2016 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide & Race Preview

March 31, 2016

2016 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide & Race Preview

A star-studded field of 15 sprinters face off in Saturday’s TJ Smith Stakes 2016, a comprehensive form guide preview and betting analysis of the Randwick major detailed below.


Chautauqua is back defending his title in the 2016 TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick Racecourse on Saturday in Sydney. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Set to run as Randwick Race 8 at 4:30pm (AEDT) on Day 1 of ‘The Championships’, the $2.5 million Group 1 Darley TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) betting markets at Ladbrokes.com.au feature three single figure hopes.

Current top fancy at $2.70 and firming for the win is the John O’Shea-trained Exosphere who is second-up and chasing his third win from as many starts two runs into a campaign.

Winner of the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400m) last September, his lead-up run was a brave fourth in the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning (1000m) at Flemington on February 20.

Black Caviar Lightning winner Chautauqua backed up with a close fourth in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and is the next best in the TJ Smith Stakes odds this year at a current quote of $3.40 to successfully defend his title in the Doncaster Mile Day showdown.

The last hope under $10 for the win is the Gai Waterhouse-trained filly English ($9) drawn wide out in gate 14, her trainer chasing her fourth win in the Group 1.

That’s what is going on in the TJ Smith Stakes betting markets, but does the form guide and betting history reveal value further down the odds?

2016 TJ Smith Stakes Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s TJ Smith Stakes winner was the Team Hawkes-trained Chautauqua (2015) who came off a Newmarket Handicap second and jumped from barrier 8 (of 10) with Tommy Berry in the saddle
  • #1 Chautauqua ($3.40) is back on Saturday to defend his title and become the first multiple winner since Black Caviar won on non-successive years in 2011 and 2013
  • Co-trainer John Hawkes (14-1-2-1) chases his third win overall having also won the TJ Smith Stakes as a solo trainer with Ab Initio (1999) saddling up #1 Chautauqua along with #5 Our Boy Malachi ($21)
  • The other previous TJ Smith Stakes winning trainers with a runner this year are: Joe Pride (13-1-1-1) with #4 Terravista ($13) and Gai Waterhouse (10-3-1-2) with #15 English ($9)
  • Last year’s winning jockey Tommy Berry (3-1-0-1) shoots for back-to-back wins on the defending champion #1 Chautauqua
  • The other previous TJ Smith Stakes winning jockeys with a ride on the weekend are: Hugh Bowman (11-1-1-3) on #3 Delectation ($19) and Blake Shinn (3-1-1-0) on #15 English
  • Last year’s winning barrier (8) has produced just the one winner since 1983 and belongs this year to #2 Flamberge ($19)
  • The most successful TJ Smith Stakes barrier in that time with five wins is gate five drawn this year by #7 Dothraki ($26)
  • Last start winners have won three of the past five editions and the only last start winner in the mix this season is #2 Flamberge (Group 1 William Reid Stakes, 1200m, Moonee Valley, 24/03/2016)
  • No TJ Smith Stakes winner has finished worse than fourth in the lead-up since Red Oog (2006); this year runners coming off a top four finish are #1 Chautauqua, #2 Flamberge, #7 Dothraki, #9 Shiraz, #10 Fast ‘N’ Rocking, #13 Fell Swoop and #14 Exosphere
  • Flemington’s Newmarket Handicap in Melbourne has produced the past two TJ Smith Stakes winners including Lankan Rupee (2014) who completed the double
  • The Newmarket Handicap graduates backing up on Saturday are: Chautauqua (3rd) and Delectation (9th)
  • Favourites have a strong record in the race winning four times in the past 10 years most recently with Lankan Rupee (2014)
  • This year’s favourite is #14 Exosphere ($2.70)
  • Fillies and mares have won three times in the past six years and the only girl taking on the boys in the TJ Smith Stakes this year is three-year-old #15 English  
  • Four-year-olds have won three times in the past six years including the past two on the trot and the 4YOs in the field on Saturday are: #3 Delectation and #13 Fell Swoop ($21)
  • The highest Win Rate of the field belongs to #4 Our Boy Malachi (78%) followed by #13 Fell Swoop (67%) and #14 Exosphere (56%)
  • The best Place Rate of the runners belongs to #1 Chautauqua (90%) followed by #5 Our Boy Malachi (87%) and #13 Fell Swoop (83%)
  • Every runner in the field has winning form over 1200m but the previous winners at the track and distance are: #4 Terravista (5-4-0-1), #12 Boss Lane (10-3-1-1), #3 Delectation (4-2-0-1), #5 Our Boy Malachi (2-2-0-0), #1 Chautauqua (2-1-0-0), #8 Famous Seamus (6-1-0-1), #14 Exosphere (1-1-0-0) and #15 English (1-1-0-0)

Stay tuned for our exclusive TJ Smith Stakes 2016 betting tips to be published shortly.

Now is the ideal time to discover the benefits of betting online at Ladbrokes.com.au where first time depositing players will have their investment matched dollar for dollar up to $500 in bonuses with use of the code BETBONUS for a short time only.

2016 TJ Smith Stakes Form Guide

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The E...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The Everest After Brisbane Winter

It is shaping-up as a huge year for Benjamin Smith’s class mare In Her Time...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 for Trapeze Artist

The world’s richest race on turf, the 2018 The Everest, will be firmly on the...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field