day in barrier six with Brad Rawiller aboard, but while he has the same barrier on Saturday, jockey John Allen comes onto the saddle.

Weir shoots for his first SA Derby win, while Howard Be Thy Name is out to complete the Chairman’s Stakes – Derby double for the first time since Rebel Raider (2009).

The next best out of the Chairman’s Stakes backing up in the rematch on the weekend are runner-up Royal Rumble and the third placed Manhattan Boss.

Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas saddle-up New Approach gelding Royal Rumble who has his seventh start at the track on Saturday where his record currently stands at one win, three seconds and two thirds.

Clare Lindop retains the ride in the SA Derby, a race she won aboard the aforementioned Rebel Raider for co-trainer MacDonald seven years ago.

MacDonald also trained the 1986 SA Derby winner French Cotton and along with Royal Rumble is represented in this year’s field by Chairman’s Stakes fifth placegetter Mail It In.

Royal Rumble and Mail It In are drawn alongside each other with barriers three and two respectively and are sure to feature high up the SA Derby betting markets at

Manhattan Boss meanwhile has drawn wide out in barrier 14, which will become gate 13 if the first and only emergency Dropped (10) fails to gain a start.

Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison train the son of Sebring who ran the nice third in the Chairman’s as a $41 shot at his first look at the track.

Last year’s South Australian Derby winner was the Grant Williams-trained Perth filly Delicacy (2015) who came off a win in the Australasian Oaks.

This year there are three fillies taking on the boys, including two for last year’s winning trainer.

Williams saddles-up Arcadia Dream (15) and First Impressions (9) who won the WATC Derby and WA Oaks back home in April respectively.

Both also ran in this year’s Group 1 Schweppes Oaks (2000m) and so are on the quick seven day turnaround into the SA Derby.

Arcadia Dream ran 2.4 lengths away fifth to Abbey Marie in the Schweppes Oaks last Saturday from the outside barrier (16 of 16), and has another wide alley to overcome this weekend.

First Impressions was further back in the Oaks finish crossing eighth, still beaten under three and a half lengths, and has the same gate nine draw this weekend.

The other filly is the David Hayes & Tom Dabernig-trained Sacred Eye who backed up from an ATC Oaks eighth to run fourth in the Schweppes Oaks beaten under two lengths.

Hayes & Dabernig also have the rails-drawn Bullish Stock in the Derby field coming off a third in the Listed VRC St Leger (2800m) at Flemington on April 25.

VRC St Leger runner-up Etymology is also accepted for the SA Derby this season representing John O’Shea and the Godolphin stable, as is the winner of that Melbourne lead-up Cool Chap with the widest barrier on Saturday.

Barrier 16 has produced three of the past 11 SA Derby winners however, most recently Kidnapped (2010), while barrier one produced back-to-back winners with Zabeelionaire (2012) and Escado (2013).

See below for the full SA Derby 2016 field, barriers and jockeys.

Fancy access to the weekend’s best racing odds and offers? Head to now where first time depositing players are rewarded with up to $500 in bonuses with use of the code BETBONUS!

2016 South Australian Derby Final Field & Barrier Draw

Morphettville Race 7 – 14/05/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 3332212111 HOWARD BE THY NAME Darren Weir John Allen 6 56.5kg 94
2 5×23211342 ROYAL RUMBLE Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 3 56.5kg 91
3 53x2x00131 TARQUIN John O’Shea Craig Williams 7 56.5kg 90
4 3632×90652 ETYMOLOGY John O’Shea Ben Melham 12 56.5kg 88
5 5×132121 COOL CHAP Lee & Anthony Freedman TBA 17 56.5kg 76
6 1641 CHARLEVOIX Michael Kent Mark Zahra 11 56.5kg 72
7 2×55312156 MAIL IT IN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Jason Holder 2 56.5kg 70
8 L441x11456 RONG DOOR REGGIE Matt Laurie Chris Symons 16 56.5kg 69
9 6x17x1863 MANHATTAN BOSS Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison Ms Linda Meech 14 56.5kg 68
10 1801463043 BULLISH STOCK (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Matthew Neilson 1 56.5kg 67
11 522×741231 ASCOT RED John Sargent Damian Lane 4 56.5kg 64
12 81×64454 TUFF BICKIE Ken Keys Joe Bowditch 8 56.5kg 61
13 30200×8251 PRINCE OF PAGODA (NZ) Tony McEvoy Dom Tourneur 13 56.5kg 61
14 201×421215 ARCADIA DREAM Grant Williams Harry Coffey (a) 15 54.5kg 87
15 2217×55484 SACRED EYE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Stephen Baster 5 54.5kg 85
16 217×137178 FIRST IMPRESSIONS (NZ) Grant Williams Glenn Smith 9 54.5kg 82
17e 166×704579 DROPPED Jon O’Connor TBA 10 56.5kg 58


Have your say, post a comment.