2016 TJ Smith Stakes Field & Barrier Draw: Chautauqua in 11

March 29, 2016

2016 TJ Smith Stakes Field & Barrier Draw: Chautauqua in 11

Defending TJ Smith Stakes winner Chautauqua has come up with a wide barrier 11 of 15 draw for the 2016 edition of the Royal Randwick sprint feature running on Day 1 of ‘The Championships’ this Saturday.


Chautauqua shoots for his second TJ Smith Stakes success at Randwick Racecourse this Saturday in Sydney. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos;

A below capacity field of 15 sprinters face off in this year’s $2.5 million Group 1 Darley TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) including the Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes-trained Chautauqua who won the event 12 months ago.

Last Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival Chautauqua saluted from barrier eight of 10 with Tommy Berry aboard and returns on the weekend drawn one wider in 11, which produced back-to-back TJ Smith Stakes winners in Phoenix Park (2002) and Spinning Hill (2003).

Berry retains the ride on the Encosta De Lago five-year-old who won Flemington’s Group 1 Lightning Stakes (1000m) first-up this season before his third in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) on March 12.

He hasn’t raced in Sydney since a Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) third to Dissident last April, which followed his short half-head win over Lord Of The Sky in the TJ Smith Stakes.

Team Hawkes have also accepted for Our Boy Malachi (barrier six) who won the Group 2 Expressway Stakes (1200m) in January first-up before a last start fifth to Holler in the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m) on March 5.

Chautauqua is favourite in TJ Smith Stakes betting at Ladbrokes.com.au again this year followed in the markets by the John O’Shea-trained Exosphere.

Winner of the Golden Rose in September of 2015, Lonhro colt Exosphere is looking to be the first three-year-old TJ Smith Stakes winner since Gerald Ryan’s filly Melito won in 2010.

He has saluted in five of his nine career starts to date including three from five over Saturday’s 1200m distance, and is second-up after a fourth in the Lighting Stakes in February.

Exosphere proved his fitness in a subsequent two and a quarter-length Randwick trial win over 1040m in the wet on March 18 and jumps from barrier four with James McDonald aboard on Saturday.

The only other three-year-old in the mix is Gai Waterhouse’s widely-drawn filly English out in gate 14 with Blake Shinn in the saddle.

Waterhouse has three TJ Smith Stakes wins to her name, but hasn’t prepared a winner since Bentley Biscuit (2007).

English has work to do from the alley and is looking to return to form after a sixth to Griante in the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) at Rosehill second-up on March 19.

Sydney’s leading trainer Chris Waller shoots for his first TJ Smith Stakes win this year saddling-up his Darley Classic winner Delectation in barrier two, Hugh Bowman to ride the four-year-old who finished last in the Newmarket second-up.

Coming off far better Melbourne form and a livewire hope for the Sydney classic is the now Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra-trained Flamberge, a six-year-old son of Exceed And Excel shooting for three straight elite level wins.

First-up at Caulfield he took out the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m) in an upset before handing Peter Moody a final Group 1 win with success in last Thursday night’s Group 1 William Reid Stakes (1200m) ahead of his stable change.

See below for the full TJ Smith Stakes 2016 field, barriers and jockeys then head to our No. 1 recommended bookmaker Ladbrokes.com.au for access to all the autumn’s best racing odds and offers!

2016 TJ Smith Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Randwick Racecourse – 02/04/2016

# Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 11 58.5kg
2 FLAMBERGE Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 8 58.5kg
3 DELECTATION Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 2 58.5kg
4 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Brenton Avdulla 7 58.5kg
5 OUR BOY MALACHI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 6 58.5kg
6 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Damien Oliver 15 58.5kg
7 DOTHRAKI Peter & Paul Snowden TBA 5 58.5kg
8 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Glyn Schofield 3 58.5kg
9 SHIRAZ Tony McEvoy Brett Prebble 9 58.5kg
10 FAST ‘N’ ROCKING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Nicholas Hall 13 58.5kg
11 KNOYDART John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 12 58.5kg
12 BOSS LANE Ron Quinton Tim Clark 1 58.5kg
13 FELL SWOOP Matthew Dale Zac Purton 10 58.5kg
14 EXOSPHERE John O’Shea James McDonald 4 56.5kg
15 ENGLISH Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 14 54.5kg

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field