2016 Apollo Stakes Field Features Cox Plate Winner Winx

February 10, 2016

2016 Apollo Stakes Field Features Cox Plate Winner Winx

Chris Waller welcomes back to racing this Saturday his Cox Plate winning mare Winx who leads the Apollo Stakes 2016 field at Royal Randwick Racecourse.


Cox Plate winner Winx has come up trumps with barrier one for her first-up run in Saturday’s 2016 Apollo Stakes at Randwick Racecourse. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Set to run as Randwick Race 7 at 4:25pm (AEDT), this season’s $250,000 Group 2 Optus Business Apollo Stakes (1400m) features a final field of 11 weight-for-age hopefuls.

Sure to be favourite in the Apollo Stakes odds at Ladbrokes.com.au racing for the first time since her runaway win in the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) in Melbourne last October is Winx.

The four-year-old daughter of Street Cry was undefeated last time in winning all of her spring starts including the Epsom Handicap – Cox Plate interstate double.

Hugh Bowman retains the ride on the mare who boasts an outstanding Randwick track record (6-2-3-0) and who is drawn ideally on the rails with barrier one, the same gate she saluted from in the Cox Plate.

Waller has a total of three Apollo Stakes runners on Saturday with Winx joined by stablemates Grand Marshal and Who Shot Thebarman who ran one-two in last autumn’s Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m).

Jason Collett rides returning import Grand Marshal whose last start was a good third to Almoonqith in the Listed Sandown Cup (3200m) in mid-November.

He will benefit from the run and improve when stepped up in distance after the Apollo.

It is the same for former Kiwi stayer Who Shot Thebarman whose minimum distance win is over a mile.

The Yamanin Vital seven-year-old’s last start was a Group 2 Sandown Classic (2400m) win on November 14 last year and he jumps from gate seven with Christian Reith aboard this weekend.

Another Group 1 winner first-up in the Apollo Stakes is the John O’Shea-trained Magic Hurricane whose last start produced an elite level Randwick win.

Last October the Hurricane Run gelding took out the Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m), his second win from four starts at the track he is first-up over this weekend.

O’Shea and the Godolphin stable have also accepted for Hauraki in gate two with Sam Clipperton booked to ride the returning Reset four-year-old.

Runner-up in last April’s Group 1 ATC Derby (2400m), Hauraki’s last start was an eighth to Mongolian Khan in the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) on October 17.

He has a 50% strike rate over Saturday’s distance and is a genuine chance first-up over the 1400m.

Boasting the fitness edge meanwhile is the Gerald Ryan-trained Solicit in gate four with Kerrin McEvoy replacing Tye Angland in the saddle of the Street Cry mare.

Five-year-old Solicit won the Group 3 Summoned Stakes (1500m) at Sandown-Hillside to cap off her spring campaign before returning to run a distance second to runaway winner Our Boy Malachi first-up at Rosehill on January 30 in the Group 2 Expressway Stakes (1200m).

She is set to appreciate the step up to 1400m and has a strong second-up record of two wins and two seconds from six attempts previously.

Other notable Apollo Stakes runners this season include the Gai Waterhouse-trained O’Reilly mare Bohemian Lily coming off a trial win at the track over 1250m from late last month and John Sargent’s Caulfield Cup fourth placegetter Gust Of Wind who is best known for her 2015 ATC Oaks victory.

See below for the full Apollo Stakes 2016 field, barriers and jockeys before heading to Ladbrokes.com.au to open a new account quoting the code BETBONUS to have your first deposit matched 100% up to $500!

2016 Apollo Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw

Randwick Race 7 (4:25pm) – 13/02/2016

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 42x758701x WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller Christian Reith 7 59kg 110
2 55x143121x MAGIC HURRICANE (IRE) John O’Shea James McDonald 5 59kg 107
3 31x075003x GRAND MARSHAL (GB) Chris Waller Jason Collett 6 59kg 106
4 52x0x3399x DIBAYANI (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Tye Angland 11 59kg 105
5 0212x0728x HAURAKI John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 2 59kg 104
6 210x09936x LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 8 59kg 104
7 1x711x6013 CENTRE PIVOT Peter Robl TBA 3 59kg 102
8 15211x111x WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 1 57kg 116
9 141x98046x GUST OF WIND (NZ) John Sargent Brenton Avdulla 10 57kg 105
10 x120x281x2 SOLICIT Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 4 57kg 104
11 21x692330x BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Tim Clark 9 57kg 98

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The E...

In Her Time Targets 2018 The Everest After Brisbane Winter

It is shaping-up as a huge year for Benjamin Smith’s class mare In Her Time...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 f...

All Aged to The Everest 2018 for Trapeze Artist

The world’s richest race on turf, the 2018 The Everest, will be firmly on the...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Fin...

2018 TJ Smith Stakes Grand Final for The Everest Bound Redzel

Inaugural The Everest champion Redzel has been specifically set for an autumn...

Horse Racing Today

Victorian filly So Far Sokool ...

Gai’s 2 head the list of...

Gai’s 2 head the list of nominations for the 2018 Japan Racing Association Plate

The Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott trained Ecuador and Arbeitsam head up the...

Single Gaze looking to the fut...

Single Gaze looking to the future as a brood mare, out of 2018 Sydney Cup

Group 1 winning mare Single Gaze will begin preparations for the upcoming...

Savvy Coup looking for another...

Savvy Coup looking for another Kiwi win in 2018 Australian Oaks

Savvy Coup will be trying to keep the Kiwi fillies strong winning record...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in...

Oliver back aboard Almandin in 2018 Sydney Cup

Damien Oliver has found himself back on Melbourne Cup winner Almandin who is...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field